We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We love this locale!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Destin-Sandestin
Ranked #10 of 39 Hotels in Destin
Certificate of Excellence
Mississippi
Level 6 Contributor
227 reviews
184 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“We love this locale!”
Reviewed 17 January 2014

Staff is always helpful and professional. The rooms are huge and well appointed with full size fridge and microwave. WiFi was fast. Parking is free. Pet friendly for additional fee $30. Lots of grassy areas to exercise our pet. Washer and Dryer is free(great perk). Very close to the outlets. Good value for the room.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jkdaves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keith M, Manager at Candlewood Suites Destin-Sandestin, responded to this review, 25 January 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to write such a wonderful review of our property! I will pass on the nice comments to our staff and let them know that you recognized how hard they work to make sure each guest feels at home. We are so glad you were able to bring your pet along. Having a free washer and dryer for our guests is such a wonderful thing to offer our guests. We are so glad that you were able to use them. Thank you again for your review. We value our guests opinions. Hope to have you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

546 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    312
    146
    49
    18
    21
See reviews for
181
172
32
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Snellville, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

We visited about three years ago and really enjoyed ourselves. Being that we were traveling with our baby son, we looked for hotels with at least one separate room. Candlewood Suites stood out among the hotels and rentals in Destin. We are glad that we chose to stay here, especially since it was the first trip to Destin for all of us. Our first room had an issue with the AC and we were quickly moved to another room a few doors down. The pool had bugs in it but what should you expect with a outdoor pool in Florida, by the ocean. Lastly, a couple of buses full of college students arrived a couple of days before we left. They were a little rowdy but any issues were handled quickly by the hotel staff. Also, one of the employees told us that they booked through a third party that didn't inform (lied to) the hotel about the age of the guests. Besides the few hiccups, we enjoyed ourselves and are looking forward to visiting in the future.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kane0116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keith M, Manager at Candlewood Suites Destin-Sandestin, responded to this review, 25 January 2014
Thank you so much for such a wonderful review! It sounds like you enjoyed our One Bedroom King Suite. It is so beautiful and having the separate bedroom is a nice touch. Please accept our apologies for the problem with your Air Conditioner. It's great to hear that it was taken care of so promptly. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

The room was clean and comfortable. However the hot water was temporarily unavailable and we were not informed at check-in. Also, the garbage disposal was not working. If it weren't for these malfunctions, I would have rated this place higher. We were traveling with a dog. There was a nice secluded area to walk her, but the area was a bit wet after rain.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keith M, Manager at Candlewood Suites Destin-Sandestin, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us while you were in the area. We apologize for the hot water issue. Unfortunately our hot water pump went out and it took a few days to get it ordered and get a technician out to our property. We are happy that we did have hot water, it just took a few minutes to warm up. We hope you will come back and see us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pensacola, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

This is the first time I have ever stayed at a Candlewood Suite! We reserved New Years Eve and New Years Day! When we arrived, the front clerk, Ziad, was more than gracious and made us feel like we were royalty. He went above and beyond to outline the hotels amenities and made our check-in process easy. All of the staff working the two nights and three days were very friendly, smiling and made us feel home. The suite was fantastic and the view of the Bay was beautiful. We plan to revisit this hotel in the future! Wonderful facility and fabulous employees!!! The bed was unbelievably comfortable and had the best night's rest ever! We cooked our New Year's dinner in the suite and it was the best way to start our 2014 year off!!!

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the top floor overlooking the Bay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1Search2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keith M, Manager at Candlewood Suites Destin-Sandestin, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
We are so glad that you were able to ring in the New Year with us at Candlewood! We had a wonderful 2013 and look forward to an amazing year ahead of us! It was our pleasure to have you with us. You are right... we have an amazing staff and I will pass along your kind comments to them! We apprecite you taking the time to let everyone know how wonderful your experience was! We look forward to see you again soon in 2014!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013

First of all, the hotel get stars for being pet friendly. We need to spend a week in Destin and we always travel with our dog Loomis. The fee for him was 75 dollars for the entire length of our stay and well worth it. Many hotels want to charge a daily rate. Next plus, is the friendly attitudes of the entire staff. We never passed any of the hotel staff with out them speaking and asking if we needed anything. We love the spacious one bedroom suite and the price was right. We enjoy coming back to our room in the evenings or starting our mornings with our usual foods. The kitchen area in the room allowed us to do this. Although the hotel only offers weekly cleaning, they are quite accommodating with additional towels and other items. the entire hotel and our room was immaculate. And just to top off all the good things at the hotel, the laundry facilities for the guest are free. We will be back to this Candlewood Suites and we look forward to trying others.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mehailey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keith M, Manager at Candlewood Suites Destin-Sandestin, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
It was our pleasure to have you as our guest at Candlewood Suites. We absolutely loved getting to know Loomis as well. We love when our guests are able to bring their pets with them while on business or pleasure. I will pass your kind compliments along to all of our staff and let them know that you appreciate all of their hard work. We have the best staff out there and they love to hear that their hard work is noticed. Please let us know when you will be back in the area. We can't wait to see you again! Have a blessed New Year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indy
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2013

As other reviews say, the facility was very nice. Their financial dealings are deceptive.

December 6, 2013 my wife called. She requested a pet friendly room for 2 adults and our small dog. The reservationist quoted $72. She gave a credit card for a non-refundable $72 payment.

Upon arrival the desk clerk insisted that I sign forms accepting liability for the dog’s behavior; I understand this. He also demanded I sign another form authorizing an additional $30 payment. Which is completely contrary to the contract my wife made with them earlier in the afternoon.

I spoke with a couple of “supervisors.” None would honor the contract. All had numerous bogus reasons rationalizing their refusal to honor the $72 agreement.

Watch your fund$.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank boatman46256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keith M, Manager at Candlewood Suites Destin-Sandestin, responded to this review, 24 December 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know how well you enjoyed our facilities and some of your concerns as well. We appreciate you being one of our valued guests and we take your concerns seriously. We definitely want you to fully understand how our pet fee works. We are a pet friendly hotel and love when our guests are able to bring their pets with them. This is a separate fee from your nightly rate, which did not change from the time that you made your reservation. The $30 fee is our non-refundable pet fee. This is used to deep clean the room after your family and pet check out. We spend extra time making sure that the room is deep cleaned and carpets are shampooed for the next guest. Please call the hotel directly (850)337-3770 if you have any other questions that I have not answered. Again, we appreciate you choosing to stay with us and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Douglasville, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Mr. Charlie Lane, Resident Manager from day one made sure that we had every thing we needed. He and his staff was very courteous and give us good tips on where to go and the best restaurants to eat at. The rooms were clean and the beds are very comfortable. Staff was excellent especially. Overall I would rate this hotel a 5 out of 5! Also any further trips to this area no matter the drive I will be staying at the Candlewood.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jennifer e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keith M, Manager at Candlewood Suites Destin-Sandestin, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Thank you Jennifer for your wonderful review of our property. We also appreciate you letting us know how helpful our staff was while you were here, especially our Resident Manager, Charlie. He is such a vital part of our team and goes above and beyond to make sure all of our guests have exactly what they need to make their stay a great one. Please let us know when you are back in the area. We would love to have you as our guest again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Destin hotels
2.5 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Sandestin at Grand Boulevard
6.7 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Destin
5.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Destin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#20 of 39 in Destin
178 reviews
0.7 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Destin - Miramar Beach
5.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Destin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites Destin-Sandestin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Destin-Sandestin

Property: Candlewood Suites Destin-Sandestin
Address: 11396 US 98 West, Destin, FL 32550-6933
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Destin
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Destin
#7 Family Hotel in Destin
#7 Romantic Hotel in Destin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites Destin-Sandestin 2.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Candlewood Suites Destin Miramar-Beach Sandestin Area is an All-Suite, extended-stay hotel. Ideally located between Destin and Sandestin, the Candlewood Suites Destin features studio and one-bedroom suites inclusive of full kitchens, recliners, couches, flat-panel HDTVs, and a variety of bed types. Hotel amenities also include FREE WIFI, FREE Guest Laundry, Outdoor Swimming Pool, 24-hour Gym, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Candlewood Suites Destin-Sandestin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Destin - Miramar Beach Hotel Destin
Candlewood Destin
Destin Candlewood Suites
Candlewood Suites Destin-Sandestin Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing