We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location and Service, and the Place is just Charming”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Colony Hotel and Cabana Club
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Delray Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 10 March 2010

As a historic hotel this place is just so charming and welcoming, from the staff at the front desk to Bonnie and Bob at the Beach Club. the beds were comfortable, the rooms were bright and colorful, and good pillows too. Right in the middle of town on Atlantic, you can walk to just about anything you want, shopping, restaurants. Hotel has a shuttle to the beach or you can drive yourself.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Winsomelife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (576)
There are newer reviews for Colony Hotel and Cabana Club
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

493 - 499 of 576 reviews

Reviewed 15 February 2010

I'm writing this as I relax in the lobby of this beautiful hotel on the morning of my departure. It has some of the most important assets of a great hotel: early fresh coffee (it's here by 5:30 AM), a comfortable place to "chillax" with said coffee, and a comfortable room. You can read all the great pluses of this hotel on the others' reviews and they/re all true. This place is extraordinarily beautiful and despite what some of the older reviews say, the staff here has been remarkably nice and helpful. But being in the best location in Delray and having gorgeous hardwood floors add up to the biggest drawback of this place: noise, especially at night. We could hear everyone walking the hallway all night, and it sounded as if there was a dance lesson in high heels in the room above. Consequently, nights weren't so comfortable. On the second day, I asked the staff if there were any quiet rooms available, and he admitted their wasn't any. So if you are looking for a place that you can rely on to get a quiet night's sleep, this isn't it. But everything else was so great here, that I'm still not sure I'd go anywhere else in the future. Note to management: some nice runway carpets, especially in the hallways, would be a great addition to this already wonderful place. Other minor drawbacks: poor shower, and really weak wireless internet in the room (but good in the lobby}.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ajlcdl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2010

My husband and I stayed at the colony for three nights and loved it!
Things I loved:
The smell of time. It's an old building and smells good like old hard wood floors. I loved the history there and am amazed at how well they are taking care of the place. I loved the old fashioned elevator and operators. The outdoor seating and bar area is cozy and relaxing, we even found old books to read. The yoga room was a treat, although I did not get to participate in the class, I plan on it next time. The rooms are pleasantly simple. I like the greenness of the place with soap/shampoo dispensers, as not to waste a million tiny bottles. They have recycling too, use real glass instead of plastic cups. (it's the little things). The bed was super comfy, we actually thought it was a temporpedic mattress, we took a peek and saw it was just a really comfy pad and pillow top. Good water pressure, great natural light, flat screen tvs. Perfect location, close to walk to the beach and shops.
The cabana club was beautiful, although it was rainy when I went. I still enjoyed a swim in the salt water pool. The bath house had everything and I loved the openness of it all. I was a tad disappointed when the restaurant closed early(due to weather) and no one notified me that I would need to get something before they closed or that they were even going to close early. But with that said, the hotel staff made an unscheduled pick up for me (it was also pouring rain at this point) and drove me to pizza place for a nice big salad.
The staff at the hotel was attentive, nice and accommodating. We will stay there again and any time we are in Delray Beach. Thanks guys!

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jenandtommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2010

This is an historic hotel and well maintained. My room was super quiet and comfortable, simply furnished with high quality bedding and hardwood floors. There is a small gym with one barbell and one bike. There is a large yoga crowd, for classes referenced in Yoga Journal. A simple breakfast with eggs, meat, cereals etc is provided gratis but other food is not available in the hotel, but restaurants and carry out is easily obtainable within steps. Weekends feature live music on the front verandah which was a nice place to sit, dance, talk to fellow travellers. I noticed and spoke to all kinds of travellers from young to old, gay to straight, foriegn and U.S. nationals and all seemed to coexist peacefully. The private beach club is easy to get to and park there, or take their shuttle. Once there you will find a lack of crowds, some clam shell style cabanas on the beach, a pool, outdoor and lovely, private locker/shower/changing rooms. There is a restaurant there that serves a really good lunch in a beautiful and casual setting.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank touristwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2009

I believe that this hotel as well as the sister hotel in Maine fill my needs for beautiful views, historical hotel, outstanding swimming opportunitites, and nearness to a beach.
The staff is well trained and the location is superb for shopping and beautiful scenery.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BostonFran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2009

This is a bit of an "old Delray" experience, a historic hotel in downtown, walking distance to many wonderful restaurants and shops. When one considers free hotel parking, free breakfast, free beach club (with free parking or free shittle from hotel), this place is a bargain. We are frequent travelers and our room (King bed) is probably the largest hotel room we've ever occupied. Our room was quiet despite nightly, weekend entertainment on the front veranda. All hardwood floors, rooms and hallways, immaculately clean. Dog friendly hotel! It's not the Marriott but it doesn't try to be. I love Delray Beach and the Colony Hotel.

Stayed: November 2009
1  Thank railfanppk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2009

We have stayed at the Colony at least 6 times in the last couple of years. On our recent visit nothing has changed. Great staff, spotless rooms and common areas. Their private beach/pool area is great for a day of relaxing, and enjoy a lunch overlooking their beach.
Would never stay any where else when we are in that area.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NFlorida55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Delray Beach
0.5 mi away
Delray Beach Marriott
Delray Beach Marriott
#4 of 15 in Delray Beach
1,064 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Seagate Hotel & Spa
The Seagate Hotel & Spa
#6 of 15 in Delray Beach
720 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Delray Beach
Hyatt Place Delray Beach
#2 of 15 in Delray Beach
814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Crane’s Beach House Boutique Hotel & Luxury Villas
2.6 mi away
Delray Sands Resort on Highland Beach
0.4 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Delray Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colony Hotel and Cabana Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colony Hotel and Cabana Club

Address: 525 East Atlantic Ave., Delray Beach, FL 33483-5323
Region: United States > Florida > Delray Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Delray Beach
#3 Romantic Hotel in Delray Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Delray Beach
#3 Family Hotel in Delray Beach
#4 Business Hotel in Delray Beach
Price Range: £98 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Colony Hotel and Cabana Club 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
historic Florida charm in a select service downtown hotel with a private oceanfront beach club ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Colony Hotel and Cabana Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Colony Hotel And Cabana
Colony Hotel And Cabana Club Delray Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing