We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel / Great staff / Great value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Destin-Sandestin
Ranked #10 of 39 Hotels in Destin
Certificate of Excellence
McKinney, Texas, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great hotel / Great staff / Great value”
Reviewed 22 November 2013

This is our 2nd time staying here and we will not hesitate to stay here our next visit. The staff is very nice and helpful. You have easy access to many beaches up and down the Emerald Coast. The rooms were clean and the the beds are very comfortable. The staff was very pleasant at all times. The full kitchen is a great option as well. Gym facilities are great if you are not one to run on the beach. Weights, treadmill & elliptical are available. The fact that this is a pet friendly hotel does not impact how clean this hotel is. Really a great place to stay.

Room Tip: 4th floor rooms on the north side will give you nice bay views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank missyburton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keith M, Manager at Candlewood Suites Destin-Sandestin, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Thank you for staying with us while you were in town. We are so glad you were able to enjoy all of the amenities that we have to offer. Our gym is a perfect way to start your day off before you head to our beautiful beaches. We truly are located in paradise and hope that you will be staying with us again soon. We appreciate you allowing us to be your hotel of choice while in the Destin/Sandestin area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

545 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    311
    146
    49
    18
    21
See reviews for
180
172
32
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Prattville, Alabama
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

As a girls' trip, we visited Destin for the outlet mall to shop for Christmas. We stayed overnight as we could not get it all in in one day. The candlewood suites was amazing! For the price, you get a full kitchen! The beds were wonderful with thick warm linen and blankets. The shower head and pressure were better than any I have ever stayed! (I don't want a flimsy shower!) The room was very neat, tidy and spacious for three ladies. No breakfast is offered, but local eateries are convenient. The staff was super professional and friendly. I really enjoyed it!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luvnicubabies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keith M, Manager at Candlewood Suites Destin-Sandestin, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
We are so glad you girls had such a great trip! We are located within such a close proximity of several amazing shopping areas. The Silver Sands Premium Outlets are located one half of a mile East of us. Thank you for the kind comments regarding our hotel. I will pass them on to our staff. They love hearing that our guests have had a great experience at Candlewood. We hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mims, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Pleasant staff, great location, nice sized rooms and pet friendly. Hard to beat the price for a location with perhaps the most beautiful beaches in all of Florida. You could drive a bit further and be in the heart of the hubbub, but nothing is that far away. And - much to my dismay, it's too close to great golf and outlet stores - yikes!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank psguru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keith M, Manager at Candlewood Suites Destin-Sandestin, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
We are so glad you had such a great experiene at Candlewood! You are correct... we are so close to some of the most beautiful beaches in the world! We are also located 1/2 mile from the largest outlet mall in the United States! There is so much to do within a short drive so please come back and see us again soon! We have some amazing restaurants near us as well, so let us know when you are ready to experience a little more of paradise and we will point you in the right direction. Thank you again for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

I recently attended a wedding in Destin and used Trip Advisor to find a nice hotel with a decent nightly rate. I couldnt have been more pleased with our stay at Candlewood, the staff were very professional and super nice. As an example I was looking for same day dry cleaning either Sunday or Monday as the wedding was Tuesday afternoon, unfortunately the earliest I could get my dry cleaning was Tuesday evening. The manager (I believe his name is Keith) and staff took it upon themselves to wash my pants and dress shirt and and had them ready for me when I returned from the rehearsal dinner Sunday evening. Keith even offered to take my clothes home for the night and have his wife iron them, you cant be more hospitable than that. The rooms have everything you need for an extended stay (refrigerator, microwave stove, utensils, dishes/bowls, and a dishwasher.) The only downfall is that the rooms are only cleaned once a week however you can get fresh linens from the front desk any time you need them. Location is excellent, its literally a 5 minute walk from the beachfront. Overall great stay highly recommended!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ryan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keith M, Manager at Candlewood Suites Destin-Sandestin, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful review! We are so honored that you chose to stay with us while you were in town for a wedding. It's so nice to know that you enjoyed your stay! We have a wonderful staff and it was our pleasure to help you with your dry cleaning. Please let us know when you are back in town and we look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lafayette, Louisiana
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

My mother and I stayed here five days and four nights for a scuba diving trip in Destin along with our two small dogs ($80 flat rate, nonrefundable pet charge for our length of stay). The check in/check out was super quick and easy. Front desk staff were friendly, helpful and efficient, often offering "good morning" greetings on our way out the door. Clean rooms and common areas, updated, comfy beds and pillows, AC cooled very well and the hotel smelled new and clean since the whole building is smoke free. Plenty of areas outside to walk our dogs, including a pet walk in the back with stocked potty bags near the trash can (thought it appeared some guests did not utilize this to clean up after their pets.) We were given a room on the first floor right behind the elevator and never had an issue with this. It was convenient for our comings and goings with our dogs. There was one night that we were woken by other guests in the hallway being noisy, but this did not appear due to our room's location in the hotel. The Destin address of the hotel is misleading. The hotel is actually located in Miramar Beach, so plan at least 10 minutes to get to things in Destin. You are close to the outlets in Miramar Beach, however, and there are a few great restaurant options within a few miles of the hotel. We went diving at The Vortex springs on our on one day and took chartered boat dives ($90/person plus $25/person for a dive master fee) with Scuba Tech dive shop in Destin. Great time all around and look forward to our next return trip! Would stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Crystal J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keith M, Manager at Candlewood Suites Destin-Sandestin, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
We appreciate your wonderful comments about our property! I will pass them on to all of our staff. They love to hear that their hard work everyday is noticed by our guests. We have the best staff out there and thank you for taking the time to let them know what a great job they are doing. We are so glad that your dogs enjoyed themselves as well. We love when our guests bring their pets to enjoy vacation as well. It sounds like you made the most of your time here by enjoying our beautiful piece of paradise. Vortex Springs is absolutely beautiful and it sounds like the Scuba Diving was a great experience! As you know, there is so much to do here, so we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ansbach, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
211 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We had originally planned on the entire family staying for 2 nights. I got the room at such a good rate I figured we could bring our own food and use the kitchen to good effect which would make up for the lack of a complimentary breakfast. It just ended up with two of us for one night instead. The room was very clean. The gym seemed to have an average amount of exercise equipment. I did not check out the outdoor pool. The location is between Destin and Sandestin. Reasonably close to the big outlet mall in Sandestin.
If you have stayed at an "extended stay" type hotel before you will not be disappointed in this Cadlewood Suites.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keith M, Manager at Candlewood Suites Destin-Sandestin, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Thank you so much for letting us know how great your stay was with us! Our Candlewood staff appreciates you choosing our Hotel to be your hotel of choice while in the Destin/Miramar Beach area. We truly live in paradise and love to share it with our guests! We are so glad that you were able to enjoy the full kitchen in your room. It's nice after a long day to relax in your room and enjoy a nice meal with your family. Sounds like you were also able to get a little shopping time in at the outlet mall. We are located about 1/2 mile from them. There are so many great stores and restaurants for you to enjoy! We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atmore, Alabama
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 October 2013

The hotel was clean & nice but I had reservation problems. I made reservations which got cancelled not by me. I just happened to call to change one of the rooms and found out my original reservations had been cancelled. I was not given the lower rate I received on my first reservation when making new ones. No one could explain how my reservations were cancelled other than it was done online-not by me. Other than that, the hotel is in a clean area & staff was polite.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keith M, Manager at Candlewood Suites Destin-Sandestin, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Thank you Ms. Nancy for your review of our property. I do remember the issue with your reservation. We did extensive research to try to find out about your cancelled rooms. Your room was cancelled online and when it was rebooked, the rates had unfortunately gone up. We are so glad that we had a room available and that you enjoyed your stay. Please give us a call at the hotel directly (850) 337-3770 and we will be glad to book your next stay! We would love to personally help you this time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Destin hotels
2.5 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Sandestin at Grand Boulevard
6.7 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Destin
5.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Destin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#21 of 39 in Destin
177 reviews
0.7 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Destin - Miramar Beach
5.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Destin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites Destin-Sandestin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Destin-Sandestin

Property: Candlewood Suites Destin-Sandestin
Address: 11396 US 98 West, Destin, FL 32550-6933
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Destin
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Destin
#7 Romantic Hotel in Destin
#7 Family Hotel in Destin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites Destin-Sandestin 2.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Candlewood Suites Destin Miramar-Beach Sandestin Area is an All-Suite, extended-stay hotel. Ideally located between Destin and Sandestin, the Candlewood Suites Destin features studio and one-bedroom suites inclusive of full kitchens, recliners, couches, flat-panel HDTVs, and a variety of bed types. Hotel amenities also include FREE WIFI, FREE Guest Laundry, Outdoor Swimming Pool, 24-hour Gym, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Candlewood Suites Destin-Sandestin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Destin - Miramar Beach Hotel Destin
Candlewood Destin
Destin Candlewood Suites
Candlewood Suites Destin-Sandestin Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing