We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love SanDestin Resort but watch the billing”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Destin
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Beachside Towers at Sandestin
Ranked #26 of 38 Hotels in Destin
Reviewed 28 August 2007

I've stayed at SanDestin Resort numerous times and am just now getting around to writing a review, but each year, some friends and I head down there for Memorial Day weekend (which I'm assuming is their busiest weekend of the year). I've stayed in Beachside II on at least 3 different occasions in different condos - - all of which were great, albeit one was in a little worse condition than the rest.

Please note: My positives and negatives below will pertain to my 3 rentals in the 2 BR, 2 BA units in Beachside II. My friends were in Beachside I this past year and did not have as nice of a condo. It was less convenient and had no view (they were only on the 3rd floor.) I've also stayed in one of the Beachwalk Villas, which are fabulous in terms of space, but don't expect to actually be able to walk to the beach if you plan on carrying chairs, coolers, umbrellas, etc. and you're not convenient to a pool. And, finally, I've had friends stay in a condo over at the Village - - great for the nighttime - - but obviously not that convenient for the beach, although they do run a shuttle. Ideally, when a group of us go down there, we have at least one group staying at the Village and at least one at Beachside II to get the best of both worlds.

Now - back to Beachside II:
The Positives:
- Great gulf front location with tremendous views from the Master BR and balcony.
- Large Master BR and bath with a separate door leading to the toilet and shower dividing them from the sink (nice if you're staying with a group of friends)
- Full kitchen with everything you could possibly need. (However, only one of our units had a blender - - we like to make daquiris.)
- Free shuttle to the Village where all of the restaurants and bars are
-2 pools right out back - - one quiet one for the families and one for the party crowd with bands playing and a bar, etc. There's also a snack bar out there serving burgers, etc. which comes in handy.
-Fantastic/Beautiful white sand beach (hard to walk on, though unless you're right at the water's edge)
-twin beds in the 2nd bedroom

Negatives (or unknowns):
-Watch the billing by SanDestin. 2 years in a row, I've had to question some form of the billing. One year, someone (not in my group) had charged drinks to my room and the next year, SanDestin charged for a rollaway despite being told that they would not charge. We had the rollaway brought in when there was no pull out sofa in the unit (despite being told that the unit would sleep 6). It took a bit a doing, but both bills were corrected. Also - - the billing, in general, seems to be a bit disorganized. With the deposit paid well in advance, then with additional deposits (for armbands) being due at time of check-in, and final billing being completed after you get home, you really need to watch what they're throwing on there. My friends in another condo also had issues - - they were charged extra fees that had not previously been disclosed.
-SanDestin is great and I continue to go back for the facilities and the fact that it's "the place to be" on Memorial Day weekend for 30-somethings. But, it IS expensive. And, they penny pinch - - rocketing up the prices at the restaurants for the holiday weekend not to mention the extraorbinant cover to get into the Village Door nightclub and charging extra fees for resort activities regardless of whether you participate in those activities or not. For example, they charged an activities fee this past Memorial Day to pay for things like the fireworks they had planned to have. Only problem - - the dry conditions (and risk of wildfires) forced them to cancel the show - - they did not, however, refund the activities fee.
-Each condo is different as they each have a different owner. Usually, the furniture and fixtures are just fine regardless - and don't worry - the basics will be there. However, a few units' owners have clearly chosen the very cheap route when selecting furniture. And, the last condo didn't have a DVD or stereo, whereas all of the others have.
- And my last negative isn't really the fault of the resort, but given the very few cabs available in Destin on a holiday weekend, the location of the resort is only good if you plan to stay at the resort in the evenings. If you plan to be drinking - - it's too far to head into Destin proper without appointing a designated driver.


Overall, I'm sure that I will stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sunnyskiesabove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (93)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

83 - 89 of 93 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2007

Overall experience was great! Room was clean but curtain in master bed was down(broken). When we called for extra towels they came timely, when we called for blankets, they never came and we had to call again, then they were very prompt. Really enjoyed the complimentary bikes and 'mini golf'. Loved that our room overlooked the beach with the ocean only a few feet away. Having hotel's service providing umbrella/chairs was very much appreciated, but a bit expensive. The time of year we went seemed better than prior week, busy-wise. Enjoyed Baytowne Wharf's shops and restaurants, but $$ at restaurants really adds up! Staff was courteous.

Stayed: August 2007
1  Thank 1sttimeNYCvisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2007

We stayed at Beachside II at Sandestin Beach & Golf Resort in July of 2007. We are a family of four (2 adults & 2 children). We thought the place was fabulous. We rented privately through Gibson Beach Rentals. They are a private agency with many rentals in Sandestin. Visit their website at gibsonbeachrentals.com. It would have cost us about $600 more if we had booked directly through Sandestin Resort.

Now, this was our first trip to Sandestin and trying to figure out the resort and it's setup was confusing at first. For those of you who aren't familiar with Sandestin, here's the scoop. The resort of "Sandestin" is actually an area of over 2,400 acres. It's basically a huge residential feeling area with different sections. Some are condo's, some are villas, some are houses, and then there's the main Sandestin Resort. The main road into Destin divides the area so if you're staying in Beachside II you would drive out of the residential area, cross the main drag, and cross over into another residential area. It's way too far to walk. Be very careful about finding out if your place is on the beach, on the golf course, on the bay, or just a place to stay. There are only a few locations in Sandestin actually on the beach. You have beach access from all of them, however, from many of the places it's at least half a mile if not more to the beach. Beachside I, Beachside II, and Westwinds are directly on the beach. No matter where you stay within Sandestin, you'll have access to pools, the beach, bike trails, the golf course, shopping, etc.

Ok, now for the specifics of Beachside II. The majority of the condos are individually owned so it's hard to say what the interior will look like. Our unit was very nicely appointed and had just been renovated. Check the pictures or ask about your unit. Some are a little outdated. It's so nice to stay in one of the units with a family because there's a kitchen and a washer & dryer. It's like being at home! We were very comfortable there.

The grounds were very clean, the beach was absolutely beautiful (the whitest and softest sand ever with a calm blue ocean), the elevators were quick, the pool was heated and clean, and everyone, including other guests, were super friendly.

We went over to Baytown Wharf for an evening and it was great. Neat shopping, activities for the kids on Tuesday nights, and good restaurants there.

The resort is convenient to many many restaurants, the outlet mall, and grocery stores. There's a Publix less than a mile.

We love it and would go back in a heartbeat. It's a very relaxing atmosphere. Nothing loud and not much partying going on. Just a good place to relax, enjoy the beach, and let the kids play. Watch the sky.....we saw five shooting stars while we were there!

Enjoy!

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
8  Thank Huneyb8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2007

My family and I are very disappointed with the beachside 2 condo we rented. The fire alarm was sitting on a table with no batteries in it, the shower drain didn't work properly, the bed wasn't comfortable, the screen door didn't work. and the hotel dumpsters were located right in front of our front door. After two days of trying to reach the manager, my husband had to drive over to the office and insist on seeing him. The beach was great, but very crowded.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank motherof4Geneva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2007

We just got back from a week stay at Beachside I in Sandestin - we stayed in a ground floor 2BR unit - 4017 and rented it through Gibson Beach Rentals. It was great to be on the ground floor because I didn't have to worry about my 3 year old jumping off the balcony! It was very roomy and cute - also very nicely furnished with a remodled kitchen and tile floors. It has plenty of bath towels and bed linens. The condo came furnished with its own bikes and beach chairs, so we did not have to pay extra for bike or beach umbrella rental. They even had boogie boards and beach pails and shovels for the little ones. The unit has a nice patio with patio furniture, AND a full size picnic table just steps from the patio. The condo unit is a very short walk to beach and pool. The Beachside II pool is nicer, but the Beachside I pool is heated and never real busy. You can take the tram to the Village at Baytowne where there is a big playground for kids, plus restaurants and shops. In addition to the tram, the Sandestin web site advertises a ferry that can be used to transport you to the Village. But the ferry was always closed, despite perfect weather. Go to the Gibson Beach Rentals web site where you can view pictures of the units. It was self checkin - very very easy to deal with. Finz pool is also close - just next to Beachside II. While the Beachside Towers Pool was heated, the Finz pool was not - so the kids liked the pool closest to our condo.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
5  Thank ABartleLawrence_KS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2007

We stayed at Beachside 2 at Sandestin last June and loved, nice location directly on the beach. Nice pool, nice restaurant, private beach, private gated community. We rented from vrbo.com and had great
success. I would definity recommend this condo, we will be going back
in May of 2007.

  • Stayed: June 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank loughary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2006

We recently returned from our 3rd trip to Sandestin. We love the Florida panhandle and vacation there each summer (for the past 15 years). Sandestin is one of the nicest, if not THE nicest, on the panhandle. We usually make our reservations at least 4 months in advance but this year decided to go on the spur of the moment and booked through an agency. Though our unit was nice (Beachside One), we have much better luck booking directly with owners on VRBO.com. Our owner units were much nicer with extras such as premium bedding & linens, beachside service included, assigned parking, etc.

Sandestin's beaches are WONDERFUL! The sand is white and soft. The beaches are cleaned daily so no empty bottles or bits of shells, just soft, powdery sand! Sandestin is pricier than most on the panhandle, but well worth it. There is something for everyone with the beach, Village, Silver Sands, etc. We will be back, but will book directly with an owner next time.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank PanhandlerTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Destin hotels
2.2 mi away
Wyndham Vacation Resorts Majestic Sun
1.7 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Destin - Miramar Beach
6.1 mi away
The Henderson - A Salamander Beach & Spa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Beachwalk Villas at Sandestin
9.5 mi away
Destin Inn & Suites
Destin Inn & Suites
#27 of 38 in Destin
137 reviews
0.5 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Sandestin at Grand Boulevard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beachside Towers at Sandestin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachside Towers at Sandestin

Address: 9300 Emerald Coast Pkwy W, Destin, FL 32541
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Destin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Destin
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Destin
Price Range: £143 - £385 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Beachside Towers at Sandestin 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Also Known As:
Beachside Towers At Sandestin Hotel Destin
Beachside Hotel Destin
Beachside Hotel At Sandestin
Beachside Towers At Sandestin Destin, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing