We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Authentic Experience of Early Twentieth Century Florida”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Colony Hotel and Cabana Club
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Delray Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level 6 Contributor
1,420 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 655 helpful votes
“An Authentic Experience of Early Twentieth Century Florida”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

The Colony got its start when you could only get to Southeast Florida sensibly by train. A short walk from the old Delray Beach train station, the Colony has been re-modeled with colorful furniture, but retains its art-deco 1920's charm. What Florida once was before any of us were born. But modernized and air-conditioned for modern types. A great central location to enjoy Atlantic Ave. and Delray Beach.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

575 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    337
    177
    33
    17
    11
See reviews for
120
269
38
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

My husband and I escaped for the weekend to take a break from raising three teens and this place was a lovely place to escape to. We loved our corner queen room and the bed was very comfy! It is an historic hotel with loads of character. Super clean and the staff were all super friendly. Loved the the decor and the included breakfast was decent. We also enjoyed the beach club. Only suggestion would be that the cafe would be open from noon-6 or so.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Seendean72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

The staff and service was very good. The bed and pillow were great. Towels of high quality.
The hotel itself is "Historic" but well maintained. With a staff operated elevator.
Great location for shopping and dinning. We just got back yesterday after a 3 night stay.
No complaints. Great guitar player on the patio Sat night. Week nights are quieter.

Room Tip: We choose the most reasonable price and the room itself was clean but could use another comfortable...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carrie37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mishawaka, Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Always entriqued by the look of The Colony Hotel in Delray Beach, Fl., my husband and I, along with another couple, booked 4 nights stay in April of this year. It appears, on the outside, to have been plucked from the 1930's. Yellow stucco with striped canopy's, and a delightful front porch right on Atlantic Avenue...the hot spot street in Delray for shopping and nighttime entertainment...all within a few blocks walk from the hotel! The rooms are beautifully appointed with marble bathrooms, and lovely antique furniture. An old gated elevator takes you up to your floor, and all of the staff are beyond friendly and helpful. The breakfast buffet (included)is delicious, and has many healthy options.
Along with all the other amenities, are a private beach/salt water pool on the Atlantic. There is a free hotel shuttle, or you can walk/drive the two miles.Again, the staff at the cabana club are all very friendly, as they hand you a towel and check your name off of the list, ensuring that only hotel guests use the lovely facilities. There is a small outdoor beach side cafe and dressing rooms with showers for your use as well.
I would highly recommend this hotel for a very relaxing, enjoyable getaway.

Room Tip: We chose a King room, away from the front of the hotel to avoid any street noise...our friends chose...
See more room tips
Green Features: In addition to all the other great qualities, this hotel is "green", and I was impressed by that in itself!
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Denise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuart, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

This century old hotel has carved out a niche in modern times, as travelers search out smaller boutique type accommodations .
Old is definitely new again! Our king room was on the small side, but the hard wood floors, turn of the century furniture, and a bed with an oversized carved headboard provided a comfortable stay and a touch of Old Florida ! Rooms have been somewhat renovated, but if you are looking for modern perfect, move on to another hotel. However, if you are looking for an affordable stay in a clean, vintage hotel, with a great continental breakfast included; don't miss what this place has to offer ! The location is perfect for walking to restaurants and shops. The free ample parking behind the hotel is an unusual find in downtown Delray. The Beach Club is real bonus ! Its peaceful setting offers a wonderful beach and open air dining, where we purchased one of the best fresh fish sandwich lunches, that we ever tasted! Staff at the hotel and beach club were very cordial and accommodating, which made our 3 day stay extremely enjoyable, as we slowed our pace and stepped back in time !

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank JCBROWNFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

If it is not, it should be landmarked. Wonderfully helpful staff, and what is probably the most beautiful and unpretentious hotel in Florida. The hotel hasn't changed much since 1935, and I hope it never changes. I like the breakfast too.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catlin69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lansing, MI
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

This being our 3rd visit in the last 4 years, it appears little has changed during that time (and maybe longer), and that's a good thing.

Coming into this charming, small hotel through the back ballroom entrance is a bit of a throwback in time: hardwood floors, and the ornate, colorful ceiling and walls, decorated with black-and-white photos of the hotel and guests from...a long time ago...are reminiscent of casual, old Florida grandeur.

The lobby, with its old, cushioned white wicker furniture and colorful decor, is not air conditioned, so the front doors facing Atlantic Ave are always(?) open, leading to an expansive covered porch that becomes a hot spot for live Saturday night music, as well as for leisurely enjoying the included (good and hearty) breakfast, or a casual drink from the lobby bar right at the entrance.

Rooms with hardwood floors are neither fancy nor large, but are certainly adequate for the price and considering you probably won't spend much time in them anyway. It smells a little musty, but not offensively so--old hotel in southwest Florida, I get it. Some might be bothered by the window-unit A/C--which works very well, BTW--but,again, it's an old hotel; if central air is that important to you, head to the Marriott up the street. Our queen bed was very comfortable, and the chest and walk-in closet provided enough storage. The tile bathroom has no exhaust fan--the screened window with old, glass levolor-like blinds(?) in the shower does a reasonable ventilation job--and a couple of long shelves are sufficient to lay out most of your stuff. The shower includes a health club-like pump dispenser of shampoo, conditioner, and soap.

There're 3 floors, serviced mainly by stairs, as well as an old-fashioned, staff-operated elevator. So if you have trouble with stairs, requesting and waiting for the elevator is something you need to think about. It doesn't seem to be used very often except for when guests are coming/going with luggage.

As has been our experience, staff is friendly enough and helpful. As it is a small hotel and pretty...leisurely...in its atmosphere (and guests), don't expect to find employees running around all over to cater to your every whim. The same employees check guests in/out, help with the bags and the elevator, and can give you directions. Just don't expect a "concierge"-like service.

Since it is in the middle of town--and the porch is great in that regard for shade and casual people-watching--there's a free shuttle to/from their private Cabana (beach) Club and recently redone large, salt water pool. You grab a couple towels when you check in at the beach club, and there're convenient changing/showering rooms/bathrooms there for your use as well. It's a deep, expansive beach area, with umbrellas, chairs, and cabanas for guests, as well as pitchers/cups for ice water. There's a large, covered "restaurant" with charging privileges to your room, and the food is very good (esp considering its captive customer base).

My only gripe during our stay was that I couldn't request a late checkout until the morning I was actually checking out! That makes no sense to me, and it seems someone would come up with a better policy than that. It didn't detract from our stay, and everything else was pretty positive... but you hate to (literally) go out on a negative.

Room Tip: larger, corner rooms are an "upgrade" that can be requested.
See more room tips
Green Features: Green initiatives present--I think you can get some small credit if, before you arrive, you agree to decline housekeeping services during your stay.
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pernasus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Delray Beach
0.4 mi away
The Seagate Hotel & Spa
The Seagate Hotel & Spa
#6 of 15 in Delray Beach
711 reviews
0.5 mi away
Delray Beach Marriott
Delray Beach Marriott
#4 of 15 in Delray Beach
1,052 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crane’s Beach House Boutique Hotel & Luxury Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Delray Beach
Hyatt Place Delray Beach
#2 of 15 in Delray Beach
798 reviews
1.7 mi away
Wright by the Sea
Wright by the Sea
#1 of 15 in Delray Beach
399 reviews
2.6 mi away
Delray Sands Resort on Highland Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colony Hotel and Cabana Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colony Hotel and Cabana Club

Property: Colony Hotel and Cabana Club
Address: 525 East Atlantic Ave., Delray Beach, FL 33483-5323
Region: United States > Florida > Delray Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Delray Beach
#3 Romantic Hotel in Delray Beach
#3 Family Hotel in Delray Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Delray Beach
#4 Business Hotel in Delray Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Colony Hotel and Cabana Club 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
historic Florida charm in a select service downtown hotel with a private oceanfront beach club ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and Ebookers so you can book your Colony Hotel and Cabana Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Colony Hotel And Cabana
Colony Hotel And Cabana Club Delray Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing