We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“enjoyed Sandestin's BeachtowersII and surrounding resort”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Destin
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Beachside Towers at Sandestin
Ranked #28 of 39 Hotels in Destin
Reviewed 24 August 2007

Overall experience was great! Room was clean but curtain in master bed was down(broken). When we called for extra towels they came timely, when we called for blankets, they never came and we had to call again, then they were very prompt. Really enjoyed the complimentary bikes and 'mini golf'. Loved that our room overlooked the beach with the ocean only a few feet away. Having hotel's service providing umbrella/chairs was very much appreciated, but a bit expensive. The time of year we went seemed better than prior week, busy-wise. Enjoyed Baytowne Wharf's shops and restaurants, but $$ at restaurants really adds up! Staff was courteous.

Stayed: August 2007
1  Thank 1sttimeNYCvisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (93)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

84 - 90 of 93 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2007

We stayed at Beachside II at Sandestin Beach & Golf Resort in July of 2007. We are a family of four (2 adults & 2 children). We thought the place was fabulous. We rented privately through Gibson Beach Rentals. They are a private agency with many rentals in Sandestin. Visit their website at gibsonbeachrentals.com. It would have cost us about $600 more if we had booked directly through Sandestin Resort.

Now, this was our first trip to Sandestin and trying to figure out the resort and it's setup was confusing at first. For those of you who aren't familiar with Sandestin, here's the scoop. The resort of "Sandestin" is actually an area of over 2,400 acres. It's basically a huge residential feeling area with different sections. Some are condo's, some are villas, some are houses, and then there's the main Sandestin Resort. The main road into Destin divides the area so if you're staying in Beachside II you would drive out of the residential area, cross the main drag, and cross over into another residential area. It's way too far to walk. Be very careful about finding out if your place is on the beach, on the golf course, on the bay, or just a place to stay. There are only a few locations in Sandestin actually on the beach. You have beach access from all of them, however, from many of the places it's at least half a mile if not more to the beach. Beachside I, Beachside II, and Westwinds are directly on the beach. No matter where you stay within Sandestin, you'll have access to pools, the beach, bike trails, the golf course, shopping, etc.

Ok, now for the specifics of Beachside II. The majority of the condos are individually owned so it's hard to say what the interior will look like. Our unit was very nicely appointed and had just been renovated. Check the pictures or ask about your unit. Some are a little outdated. It's so nice to stay in one of the units with a family because there's a kitchen and a washer & dryer. It's like being at home! We were very comfortable there.

The grounds were very clean, the beach was absolutely beautiful (the whitest and softest sand ever with a calm blue ocean), the elevators were quick, the pool was heated and clean, and everyone, including other guests, were super friendly.

We went over to Baytown Wharf for an evening and it was great. Neat shopping, activities for the kids on Tuesday nights, and good restaurants there.

The resort is convenient to many many restaurants, the outlet mall, and grocery stores. There's a Publix less than a mile.

We love it and would go back in a heartbeat. It's a very relaxing atmosphere. Nothing loud and not much partying going on. Just a good place to relax, enjoy the beach, and let the kids play. Watch the sky.....we saw five shooting stars while we were there!

Enjoy!

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
8  Thank Huneyb8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2007

My family and I are very disappointed with the beachside 2 condo we rented. The fire alarm was sitting on a table with no batteries in it, the shower drain didn't work properly, the bed wasn't comfortable, the screen door didn't work. and the hotel dumpsters were located right in front of our front door. After two days of trying to reach the manager, my husband had to drive over to the office and insist on seeing him. The beach was great, but very crowded.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank motherof4Geneva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2007

We just got back from a week stay at Beachside I in Sandestin - we stayed in a ground floor 2BR unit - 4017 and rented it through Gibson Beach Rentals. It was great to be on the ground floor because I didn't have to worry about my 3 year old jumping off the balcony! It was very roomy and cute - also very nicely furnished with a remodled kitchen and tile floors. It has plenty of bath towels and bed linens. The condo came furnished with its own bikes and beach chairs, so we did not have to pay extra for bike or beach umbrella rental. They even had boogie boards and beach pails and shovels for the little ones. The unit has a nice patio with patio furniture, AND a full size picnic table just steps from the patio. The condo unit is a very short walk to beach and pool. The Beachside II pool is nicer, but the Beachside I pool is heated and never real busy. You can take the tram to the Village at Baytowne where there is a big playground for kids, plus restaurants and shops. In addition to the tram, the Sandestin web site advertises a ferry that can be used to transport you to the Village. But the ferry was always closed, despite perfect weather. Go to the Gibson Beach Rentals web site where you can view pictures of the units. It was self checkin - very very easy to deal with. Finz pool is also close - just next to Beachside II. While the Beachside Towers Pool was heated, the Finz pool was not - so the kids liked the pool closest to our condo.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
5  Thank ABartleLawrence_KS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2007

We stayed at Beachside 2 at Sandestin last June and loved, nice location directly on the beach. Nice pool, nice restaurant, private beach, private gated community. We rented from vrbo.com and had great
success. I would definity recommend this condo, we will be going back
in May of 2007.

  • Stayed: June 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank loughary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2006

We recently returned from our 3rd trip to Sandestin. We love the Florida panhandle and vacation there each summer (for the past 15 years). Sandestin is one of the nicest, if not THE nicest, on the panhandle. We usually make our reservations at least 4 months in advance but this year decided to go on the spur of the moment and booked through an agency. Though our unit was nice (Beachside One), we have much better luck booking directly with owners on VRBO.com. Our owner units were much nicer with extras such as premium bedding & linens, beachside service included, assigned parking, etc.

Sandestin's beaches are WONDERFUL! The sand is white and soft. The beaches are cleaned daily so no empty bottles or bits of shells, just soft, powdery sand! Sandestin is pricier than most on the panhandle, but well worth it. There is something for everyone with the beach, Village, Silver Sands, etc. We will be back, but will book directly with an owner next time.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank PanhandlerTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Bettendorf, Iowa
116
Reviewed 25 February 2004

This is our fourth stay at Beachside over 12 years. Beachside has withstood at least one destructive hurricane, but the 1B on the 15th floor was lovely thanks to the owners and Sandestin. We arrived late the first night. We opened the windows and slept peacefully to the sound of the surf on the beach. We awoke to sun, cries of the sea gulls and the surf. Our windows and patio face south/southeast and the sun was welcomed after a long winter in Iowa. The beach is like powder sugar and very clean. Every morning we walked barefoot up and down the beach for miles. The kitchen was fully equipped and we cooked in most of the time - seafood of course. The new Villages was a nice entertainment district to visit and the free Tram is available to get around the large resort. We'll return.

16  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Destin hotels
7.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Destin
0.5 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Sandestin at Grand Boulevard
0.0 mi away
Beachwalk Villas at Sandestin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
The Henderson - A Salamander Beach & Spa Resort
1.7 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Destin - Miramar Beach
7.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Destin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beachside Towers at Sandestin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachside Towers at Sandestin

Address: 9300 Emerald Coast Pkwy W, Destin, FL 32541
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Destin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Destin
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Destin
Price Range: £108 - £397 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Beachside Towers at Sandestin 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Also Known As:
Beachside Towers At Sandestin Hotel Destin
Beachside Hotel Destin
Beachside Hotel At Sandestin
Beachside Towers At Sandestin Destin, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing