We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a disappointment!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Destin-Sandestin
Ranked #12 of 39 Hotels in Destin
Certificate of Excellence
st.louis mo
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“What a disappointment!”
Reviewed 7 April 2010

I booked this Hotel based on tripadvisor's ratings. While it is very new, it sits right next to the highway, and is more than a mile from the beach. I thought a 4 star rating meant something. I think there is something fishy about all of these ratings! This is a new mediocre lodging. They gym sits in a tiny little room, no breakfast, laundry soap was $1.50 for a little box. The cleaning staff was very nice, but the check in staff was very impersonal. I would not recommend this place. I checked out immediately the next day, and found a great place right on the beach for $10.00 more.

Stayed March 2010, travelled solo
Helpful?
4 Thank litebox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CWSGM, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Destin-Sandestin, responded to this review, 12 April 2010
Thank you very much for your input. The Candlewood Suites has been no lower than a ranking of 4 over the last 2 years. We take pride in our work. We are just a half mile or so to the closest beach access. Most of our guests drive a little bit further to a larger parking lot near Pompano Joes. Candlewood Suites offer free coffee and multiple items to purchase in the cupboard. We offer breakfast sandwiches, bagels, muffins, fruit, yogurt, and several types of juice. Yes, there is a small charge for cupboard items, but our room rates are typically much lower than comparable hotels that provide breakfast. We also offer full kitchens in every one of our suites. Yes, we do charge for our soap, which is enough to do 1-2 loads, but using the washer and dryer are free! I'm sorry that you decided to stay elsewhere. We do appreciate your feedback and hope that you will consider a Candlewood in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    301
    139
    47
    16
    20
See reviews for
167
168
31
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auburn, AL
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 April 2010

My wife and I stayed two nights at Candlewood while we were looking for real estate and we were very pleased. The hotel is conveniently situated between most of the area's shopping and businesses. The en suite kitchen had everything one would need for a short stay and the beds and bathrooms were comfortable and clean. The staff was friendly and eager to share area information. As with any hotel, I would advise booking a top floor if possible because of the the floor noise. The business center is located in the lobby and is easy to use. Overall, a good stay.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WearyTraveler87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CWSGM, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Destin-Sandestin, responded to this review, 7 April 2010
I am so glad the two of you enjoyed your stay. In addition, you taking the time to compliment us means so much. Working at a hotel can be very demanding and times and we always appreciate folks who take a few moments to compliment us. I hope your real estate hunting went well. I have resided in Destin for 15 years and this IS the time to buy. If you don't do it now you will be kick'in yourself 5 years from now. Thanks again and please come back when you close on that real estate purchase! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis
1 review
Reviewed 29 March 2010

Made reservations using Priority Club points (Platinum member). Upgraded for $10.00 per night to get a two bed room. Stayed for seven nights. At check-out the amount due was only $20.00 rather than the $70.00 I expected. Reason was I got a free upgrade for the nights that a room was available of the same type I was renting. In addition, the entire staff was friendly and attentive. Enjoyed the stay immensely. Highly recommend this hotel. Close to the beach and a short drive to many very good restaurants and outlet malls.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brandon53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CWSGM, GENERAL MANAGER at Candlewood Suites Destin-Sandestin, responded to this review, 1 April 2010
So glad you enjoyed your stay! Thank you very much for taking a few moments to compliment the Candlewood Team. We also appreciate you being a Priority Club member! See, the membership does have its benefits! Your Platnium status is earned and you deserve an upgrade. We thank you so much for your IHG loyalty and letting us know how pleased you were.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MS
1 review
Reviewed 21 March 2010

I truly enjoyed staying at the Candlewood Suites. The customer service was great...thanks staff members. This hotel is clean and neat. It is close to the shopping malls, Silver Sands & Destin Commons, including restaurants. I got a great discount rate from my job, so I got a great place to stay at a very reasonable price. I would highly recommend this hotel as a place to stay. They have mini kitchen that consist of a stove, full size refrigerator, a laundry facility onsite, exercise room, business center as well as free internet access, outdoor pool, and gas grills.

I would like to say thanks to the staff that worked the week of March 15, 2010 for providing great customer service. I will definitely return to this hotel for my next stay in Destin, FL.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShunShyne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CWSGM, GM at Candlewood Suites Destin-Sandestin, responded to this review, 23 March 2010
So glad you had a great time and enjoyed the Candlewood Suites. We appreciate your comments and informing others about our wonderful amenities. We hope to see you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Ontario
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2010

Can't say enough good things about this hotel- great freindly customer service, fairly new facility , very well maintained - great outdoor BBQs, great size rooms - nice kitchenette , with all the dishes etc you need. good workout room, free washers & dryers, and all for a great price...

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CHIMO-Ottawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CWSGM, MGR at Candlewood Suites Destin-Sandestin, responded to this review, 27 February 2010
Thank you for your compliments about our property. We are happy to hear that you fully enjoyed your stay with us and hope that we will see you one your next trip to our area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2010

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights in January with our small dog. We had booked online about seven hours before arriving and were hoping that there would be no problems with checking in. We arrived around 2am, and were greeted warmly at a desk by a kind man (can't remember his name) who took the time, even at that hour of the morning, to explain the hotel's features. When we returned from a quick visit to the hotel's in house "convenience store," he was even waiting with local maps with state parks circled and advice on beaches we might be able to bring our dog to. Our room was comfortable, sparkling clean, and looked very new. The flatscreen TV was nice and we were always able to use the free wireless internet without difficulty or interruption. There is a tiny pool and pool area with some deck chairs and gas grills, but it was too cold for us to use them comfortably. The hotel was less than a five minute drive from the beach, but we went about 10 minutes west down 98 to Henderson Beach State Park to walk along the beautiful stretch of beach there.

The hotel was well equipped for a longer stay and had, as mentioned earlier, a tiny in-house convenience store with everything from toothpaste and dish soap to sandwiches and ice-cream. It worked on an honor system and was open 24 hours which was handy for late night snacks. There is also a Publix about 3 miles away. We really enjoyed Sushimoto next door, a family-run restaurant with both classic sushi choices and daily specials. The sushi was tasty and fresh and service was friendly and efficient.

The hotel was also very pet-friendly with a small space behind the hotel for walking pets, complete with bags and a disposal station. If you are not a pet lover, you will also be comfortable as pets are restricted to the ground floor rooms.

Overall, the attractive, clean rooms, helpful staff, and on-site conveniences provided a great value for us and we will definately stay with Candlewood Suites on future visits to Destin.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scubagirlATL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CWSGM, Manager at Candlewood Suites Destin-Sandestin, responded to this review, 29 January 2010
Thank you so much for your compliments about our property. We are glad that Lee was able to get you checked in and provide the great customer service we strive to achieve, even at such an early morning hour. We are happy that the Cupboard came in handy for you during your stay, it is a great convenience for our guests and we are pleased to offer it. We are all about Pets here and making your Fur Babies feel at home while you are staying with us. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East TN
Level Contributor
182 reviews
128 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2009

Hotel is extended stay with few services. Rooms are clean and utilitarian. Staff will help and are friendly.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alvis-f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CWSGM, GM at Candlewood Suites Destin-Sandestin, responded to this review, 30 December 2009
Thank you for letting others know about your stay with us. We are glad that you enjoyed a friendly visit with us and hope to see you again on your next trip to Destin!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Destin hotels
6.7 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Destin
2.5 mi away
Courtyard Sandestin at Grand Boulevard
0.7 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Destin - Miramar Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Destin
0.7 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#20 of 39 in Destin
171 reviews
5.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Destin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites Destin-Sandestin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Destin-Sandestin

Property: Candlewood Suites Destin-Sandestin
Address: 11396 US 98 West, Destin, FL 32550-6933
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Destin
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Destin
#7 Family Hotel in Destin
#7 Romantic Hotel in Destin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites Destin-Sandestin 2.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Candlewood Suites Destin Miramar-Beach Sandestin Area is an All-Suite, extended-stay hotel. Ideally located between Destin and Sandestin, the Candlewood Suites Destin features studio and one-bedroom suites inclusive of full kitchens, recliners, couches, flat-panel HDTVs, and a variety of bed types. Hotel amenities also include FREE WIFI, FREE Guest Laundry, Outdoor Swimming Pool, 24-hour Gym, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Candlewood Suites Destin-Sandestin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Destin - Miramar Beach Hotel Destin
Candlewood Destin
Destin Candlewood Suites
Candlewood Suites Destin-Sandestin Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing