We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Westwinds at Sandestin
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Destin
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Free Internet
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (89)
Filter reviews
89 results
Traveller rating
45
22
10
5
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
45
22
10
5
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspool areamile westbeach chairsshuttle busliving roomfamily beach vacationpros and consgreat condoawesome vacationbaytowne wharfhilton hoteleasy access to the beachlong weekenddestin areamarcellasandestinunit
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
41 - 46 of 89 reviews
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We are visiting for 1 week, paid just under $3,000 for 1bd (not on the water). The condo came stocked with 2 rolls of toilet paper and very basic items for a condo vs. a hotel. Called to ask for a fresh supply of toilet paper and the manager told me where the grocery store was. Very rude on the phone. The facility is condos owned by individuals and in a rental pool. People have food all over the floor and haven't seen any people servicing the property, cleaning up, etc. Way over priced for what you get and no focus on customer needs.

Room Tip: look somewhere else
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We have stayed in Sandestin many times. We have stayed in many different condos on the beachside. Sometimes the rooms are very nice with great furnishings and sometimes they are just very average. This time was just fair. The resort itself is awesome. There is something to do all the time. The village is great, golf is fantastic, tennis is awesome, the beach is always beautiful. Sandestin is pretty expensive, so it would be nice if the accommodations were more consistent.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kyttrt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We stayed at the Westwinds this spring. It was our first time visiting Sandestin and we were thoroughly impressed. Our unit was spotless, with a full kitchen stocked for cooking and a balcony with a beautiful view that overlooking the ocean in both the family room and bedroom. Although we chose a one bedroom unit, there was a pullout couch in the living room so the suite could accommodate several people. The beach is a very short walk, literally right out of the door and we greatly enjoyed the heated pool and hot tub! The bed was super comfortable and the room service was wonderful. We loved our stay and would definitely recommend staying at the Westwinds.

As for things to do, we spent a day on the Raven golf course, which my husband said was one of the nicest courses he has ever played. We also really enjoyed the short bike or tram ride to the pedestrian village in Sandestin called Baytowne. It was full of little shops, great food (I recommend Graffiti) and good drinks (Rum Runners and Cafe Soleil topped our list.) We also loved how much there was to do with kids, from the carousel to arcade style games and a zipline for the adventurous! We enjoyed walking around Joelee Island as well as an excellent dinner with live music at the Marina Bar and Grille overlooking the bay at sunset. We also enjoyed a game of miniature golf!

The staff was friendly and the resort was fairly quiet but the weather was wonderful so a late spring vacation is definitely worthwhile! We snuck off for a romantic weekend this time but will definitely go back for a family vacation with the kiddo.

* As a travel blogger my room was provided by USFG, however all opinions are my own & we paid for all of our own meals, etc.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kayla A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

We had a wonderful time at Westwinds this spring. The weather was fantastic, a couple of cool, rainy, days but abundant sunshine for most of our stay. The condo building was fantastic, the pool was heated and the building also had a hot tub. The unit is very well done with all the basic necessities for a wonderful vacation. Marcella was great and very patient answering our questions about the condo and area and helped us find restaurants as well as a place for a minor medical emergency.
I would definitely recommend Westwinds for a relaxing vacation. The beach is right out the door, the golf course is just around the corner and the wife went to the outlet mall right down the street what more could you want?

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Robert J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We spent 10 days last summer on vacations and really enjoyed our stay. I booked through Wyndham Worldwide and had great service. The unit we got was exactly what we were expecting. We stayed at unit 4819 with a nice ocean view. It was clean and well furnished for young children. The bed in master room needs to be change soon though. The beach is great and the grounds really nice. The pool is clean with easy access to the beach. The resort was not busy when we were there which is good because there's not a lot of chairs around the pool. The village is a nice place to go at night.We ate at one restaurant in the village which was OK and a little overpriced in my opinion. The town of Destin is nice and quiet. I liked the fact that there's not too much tourists. I'll definitly go back to Sandestin one day and rent a unit at the Westwinds again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clelia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews