We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Destin-Sandestin
Ranked #11 of 39 Hotels in Destin
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
8 reviews
“Enjoyable stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

We really enjoyed staying! The staff was great and helpful it is away from the beach! But nice and quiet after afternoon on beach! The lending locker is awesome. We got the fan for our stay and it really felt like home! If you wanna stay away from hustle and crowd this would be great choice we will definitely stay again!

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sandy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaime C, Manager at Candlewood Suites Destin-Sandestin, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Thank you for such a great review! We are so glad you enjoyed the Lending Locker. It is something new to Candlewood but as you saw, there are so many neat things available for your enjoyment! The board games are great for a rainy afternoon or for a little evening fun with the family and the fun kitchen gadgets make the kitchen feel even more like home. Please let us know if there is something you would like to see in there! We appreciate your wonderful comments and hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

506 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    292
    133
    47
    14
    20
See reviews for
163
162
31
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

Because it's far from the beach that you had to drive, I'm giving it 4 stars and not 5. If you did not get there early enough, there's no parking for the beach. For that reason alone I will not use them again, I want to be able to walk to the beach.

Christina and Alexis are amazing! So courteous, nice and very helpful. Others were nice and pleasant but I did not have much interaction with them. There's not very good customer service around these days but this hotel will show you they are not like the rest. From my first phone call to my last day there I was impressed with everyone I dealt with.

My room smelled like there was a smoke prior to us but since I'm a smoker it did not bother me but it bothered my family. I knew I could not get the same room size so I did not bother to complain. Everything else look nice, new and clean - nothing worn down or dirty. I'm a germ-a-phob but felt comfy here.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gail J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaime C, Manager at Candlewood Suites Destin-Sandestin, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Wow! We love hearing that our guests had a "fantastic" stay! Thank you for mentioning our staff members by name that were so helpful to you! We have shared your comments with them and you have made their day! We have such a great staff that works hard every day to make sure we are the best we can be! We apologize for the smoke smell in your room. We are 100% non-smoking but there are the occasional guests that do not respect that. We want you to be comfortable so please let us know if there is ever a problem again and we will do what we can do to fix the problem. We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

If Destin Beach is your destination this hotel is at one end of town and coming in from the west requires driving through miles of heavy traffic most days in order to reach it. In a town full of very large condo's, this hotel is small and manageable. It is fairly new, clean, and suites have all the amenities you would expect and a good design. Beds & mattresses are very good. Outside pool is very nice with a covered area and plenty of chairs. Hotel staff are very friendly and anxious to help you. There is no breakfast provided but a snack bar with drinks and sandwiches to purchase.
You must drive to the beach and park the car. If you go to the beach early(9 or 10)parking & getting an umbrella and chair will be easier. Rates go up alot on weekends, but rates are still competitive for this town.

Room Tip: We stayed on the first floor and it was quieter than I expected, also very convenient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SharonRN_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaime C, Manager at Candlewood Suites Destin-Sandestin, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
We appreciate you taking the time out of your busy schedule to let us know how great your stay was. It's so nice to hear back from our guests. We strive hard to make sure that your stay with us is a great one. This is definitely a busy time of year for us, but we are located in one of the most beautiful vacation spots there is. As you mentioned, we are located about a mile and a half from the beaches, and the parking along the beach is free. We are so glad you were able to spend some time soaking up the beautiful sun. I will let our staff know how much you appreciate the clean rooms and amenities that we offer here. Thank you for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Smith, Arkansas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

expensive but very nice and clean the hotel staff were friendly and professional and the location was ok.We stayed for 6 nights.The king bed in the bedroom was comfortable. The kitchen had everything we needed to cook with.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jenny0082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaime C, Manager at Candlewood Suites Destin-Sandestin, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
We are so glad we had what you needed to make your vacation an enjoyable one. This time of year is definitely our peak season and rates are a little higher. Please come visit this fall and you will be pleasantly surprised that rates are lower. We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brandon, MS
Level Contributor
44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

Reserved a room here for a midway point to our destination to St George Island, Fl. The check in was very smooth and prompt. We were located on the second floor. The hall from the elevator to the room seemed to have a strong cleaner or chemical cleaner smell but nothing too bad. We felt the room was very clean. We were only there for one night but if staying for longer periods the kitchenette would be perfect. Seemed well stocked. Bathroom was clean. Bed was comfortable. They do not offer breakfast but do provide complimentary coffee. You can buy certain items however in the area where you get coffee.

They do have a pet walking area that was adequate but could use more lighting for when having to take your pet out after hours. Was a bit dark back there when we took the dog out. While being a pet friendly hotel, and we saw several pets, we never really heard any barking or disturbance from others.

During peak day hours it may be challenging to get back out on Hwy 98 as you have to take a right out of the parking lot heading back west. Not a big problem as we have been coming to and through Destin for many years and know of the traffic. We will definitely stay at Candlewood Miramar again soon.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SGIBound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaime C, Manager at Candlewood Suites Destin-Sandestin, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
We appreciate you stopping at Candlewood on your way to St George Island. We hope you had a wonderful time there. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and are glad to hear that you will be back! The full kitchen in the room is so convenient when you are here for a night or for an extended amount of time. We will definitely look at the lighting around the Pet Walking Area. We want you to feel safe and secure while you are outside with your pet. Thank you for letting us know and we will look at some options to improve that. We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Texas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

This is a great hotel, and probably the friendliest people (cleaning staff included) I have ever meet. Our RV broke down and we needed a place to stay quickly, and one that took pets. They made us feel right at home and didn't turn a hair at our passel of people and pets that checked in late! The rooms are clean and neat, very comfortable with a complete kitchenette. I was very impressed. They are not on the beach, but they are in fact close to the beach. If you had to walk you could. For the money I think this place might be the best kept secret in all of Destin! I highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mary20121235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaime C, Manager at Candlewood Suites Destin-Sandestin, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
It was our pleasure to have you and your family stay with us. We are sorry that your RV broke down and you were dealing with that, but we are so glad that you stayed with us. It was so nice to meet your beautiful family and we hope to see you next time you are in Destin. Our staff enjoyed getting to know you and we appreciate you taking the time out of your busy schedule to leave us such a great review. We hope that the rest of your summer is a great one!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Decatur
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

This hotel is not on the beach but close enough and very nice. We just went to the public beach area by Pocono Joe's ate at the restaurant and went back to the hotel. The front desk clerk was very nice and helpful, the room was clean, the bed was comfortable and I loved the little kitchen. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KGPate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaime C, Manager at Candlewood Suites Destin-Sandestin, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
We are so glad you were able to enjoy our beautiful beaches while staying here at Candlewood Suites. I will pass along your great comments to the staff regarding your stay. Thank you for taking the time to let us know how your stay was and we hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Destin hotels
2.5 mi away
Courtyard Sandestin at Grand Boulevard
2.7 mi away
Residence Inn Sandestin at Grand Boulevard
6.7 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Destin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Destin - Miramar Beach
5.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Destin
5.8 mi away
SummerPlace Inn
SummerPlace Inn
#14 of 39 in Destin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites Destin-Sandestin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Destin-Sandestin

Property: Candlewood Suites Destin-Sandestin
Address: 11396 US 98 West, Destin, FL 32550-6933
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Destin
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Destin
#7 Romantic Hotel in Destin
#7 Family Hotel in Destin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites Destin-Sandestin 2.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Candlewood Suites Destin Miramar-Beach Sandestin Area is an All-Suite, extended-stay hotel. Ideally located between Destin and Sandestin, the Candlewood Suites Destin features studio and one-bedroom suites inclusive of full kitchens, recliners, couches, flat-panel HDTVs, and a variety of bed types. Hotel amenities also include FREE WIFI, FREE Guest Laundry, Outdoor Swimming Pool, 24-hour Gym, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Candlewood Suites Destin-Sandestin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Destin - Miramar Beach Hotel Destin
Candlewood Destin
Destin Candlewood Suites
Candlewood Suites Destin-Sandestin Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing