We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quintessential Vermont Experience”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in North Bennington
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Henry House Inn
Woodstock, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Quintessential Vermont Experience”
Reviewed 28 November 2011

Reserved 5 rooms for a birthday celebration nearby. We all loved the Henry House and the NEW owners Dave & Nancy. Loads of Vermont charm in this immaculate, freshly painted B&B dating back to 1760. Add in beautiful antiques, charming rooms and even a genuine Vermont covered bridge outside. Each room has a nice private bath. The breakfast was amazing with 3 cooked entrees, homemade muffins, yogurt & fruit and steaming pots of coffee. Loved it !

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 912Mark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    9
    1
    2
    2
See reviews for
5
17
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bethpage, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2011

This was the strangest experience my wife and I ever had at a bed and breakfast. The house itself is very nice and the rooms more than acceptable. However, the service is just plain strange. When we arrived we were greeted by a man-and-wife. They seemed a bit rushed although they did seem friendly at first -- right up until they began to explain that they do not live onsite and that they have their own farm in the area. They handed me the keys to the bed and breakfast (!) and told me that I should lock the door at night, that they were going home, and they would see me in the morning. We were the only ones in this entire building. They did leave a phone number in case of fire, psycho killers or general disasters. In the morning, when they came back they set up the poorest breakfast I have yet to see at a B&B. It was nothing but coffee and juice and a few muffins. No toast, no cereal, no croissant not even jelly. The husband, when it came time for us to go (the wife had left immediately after setting out the not-so-hearty breakfast) was busy installing a computer printer and although I was struggling with a lot of luggage he did not offer to help nor even hold the door open for me. Can you give less than a star?

Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Neil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed 13 October 2010

My husband and I recently stayed at the Henry House Inn--what a fantastic place!! It is not only a beautiful house with lovely grounds, but it has a wonderful 240 year history too. We loved sitting on the front porch with our coffee, looking at the covered bridge across the road which runs over top of the Wallomsac River . Don the Innkeeper was terrific. He told us about all the local historic points of interest, and recommended places to eat where the food was great and prices were good too! He went out of his way to make our stay a memorable one. It was our first visit there, but we will be back! I recommend it highly.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank millieandbilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia,PA
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2009

I really enjoyed my stay at the Henry House! We stayed in the Borning Room (first floor) and were impressed with everything during our stay. The grounds are immaculate, the house is clean and well appointed without feeling too "fussy", and Don is a great host. I was very impressed with how well Don knew the area and the history of the house. He spent plenty of time answering our endless questions! We were told all about the house (it has a very neat past!) and we were even shown the old guestbook.

The house itself is very well maintained and has been meticulously updated and modernized. There are comfortable sitting areas, a small bar area, and an open kitchen. I felt at home being able to just hang at the bar counter in the kitchen and chat. There is a quiet front porch area with rocking chairs that would be great in the summer.

I definitely will recommend this B&B to all of my friends.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TofuKat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northeast
1 review
Reviewed 22 March 2009

I've stayed at the Henry House several times. Don, the innkeeper is very friendly and does a wonderful job making sure his guests are comfortable and well cared for. I've had a lovely romantic getaway with my husband and a few getaway visits with friends and have never been disappointed.

  • Stayed October 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peacefulvisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ny
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2008

I'll try to stay positive but the male innkeeper leaves much to be desired. He's a bit aloof although he does know about local history. Not the warmest person in Vermont. He's accommodates your needs but seems quietly "put out" by the simplest requests. I won't be back.

  • Liked — Location in bennington vermont
  • Disliked — The innkeepers
  • Stayed May 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank docpeters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Bennington
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Bennington
Hampton Inn Bennington
#1 of 8 in Bennington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 692 reviews
2.0 mi away
Knotty Pine Motel
Knotty Pine Motel
#5 of 8 in Bennington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
2.3 mi away
Four Chimneys Inn
Four Chimneys Inn
#1 of 9 in Bennington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Paradise Inn
Paradise Inn
#4 of 8 in Bennington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
2.3 mi away
Eddington House Inn
Eddington House Inn
#3 of 9 in Bennington
5.0 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Harwood Hill
The Harwood Hill
#3 of 8 in Bennington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Henry House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Henry House Inn

Property: The Henry House Inn
Address: Murphy Rd, North Bennington, Bennington, VT 05257-0214
Region: United States > Vermont > Green Mountains > Bennington > North Bennington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in North Bennington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located on twenty five acres of manacured lawn, pond, babbling stream, pine woods and quiet beauty. A Vermont covered bridge a stones throw away and admired from our comfortable front porch is enjoyed by our guests. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing