We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place, close to everything!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Colony Hotel and Cabana Club
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Delray Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice place, close to everything!”
Reviewed 24 January 2014

The hotel is good for the price!,
It is close to everything!, and the staff is helpful.
I wish they were mor ehelpful when me and my bf did our check in, they did not take our mexican debit cards! and was a bit of a hazzle even when we had previously reserved online!
As well the AC of our room was not working very well, we could not sleep at night because of the hot weather.

The nice touch is that in their lobby they had latin live acustic music!!, we were so tired on our way back from having some drinks at night but that kept us awake for 30 mins.. we could have stayed longer if we were not so tired.

Room Tip: Tak ein consideration the rooms are old school.. the bathroom is very spacious!! almost the same siz...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DudettePV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

572 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    336
    176
    32
    17
    11
See reviews for
119
268
37
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014

We have been staying here for several years and love the old Florida feel and charm of this historic hotel. The decor is tropical. There was a cold snap during our stay and there was a fire in the fireplace in the enormous lobby, with many comfy couches and chairs in conversational groups to curl up in. The location is great and we love to sit on the front porch with breakfast or a drink.
The beach club and pool are fantastic in every way. A beautiful large new pool, private beach area, and a nice cafe to have lunch by the beach. Staff and facilities are wonderful.

Some negatives to be aware of: the rooms are not new or luxurious, and they are quite small. They are clean and comfortable, but in a "historic", the smallest type, theres just enough room to get around the bed and furniture. The breakfast is adequate, but served in a dark and drab part of the lobby and not very attractive in the presentation. In Florida one would hope for a nice selection of fresh fruit, rather than just a jar of melon chunks. The coffee is quite good though.
Considering the prices, I think the breakfast presentation could be improved. The staff is efficient, but doesn't really go out of their way to be helpful or friendly.

Room Tip: The "historic" rooms are very small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank abdtNewYork_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

I stayed here and found it acceptable.

Check in guy was pleasant, though I only spent two minutes with him.

My room was right on the end of the 2nd floor. Everything was fine, and the bathroom was really nice.
My only issue was the TV. It was stuck on the wall, but not visible from the bed. And only visible from one, uncomfortable, chair. Surely at $160 a night, or whatever it was, they could buy a corner bracket? Or, if the window was an issue, a ceiling bracket.
I was travelling alone, so it wasn't an issue, but if you're travelling as a couple, are you expected to do rotations? An oversight, in my opinion.

Other than that, no major complaints.
The location can't be beaten though, right on Atlantic with everything in walking distance. I didn't hear any noise from the street, though I got home after all the bars closed and was comatosed until 10am when my alarm went off.

Didn't go to the pool/beach club thing, so can't comment on that.

One good point I remember, there were no riff-raff at the hotel. Well, until I arrived!

Would probably stay again, but would request a different room type.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MaxPower999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014 via mobile

We have stayed here 3 days and enjoyed the hotel for all the reasons that some malcontents have been critical. If you want glitz and glitter and the predictable decor of a chain hotel system then this isn't your place. If, however, you appreciate historic properties and all the idiosyncrasies that come with them then you will enjoy it. The staff have been very accommodating and made helpful recommendations. Their Cabana club is a relaxing oasis!

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Todd F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
delray beach, fl
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

I live in Delray and I must say that the Colony is a landmark and perfectly located in downtown, close to everything. My husband and I got married in Palm Beach and several of our extended stay guests chose to stay at the Colony and loved it! We always recommend it and have stayed there ourselves for a quick romantic night or two.
The hotel is not on the beach, but has a beach club and service to get you there. If you want luxury, the Colony is not your cup of tea, trust me. It is, however, comfy and authentic and clean and perfectly situated on Atlantic Avenue.

Green Features: The Colony is a green hotel that maintains its old time feel
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DillyB_77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

I love this hotel and have stayed several times but the draw is Fox Yoga classes. I have traveled the world on business and always look for Hotels that offer yoga links...Keith Fox and family put on without a doubt the most satisfying and pleasurable yoga experience around. On Saturdays and Sundays they draw a huge group of yogis in the old ballroom and present live music along with extremely detailed and well articulated instructions. They are a perfect match for the hotel and they consistently transform that ballroom from an empty space to a place of good vibrations and interactions. The crowd that shows up at these classes is totally congenial and the community that is created during those sessions is priceless. I am very grateful to the hotel management for exercising the foresight to bring in such a gathering every weekend.

Room Tip: Choose a quieter room at the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stevecrifase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

One has to be very open minded to stay at this place. If this is what 'old Florida " was like give me a hammock and palm tree some where else. The place is depressing and the staff fit the mood . All of this and a view of the main street with more pick up trucks then people . Go up the street to the Sea Gate for a wonderful experience and then
drive by the Colony which by now has probably been converted to a funeral home or should be

Room Tip: Check out the historical museum and see if you can book a room there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jhm930
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Delray Beach hotels
0.4 mi away
Crane’s Beach House Boutique Hotel & Luxury Villas
0.4 mi away
The Seagate Hotel & Spa
The Seagate Hotel & Spa
#6 of 15 in Delray Beach
703 reviews
0.5 mi away
Delray Beach Marriott
Delray Beach Marriott
#5 of 15 in Delray Beach
1,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Delray Beach
Hyatt Place Delray Beach
#2 of 15 in Delray Beach
782 reviews
1.7 mi away
Wright by the Sea
Wright by the Sea
#1 of 15 in Delray Beach
398 reviews
0.4 mi away
Residence Inn Delray Beach
Residence Inn Delray Beach
#10 of 15 in Delray Beach
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colony Hotel and Cabana Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colony Hotel and Cabana Club

Property: Colony Hotel and Cabana Club
Address: 525 East Atlantic Ave., Delray Beach, FL 33483-5323
Region: United States > Florida > Delray Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Delray Beach
#3 Family Hotel in Delray Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Delray Beach
#3 Romantic Hotel in Delray Beach
#4 Business Hotel in Delray Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Colony Hotel and Cabana Club 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
historic Florida charm in a select service downtown hotel with a private oceanfront beach club ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Colony Hotel and Cabana Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Colony Hotel And Cabana
Colony Hotel And Cabana Club Delray Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing