We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value in this area”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Destin-Sandestin
Ranked #12 of 39 Hotels in Destin
Certificate of Excellence
Lincolnton, Georgia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great value in this area”
Reviewed 29 July 2013

My wife and I were staying at Lake Blackshear Resort in Cordele, Ga (see my review) and decided to leave after one night and come down to Destin, Fl. where we are to meet our daughter's family and other cousins to share a condo. We weren't supposed to meet for another two days. We called Candlewood Suites because of the ratings and the price and were surprised that they had a room available for just 2 nights. Most places in this area want a 3 or 4 night stay at an average of $300 a night. We got the senior rate at about half that.

The hotel is in tip-top shape. Our room had two queen beds, refrigerator, small range, microwave, dishwasher, dishes and utensils. Nice flat screen TV and lots of room. It is VERY clean and the management is really accommodating. The only thing we found irritating (and it's not the hotel's fault) was a herd of elephants in the room above us. Sounded like a family with children who loved to jump and run.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JCBryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keith M, Manager at Candlewood Suites Destin-Sandestin, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Thank you so much for taking time out of your busy schedule to let us know how wonderful your stay with us was! We appreciate the feedback and our staff loves to hear that our guests are so happy! We are happy to accomodate our guests for a short stay or for an extended amount of time. Our hotel is equipped with everything you need to get away and relax. Please let us know when you are back in the area and we will make room for you and your family!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

519 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    299
    137
    47
    16
    20
See reviews for
166
166
31
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scottsboro, Alabama, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

This place is conveniently located a half mile from the beach. The rooms were large and up to date. They include a kitchen with everything needed to cook a meal. Rooms were very clean and well maintained. Staff was friendly and very helpful. We enjoyed the pool and the barbeque / picnic area.

Keith and his staff will go out of there way to make sure you have a comfortable stay.

Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jamie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keith M, Manager at Candlewood Suites Destin-Sandestin, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
It was our pleasure to have you stay with us. We are so glad you were able to get to know some of our staff. They are some amazing people! We hear so many wonderful comments about the kitchens in our suites. It makes it so nice after a long day of shopping or enjoying our beautiful beaches to be able to relax in your room and make a nice dinner. We do hope that you were able to enjoy some of the wonderful restaurants in the area as well. We are located so close to many of the attractions and shopping that make this area such a nice place to visit. Thank you for allowing us to be your hotel of choice!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baton Rouge
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 July 2013 via mobile

I traveled with several other family members and we reserved 4 rooms on my nephew's debit card. When the reservations was made it was not stated that his money would be debited"held" and not be available for use, even though we made it clear the rooms would be paid for seperately upon check in. Eventually his money was released once each room was paid for, but the next morning his debit card was charged for all the rooms again! Another round with management took place to have his money released, other wise his vacation funds would be non existent. Finally the issue was resolved. Aside from the debit card issue we enjoyed our stay. The rooms are a nice size and clean.The pool area was also clean and well maintained. The free laundry area was very convenient and the staff was very friendly and helpful. I highly recommend this hotel for your Destin get away. Its very close to the beach, shopping, attractions, and resturants. Would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank D H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keith M, Manager at Candlewood Suites Destin-Sandestin, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
We are so glad that you chose Candlewood to be your "Home away from Home". We appreciate your comments and have established a new procedure for the debit cards to prevent authorizations on your account. We have found that charging for your stay up front will keep this from happening. I am so glad you had a great stay. I will pass on your kind comments about the cleanliness of your suite to our housekeepers. They love to hear that they are doing a great job. We have an amazing staff that strives to make our hotel the best of the best! Our free laundry facilities are so convenient and make life a little easier when you get home. Thank you again for letting us know how great your stay was. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Georgia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

My husband and I stayed for a few nights in July. The room was clean and efficiently laid out but expensive for such a basic set up. It felt cold and uncomfortable, making me want to sleep, shower and get out. Our window was partially blocked by the roof. Staff was friendly.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cheryl C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Destin-Sandestin, responded to this review, 7 August 2013
Dear weluvgod,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and reviewing our property. I'm glad to hear you found our staff agent to be friendly. We're proud of our staff and for noticing the cleanliness of our rooms. However, I would like to apologize for the dissatisfaction you had experienced because of the rates. We are hospitality professionals who work diligently to ensure our facilities are well maintained and we strive to provide service rates that are competitive in the area. It is certainly not our intent to inconvenience our valued customers, but to instead provide good value, comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations. Thank you for staying and we all hope to have an opportunity to serve you again on your next future visit.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 July 2013 via mobile

My husband and I are honeymooning in Florida and our stop was candle wood! We loved everything about it! Top notch people everyone was nice! The room was the best hotel room iv ever been in! Awesome bathroom! They even have a grill by the pool to let you use :) all around good people and good place! I recommend stopping there :)

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GeenaCrane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keith M, Manager at Candlewood Suites Destin-Sandestin, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Congratulations on your wedding! We are so glad you chose to honeymoon at Candlewood! We are located in paradise and know that you had a great time! Our guest suites are top of the line and our bathrooms are nice and spacious. Our staff works hard on a daily basis to make sure that every guest has a fantastic stay. We are glad you were able to enjoy our BBQ grills! They are such a nice touch that really make you feel at home. We hope that you will be back every year to celebrate your anniversary! Congratulations again on your new marriage!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baton Rouge
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 July 2013 via mobile

I traveled with several other family members and we reserved 4 rooms on my nephew's debit card. When the reservations was made it was not stated that his money would be debited"held" and not be available for use, even though we made it clear the rooms would be paid for seperately upon check in. Eventually his money was released once each room was paid for, but the next morning his debit card was charged for all the rooms again! Another round with management took place to have his money released, other wise his vacation funds would be non existent. Finally the issue was resolved. Aside from the debit card issue we enjoyed our stay. The rooms are a nice size and clean.The pool area was also clean and well maintained. The free laundry area was very convenient and the staff was very friendly and helpful. I highly recommend this hotel for your Destin get away. Its very close to the beach, shopping, attractions, and resturants. Would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keith M, Manager at Candlewood Suites Destin-Sandestin, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
We are so glad that you chose our hotel to be your "Home away from Home". I apologize that you had a problem with your debit card while you were here. We have implemented a new procedure where we charge the debit cards up front at check in so that the authorizations are avoided. Please accept our apologies that this happened. We are so happy that you will be staying with us again. We look forward to welcoming you and your family!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 July 2013

My mom and I recently booked a trip to Destin for the 4th of July weekend. Unfortunately it rained our entire stay, but we were fortunate to be staying in a hotel with great accommodations. My mom was even able to bring her 6 month old shih tzu puppy with her, as this hotel is pet friendly. It was very well kept and clean, and the staff were very friendly and able to assist their guests with whatever they needed. The rooms are spacious, my mom and I stayed in a double queen bed room, with a kitchenette and a very spacious bathroom. Plenty large for two, or even three people. The hotel is centralized to great shopping, 1/2 mile down the road is the San Destin Premium Outlets, and another 2 miles is The Grand Boulevard shops. About 3 miles in the other directions are the Destin Commons. The beach is about 10 minutes away opposite the Emerald Coast Pkwy. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at the Candlewood Suites, and if I was to ever return to Destin I would highly consider staying here again. I would absolutely recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a place to stay in the Destin area!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HMW2104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keith M, Manager at Candlewood Suites Destin-Sandestin, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Thank you so much for taking time to let us know how wonderful your stay with us was! We appreciate the feedback. We are also glad you were able to enjoy the wonderful shopping that is only a half mile from us. I will pass along your comments to our staff and let them know what a great job they are doing. It's always nice to know that all of the hard work they do every day is noticed by our guests. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Destin hotels
6.7 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Destin
2.5 mi away
Courtyard Sandestin at Grand Boulevard
0.7 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Destin - Miramar Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Destin
0.7 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#20 of 39 in Destin
170 reviews
2.7 mi away
Residence Inn Sandestin at Grand Boulevard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites Destin-Sandestin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Destin-Sandestin

Property: Candlewood Suites Destin-Sandestin
Address: 11396 US 98 West, Destin, FL 32550-6933
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Destin
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Destin
#7 Family Hotel in Destin
#7 Romantic Hotel in Destin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites Destin-Sandestin 2.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Candlewood Suites Destin Miramar-Beach Sandestin Area is an All-Suite, extended-stay hotel. Ideally located between Destin and Sandestin, the Candlewood Suites Destin features studio and one-bedroom suites inclusive of full kitchens, recliners, couches, flat-panel HDTVs, and a variety of bed types. Hotel amenities also include FREE WIFI, FREE Guest Laundry, Outdoor Swimming Pool, 24-hour Gym, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Candlewood Suites Destin-Sandestin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Destin - Miramar Beach Hotel Destin
Candlewood Destin
Destin Candlewood Suites
Candlewood Suites Destin-Sandestin Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing