We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real gem!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Colony Hotel and Cabana Club
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Delray Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 14 October 2008

What a wonderful gem in the heart of Delray....rooms very clean, hotel quiet despite being full, staff exceptionally attentive. Brings you back in time with period decor, radio broadcasts and quiant porch relaxing for drinks, tea or breakfast. Great restaurants and shops well within in walking distance. Close to beach but Hotel provides free shuttel to and from its private club. Beautiful salt water pool and beach with clean and spacious bathrooms, beautiful teak furniture, friendly staff, great lunch served. Sunset cocktails, byob recommended! Would recommend hotel to all ages! Can not wait to come and stay again.....

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank gburggirl22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (588)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

525 - 531 of 588 reviews

Reviewed 14 October 2008

Five of my friends from college met me at the Colony for a 3-day weekend. It exceeded my expectations. The decor is beautiful and the beds and pillows are super comfy. We spent every day at the private beach club where we had a fabulous lunch served with an ocen view. The club offers everthing you need: towels, chairs, umbrellas, ice and filtered water. It's BYOB so we brought a cooler of wine and rum punch. At night we walked to dinner- there are so many restaurants to choose from. The lobby bar had live music on the weekend. The complimentary breakfast was perfect- carrot muffins, scrambled eggs and bacon, oatmeal, fresh squeezed oj and cut fruit and good coffee. If you prefer, Starbucks is across the street. We also did some damage shopping in the unique local boutiques (no GAP or Banana Republic here!)- all walking distance.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MedRepAli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2008

Loved this hotel. Very much faded glamour downstairs. But stayed in a newly renovated room which was lovely. Breakfast the best we had on our US holiday - cooked food and proper china. The best part was the private beach club a couple of miles up the road which is included in the price. Staff were helpful and numerous.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank LondonKatyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2008

We just returned from a two day stay and it was wonderful. Our room was very comfortable with great air conditioning and perfect little touches such as a wicker arm chair, and a painted TV stand. The only improvement I could suggest would be to place a towel ring next to the sink, as it was in the room itself, just outside the bathroom. This made it a bit inconvenient to wash your hand, etc, without having a towel hanging next to it. Otherwise, it was a lovely room and I wouldn’t change a thing.

The hotel itself has great charm and beautiful public spaces in which to just hang out, reading or talking. The fans do a good job keeping the temperature down as the public areas are not air conditioned. The front patio is the absolute best for breakfast in the morning, drinks in the evening, and people watching.

Speaking of breakfast, the complimentary selection includes 3 different juices, several cold cereals, hot oat meal, scrambled eggs with delicious sausages, yogurt and fruits, and a good selection of breads and muffins. The coffee was terrific as well.

The two best things about the hotel are its location, right in the middle of everything you could possibly want: restaurants, cafes, bars, and shopping, and the beach club. There is a shuttle from the hotel that could take you but if you have a car it’s a short drive and there is plenty of parking. We took our car both days.

The club is fantastic. If I lived here, I’d want to be a member. Beautiful pool with comfy lounges and there were plenty of them. I’m sure in high season they fill up quickly, but there was hardly anyone there at all at this time of the year. We pretty much had the place to ourselves which was just fine. The restaurant is great, with a pretty extensive menu of sandwiches, wraps, salads, and hot foods. My tuna sandwich was made with actual fresh tuna fish, not scraps from a can. Delicious! My husband’s Caesar salad was terrific also. There is a sand path down to the beach which also has plenty of lounges and sunshades. There are also showers and places to change so you don’t need to wear your wet bathing suit back to the hotel.

The service at both the hotel and beach club were excellent. The front desk help is knowledgeable, helpful and very accommodating. We were there early and they let us check in at 11:00, which gave us a lot more extra time then if we had to check in at 4:00.

In town I’d recommend the Lemon Grass Grill, just one block diagonally across from the hotel. With the exception of the garlic beef, which was terrible, everything was uniformly outstanding: chicken satay, spring rolls, dumplings, and the curries were excellent. The beef was steamed instead of stir fried, and an unappetizing gray color in a lot of liquid. Otherwise, it was so good we went back the second night.

I can't wait to go back, both to the hotel and this restaurant.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travelerNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2008

What a great hotel this turned out to be! We were traveling with another couple on Harleys and used the Colony as a one night stop on our way to Key West. The hotel parking lot in back providing enough cover from the streets to make us feel fine with parking the bikes back there. The whole first floor is completely open air and with the ceiling fans going to give it an old world feel. As soon as you get to the second or third story, all is well. We split one of their double queen rooms and shared a bathroom with the other couple which worked out great with the reduced price. Call the property directly to reserve the room, they bumped us up in the rooms we received which didn't even show as available on the travel sites.

Since we checked in at 4:30, the last shuttle runs to the Cabana club at around the same time so we had to drive the bikes back down there (the club doesn't close till 10:30pm. We spent the rest of the afternoon on the beach just relaxing. Note: The Cabana Club does not serve alcohol, you have to go to the store and bring it in yourself, so the wives were a little peeved b/c they wanted the "Cabana Boy" bringing them drinks w/umbrellas.

When we were done at the beach, we used the open air outdoor showers there at the club to get ready for the night out on Delray Beach. This worked great b/c we weren't all waiting to use the same bathroom back at the hotel. Instead, everyone was ready at the same time, went back to the hotel, changed into our clothes to go out to dinner and off we went. The outdoor shower at the club is a perfect end to the day. There were full soap, shampoo, & lotion dispensers which made this all possible.

We all walked several blocks north to eat sushi, japanese & thai from two different restaurants and then walked back the other direction to the Blue Anchor (english pub) for some snake-bites and shots and then down to Bostons for more drinks. We ended the night with a romantic stroll on the beach.

The next morning was raining so we enjoyed the wonderful breakfast in the lobby, checked out by 11 to start heading south down A1A. The help was friendly and even gave us a towel to wipe down and dry our bikes from the morning shower.

It's easy to stay in a new brand name hotel, but to spend a night in a facility this clean with such old world charm is like finding a rare and wonderful treasure!!!

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SouthArk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2008

We've stayed here 3 times over the years and this time was for 4 nights. Each time our experience has been different. This time, room was average, room a/c very loud. Breakfast buffet was the exact same thing every single morning!!!! Staff was not very outgoing in fact when you said "Good Morning" to the housekeepers and/or front desk they were taken aback! Pool-beach facility was excellent and it really is lovely but they should work on the relationship between the members who belong at the club and the hotel guests. We saw 2-3 different heated exchanges between members of the club and a hotel guest. It seemed to be because a hotel guest had mistakenly used a lounge chair by the pool. The members of the beach club have a significant attitude problem.
Colony advice---
1. Change your breakfast buffet selections at least every 2 days.
2. Instruct your staff to address guests w/a "good morning or afternoon.
3. Work on the relationship between members of Beach Club and hotel guest or at least put up signs at the front desk, etc.,

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank fisher144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2008

I stayed here for three nights while on business in Delray Beach, FL, and loved it!

This is a funky old hotel with a lot of character, in the best location! It is right in the heart of downtown Delray Beach. Though I didn’t have a rental car, there is a parking lot behind the hotel if you need a car. Taxi service in the area is pretty unreliable, so a car is recommended, but I was lucky in that I had a business associate pick me up each morning to take us to the office.

The rooms are well-kept, air conditioned, clean and comfortable. All of the flooring is hardwood, which lends to the funky chic of this place, and gives it character. The painted walls really remind me of the Bahamas, as the color choices are vibrant down each hallway, and in the rooms.

I was lucky to stay there during record-breaking temperatures – it hit 96 one day, which is really unusual for May. No worries though because The Colony has a beach club a couple of miles away so you can either cool off by the private pool there or on the beach. The beach area comes equipped with chaise lounges and cabanas, and even dogs are allowed! How cool is that?! There were only 5-6 other people there when we visited the beach club as I guess May is considered off season. If I were traveling on vacation, and not business, this would be a great time to go because you’d have the beach and pool practically to yourself. Keep in mind that the beach club is not in walking distance. The Colony does have a van that will take you to the beach and pick you up at predetermined times. Just make sure you check the schedule by the front desk.

Another great plus about The Colony is that their complimentary breakfast is much more than a typical Continental. The breakfast is served in the open-air lobby each morning and includes sausage, eggs, cereal, fruit, yogurt, breads, and rolls. There is a toaster right there, making it really easy to toast an English Muffin. Each morning we fixed our plates and walked to the outside terrace/patio in the front of the hotel so we could watch the people walking by on the sidewalk.

Though room service was not offered, we easily walked to dinner each night. Especially yummy was the Mellow Mushroom where we ate for lunch one day. For dinner one night we walked to Lemongrass, a fabulous Pan Asian restaurant, and one morning (just to mix things up) we ate at the Olive restaurant for breakfast. There are so many restaurant choices within steps of the hotel, so not having room service was never an issue.

The Colony felt like a small-town boutique hotel complete with attentive and personal service, but in a great downtown location in walking distance to shops and restaurants.

If I ever have the opportunity to visit the area again at my leisure rather than business, I would stay at The Colony again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank TrvlGrl12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Delray Beach hotels
0.4 mi away
Crane’s Beach House Boutique Hotel & Luxury Villas
0.5 mi away
Delray Beach Marriott
Delray Beach Marriott
#5 of 15 in Delray Beach
1,093 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Seagate Hotel & Spa
The Seagate Hotel & Spa
#7 of 15 in Delray Beach
730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Delray Beach
Hyatt Place Delray Beach
#2 of 15 in Delray Beach
840 reviews
0.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Delray Beach I-95
0.4 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Delray Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colony Hotel and Cabana Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colony Hotel and Cabana Club

Address: 525 E Atlantic Ave, Delray Beach, FL 33483-5323
Region: United States > Florida > Delray Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Delray Beach
#3 Family Hotel in Delray Beach
#3 Romantic Hotel in Delray Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Delray Beach
#4 Business Hotel in Delray Beach
Price Range: £100 - £252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Colony Hotel and Cabana Club 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
historic Florida charm in a select service downtown hotel with a private oceanfront beach club ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, getaroom.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Colony Hotel and Cabana Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Colony Hotel And Cabana
Colony Hotel And Cabana Club Delray Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing