We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sufficed for a place to sleep while not at the Beach”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Sugar Sands Inn & Suites
Ranked #15 of 39 Hotels in Destin
Russellville, Arkansas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Sufficed for a place to sleep while not at the Beach”
Reviewed 18 September 2012

We were looking for a hotel to stay at for a first trip to Destin. The Country Inn and Suites had decent pricing and decent reviews. The hotel is not located on the beach nor has a beach view. However, everywhere hotel in Destin is within a short driving distance to the public beaches.

We stayed on the second level. The room was clean and the mattresses firm. The bathroom door did not lock. But the mini fridge was great for keeping our beverages cool.


The wi-fi never did work while we stayed there. However, there was a public access computer that you could use in the lobby. The most frustrating part of our experience was waiting almost every morning for the lady who was suppose to be running the breakfast center to get off her facebook. I think having an employee using the public access computer to surf facebook while making guests wait and not doing their own job is very unprofessional.

Overall, I was satisfied with the hotel. I expected it to be average. Our next trip we plan to spend a little more and stay at a beach front hotel.

Room Tip: We stayed on the second of three levels. It was alright. Maybe the third floor may be better, but pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RiverValleyArkansas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    88
    45
    16
    20
See reviews for
126
72
8
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2012

My family recent took a short trip over to Destin for a last bit of summer fun.

This hotel was conveniently located near the Destin Commons with plenty of other shopping & restaurants right near by.

The hotel was clean and the rooms were roomy & comfortable.

I was a little disappointed with the breakfast, but, it was free, so who can complain.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BaysideFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2012

First of all, I reserved 2 rooms with 2 beds on-line and when we went to check in they did not have my reservation. Thankfully, they did have king suites available and although we needed rooms with 2 beds, it all worked out just fine. This is a clean hotel. The entire place needs a makeover but I'd rather stay somewhere clean and outdated that updated and dirty. The prices were reasonable compared to others in the area which is why we chose this hotel.

The breakfast was good.

** As a side note, I left a nightlight in the bathroom of my room. When I realized this, I called and the desk clerk went to look to see if she could find it and called me back. She did indeed find it but when we stopped to pick it up, it was nowhere to be found. Hmmm! It was not an expensive nightlight but I found it interesting how quickly it was lost all over again.

Room Tip: The rooms in the rear of the building overlook a golf course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beachloverinme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bowie, Maryland
1 review
Reviewed 23 August 2012

The hotel is showing its age. We ususally stay at the Marriott but we got a good price in fact free. We joined the points reward program and earned enough points for a free stay.

The upgraded us to a king size suite so "Whats not to Like". O.K.

I like the convenience of the restaurants right across the street, T.G.I.F. but the Wine store was the "Best". Very classy.

Room Tip: Ask for the upgrade to a suite. If the hotel is not full they are very accomodating.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plano, Texas
Level Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2012 via mobile

The hotel is showing its age. We were expecting a bright lobby and a better room, however both were sorely lacking. Not what we expected from a Country Inn. Booking a room was easy and quick over the phone. Cnfirmation email within minutes. Checking in was less than 5 minutes. The price was reasonable and fit within out budget. The free breakfast was okay, nothing fancy but just enough to start your day. Counter staff were extremely helpful in giving us directions in finding the beaches and places to eat. The hotel itself is located in an ideal location, not too far from the beach and from restaurants or shopping which was a plus for us. We do hope they renovate this place and spruce it up.

Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank DavaoDuo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stone Mountain, Georgia
Level Contributor
111 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2012

Hotel is fine. Ok. Like others have said, hotel is getting a little older and age is showing. Light fixtures missing covers/domes. Cracks in walls, peelling paint, slight odor, etc. First room we went too... the sheets had not been changed.. Hair and crums in the sheets.. Gross.. Umph?? what else had not been cleaned properly?? Staff was very nice and moved us to better room..
Breakfast was pretty good.. no complaints.. Price was a little high for quality even in peak season.
$155/nite July.. But still less than some other hotels. I'd say worth about $125/nite high season and perhaps $80/nite low season.. Thats just my opinion. Not too bad. Gym is a joke.

Room Tip: use walk in rate coupons
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tedman007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 27 July 2012

Checked in 7/20-7/23, first night they had us in a room that smelled like wet rags. So exhausted for our road trip we didn't mind. Woke up in the morning and asked to be moved rooms which they did. Continental breakfast was not that great. Ive stayed at a Country Inn before for other family vacations and this hotels breakfast was not appetizing but my kids were hungry and ate whatever was there (Eggs, sausage links, cereal, muffins, waffles). Location is 5 blocks from the nearest public beach entrance and that public beach is small, you will have to drive a distance to get a good spot. Had to drive a minimum of 2 miles everywhere for a decent meal. I wouldn't recommend this hotel based on location only or food. I stayed only because we decided destin at the last moment & hotels were completely booked. The only reason I give this hotel 3 stars is that they did not charge us for the first night stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tataluvs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Destin hotels
2.6 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Destin
0.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Destin
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Destin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Destin - Miramar Beach
1.8 mi away
SummerPlace Inn
SummerPlace Inn
#13 of 39 in Destin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
6.6 mi away
Courtyard Sandestin at Grand Boulevard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Sugar Sands Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Sugar Sands Inn & Suites

Property: Best Western Sugar Sands Inn & Suites
Address: 4415 Commons Dr E, Destin, FL 32541-3457 (Formerly Country Inn & Suites Destin)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Destin
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Destin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Sugar Sands Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly remodeled BEST WESTERN Sugar Sands Inn & Suites is centrally located in beautiful Destin, Florida. The city styles itself "The World's Luckiest Fishing Village," and has one of the largest fishing vessel fleets in the state of Florida. The convenience of our location offers each guest easy access to local attractions and many outdoor activities. The BEST WESTERN Sugar Sands Inn & Suites provides rooms with all of the amenities and superb customer service expected from Best Western. Our Destin, FL hotel is just a 5 minute drive to the sugar sand beaches and emerald waters of the Emerald Coast. Hotel guests will be close to a variety of restaurants - TGI Friday's, Longhorn Steakhouse(R), Bonefish Grill(R), and many more, all within walking distance of the property. Each guest room features free high-speed Internet access and cable television with HBO(R). A microwave and refrigerator are available in all rooms. The hotel offers a complimentary full hot breakfast, and features a heated outdoor pool and spa, exercise room, arcade, and an onsite laundry facility. The BEST WESTERN Sugar Sands Inn & Suites is located adjacent to the Shoppes of Paradise Key, just .5 miles from Destin Commons, 5 miles from the Silver Sands Outlet Mall and the Destin Harbor. Enjoy your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Sugar Sands Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites Destin
Country Inn & Suites Destin Hotel Destin
Country Inn Destin
Destin Country Inn
Best Western Sugar Sands Inn & Suites Destin, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing