We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mystery hotel....pet friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Destin-Sandestin
Ranked #10 of 39 Hotels in Destin
Certificate of Excellence
Effingham, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Mystery hotel....pet friendly”
Reviewed 8 November 2011

We had to put our vacation back 2 weeks and were asked if we'd like to choose a "mystery hotel" in place of what we had chosen. You don't know what hotel you get until you accept. Well we did it...how frightening....(until we got there)

We got the Candlewood Suites in Destin Florida. It was wonderful! I cannot say enough nice things about it. They are pet friendly. The man at the front desk even said they would check on our pet if we chose to leave her in the room. (of course we would not..she goes everywhere with us) haha Some hotels claim to be pet friendly but are not. This one truly is!

The suites are like small condo's. You can cook in them the have a nice dining area, the living room is separate, even the fluffy comforter on the bed reminds you of home. I'm not sure the age of the hotel but it must be relatively new. It's about 2 miles from the beach and 1 mile from a large outlet mall.
I would definitely stay at this hotel again. We gave it 5 stars.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the backside of the hotel...it was very quiet. The front side has a main road..I'm no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sherrie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

543 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    309
    146
    49
    18
    21
See reviews for
178
172
32
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ooltewah
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2011

We stayed at this hotel because we got a great deal on the price. We will be back because of everything else. First, the location - This is not right on the beach. However, just down the road brings you to a street that connects to the 'old 98' which is right on the beach. There are plenty of free parking lots with public access to the beach so this was not a problem. You are also out of the main traffic of Destin and not in the center of the 'tourist' spots, which I liked. The hotel is very clean - including the refrigerator and stove that is in each room. There is a convenience store in the hotel that you can grab things you forgot or if you get hungry for a late-night snack. The items are paid for on 'the honor system' and they also have free hot coffee. Another big plus was the washer and dryers- they were just down the hall and Free to use! The staff- Every one of them that I spoke to was helpful, friendly and eager to help. I never felt like I was an inconvenience to them - they were very personable. Also, this is an animal friendly hotel but I promise it probably smelled better than any other hotel I've ever been to. And I loved the dogs that we would get to see in the hallway or with their owners outside. I could continue for a while, but I'll stop and say You won't be disappointed at this hotel. If you are, you're just too hard to please :)

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stacy83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bharrison99, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Destin-Sandestin, responded to this review, 10 October 2011
Stacy83,

Thank you very much for your review. I don't think we could have described the hotel better ourselves. We do pride ourselves on being the nicest and friendliest hotel in Destin, and I am glad you found we treated you right!

Many people love the variety of amenities we have, such as the free guest laundry, full kitchens, and our Candlewood Cupboard hotel store. Again, thank you so much for sharing your thoughts and feelings with everyone here, and we look forward to serving you again the next time you are in Destin. Please feel free to reach out to me personally to coordinate your next stay!

Warm Regards,
Boyd Harrison
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Destin, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 September 2011

Stayed here for 2 nights moving to Destin. Felt like home, I don't know who needs daily housekeeping! Thank you Cathy, Boyd, Charlie... everybody! Deinitely recommend!

Room Tip: Dont be afraid to ASK about an upgrade...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bharrison99, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Destin-Sandestin, responded to this review, 14 September 2011
JC,

Thank you so much for your feedback. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and welcome to Destin! We do try to make our guests' stays as relaxing and care-free as possible, and I am glad we did that for you! Thank you again!

Best Regards,
Boyd Harrison
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Altamonte Springs, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2011

This hotel is the best! My trip was to check out the area and the Candleswood Suites to see if this is the place for me to move from Orlando to Destin!
I found my piece of paradise and intend to stay at the Candlewood Suites for an indefinate period come November 2011. Other info is indicated in additional details.
The entire staff were caring, professional and extremely polite and friendly during my 2 day stay!
Thank you, Boyd, Cathy, Charlie, Steve & Jamie! See you in November for a longer stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank babymine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bharrison99, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Destin-Sandestin, responded to this review, 14 September 2011
babymine,

It was a pleasuring having you with us for the short time you were here. I am glad we met, and exceeded your expectations. I think you will greatly enjoy the hotel, and the whole area, when you move here. We're looking forward to seeing you again in November!

Warm Regards,
Boyd Harrison
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Missouri
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 September 2011

We vacationed here a week the first part of July and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. it's easy to understand why they are on top in the ratings. The room was super clean and spacious. The staff was friendly and helpful from the front desk crew to the maids and maintenance people. The fact that there's no continental breakfast or daily maid service is hardly noticable in light of all the other amenities this place has to offer. And at a very affordable price. It's also convenient to beaches and other recreation. In short we loved it and plan to stay there every trip to Destin. We highly recommend!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bharrison99, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Destin-Sandestin, responded to this review, 6 September 2011
Gary D,

Thank you so much for your review! We are glad you shared your feedback from your recent stay with us!

You are exactly right that we have a variety of different amenities to serve our guests most do not. I believe you touched on each of those individually and overall, and most importantly our people. Anyone can get a room with a bed, but the people who take care of you and personally treat you as their guest is what makes a hotel "hospitable".

Thank you so much, and we look forward to hosting you again! Please feel free to reach out to me directly for your next stay!

Warm Regards,
Boyd Harrison
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Slidell, LA
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2011

Nice welcome, great front desk. Room was spacious, bed was comfortable, Like the bathroom being all in one, towels were plush nice amenities ie soap etc. Kitchen was clean with all someone would need for a long term stay...
Was disappointed in the Wifi with so many providing full unlimited time at a good speed, they only provide 512 band width for free, for high speed, you pay... not stated when I asked reservations. Fridge was loud making uninterrupted sleep impossible, guess I would have gotten use to it after a few more nights or I would have been just too exhausted to care.
Pillow selection was sad,,, 2 very small wimpy feather pillows - I would have liked them had they been larger. 1 foam pillow which we fought over we should have asked for more.
They do have a nice selection of DVDs to limit movie cost. Have a nice pantry to purchase things instead of going out. We saw a grill for guest use, very nice idea. Not far from beach (driving) with nice public access, parking and restrooms

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ladyintheknow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bharrison99, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Destin-Sandestin, responded to this review, 6 September 2011
Ladyintheknow,

Thank you for leaving us a review! We always appreciate the feedback.

Since your comments, we have procured additional large foam pillows and have begun placing more in each room - thank you for leaving us that feedback! The next time you are in Destin, please feel free to call on me directly to personally arrange your stay!

Best Regards,
Boyd Harrison
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2011

If you're ok with driving to the beach this can be a great place, everything was clean but they do not have room service unless you stay for more than a week, you need to clean your own room and take your dirty towels to the front desk so they will give you clean ones. The room was small but it as a kitchen and the bathroom has a good size, there's virtually no view, but I think this place is ok if you want to save and need a place only to sleep after spending a day at the beach, which was our case. The staff was very friendly at all times.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YasminTramontina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bharrison99, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Destin-Sandestin, responded to this review, 6 September 2011
WorldCitizenGirl,

Thank you so much for your review! I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us!

I think you hit the nail on the head that while we are not on the beach, and that we are geared for extended-stay guests, we are the friendliest and cleanest hotel you can find here in Destin... and we take PRIDE in that! I am glad that it showed through to you and yours, and we hope to see you again.

Please feel free to contact me personally to coordinate your next stay, or any of my great team members!

Warm Regards,
Boyd Harrison
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Destin hotels
2.5 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Sandestin at Grand Boulevard
6.7 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Destin
5.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Destin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#21 of 39 in Destin
177 reviews
0.7 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Destin - Miramar Beach
5.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Destin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites Destin-Sandestin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Destin-Sandestin

Property: Candlewood Suites Destin-Sandestin
Address: 11396 US 98 West, Destin, FL 32550-6933
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Destin
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Destin
#7 Romantic Hotel in Destin
#7 Family Hotel in Destin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites Destin-Sandestin 2.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Candlewood Suites Destin Miramar-Beach Sandestin Area is an All-Suite, extended-stay hotel. Ideally located between Destin and Sandestin, the Candlewood Suites Destin features studio and one-bedroom suites inclusive of full kitchens, recliners, couches, flat-panel HDTVs, and a variety of bed types. Hotel amenities also include FREE WIFI, FREE Guest Laundry, Outdoor Swimming Pool, 24-hour Gym, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Candlewood Suites Destin-Sandestin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Destin - Miramar Beach Hotel Destin
Candlewood Destin
Destin Candlewood Suites
Candlewood Suites Destin-Sandestin Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing