We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best stay I've had in a long time.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Sugar Sands Inn & Suites
Ranked #11 of 37 Hotels in Destin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 January 2014

This hotel is cozy and very clean. The room was virtually spotless and the staff was always extremely friendly, ready to help you, and pleasant! Breakfast was delicious and the price was surprisingly affordable. I will always stay here when doing business in Destin from now on. Hats off!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brainymodel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (363)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

295 - 301 of 363 reviews

Reviewed 10 October 2013

We had a non smoking two queen room. The room was clean, but was a bit smaller than other Country Inns we have been in. It seemed a bit more dated as far as the furnishings went. The service was very good. The breakfast was not good our first morning, but improved somewhat the next morning. The location is convenient. Overall, it was a good stay, but not quite up to the standards of others we have visited elsewhere. The fact that it is in a seasonal resort beach area may have contributed to this.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobPC2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

We stayed here ONE painful night, and had I not used points and prepaid I would of gone somewhere else. We were close to room 326 and whoever stayed in that room that said it was wonderful in an earlier review, they must not be able to smell----AT ALL!!! The mold and mildew stench slaps you upside the head when you walk in. My two year old who is asthmatic (but has not had a problem in months)started having trouble wheezing the next morning and we were doing breathing treatments--so we left as soon as we could --to get her away from that. The room is so old.... Wall paper border around top, green carpet that is so worn, turned my toddlers feet black after 5 minutes, I made her wear shoes all the way up until bed. The furniture, oh the furniture! Grandpas chair, sinking sofa, little table and rickety chairs. We also used the stairs and were greeted by a welcoming cockroach family! Greatness huh? Oh we'll, it makes funny family memories and stories.
We have stayed at MANY other country inn and suites, and none of them have been terrible--ever. Which is why I hate writing this review---but there are so many other nice places around.
I honestly should of known something was up upon check in when the staff was not friendly and I could see how unkept the front office was.
Just go somewhere else.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ELAmommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CISDESTIN, Front Office Manager at Best Western Sugar Sands Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2013

Thank you for reaching out and writing your review. We are sorry you were not satisfied with the accommodations of your room. We will review the condition of your room to ensure it is up to Country Inns and Suites by Carlson standards. We will take what ever actions are necessary to remedy any isses we may discover. Again, We apologize for your stay being unsatisfactory

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We experienced the same horrible musty/mildew smell in our first floor room that previous reviewers have written about. The smell is so pervasive it hits you in the face as soon as you open the door. We hoped that turning our air conditioner on would help, but it did not! We stayed here for one night after staying a week in a beach house right on the beach and have also stayed in beach hotels in Mexico, the Dominican, Aruba and New England. We have never encountered a room this bad. Not only was the smell horrible, the room was shabby. There was a hole in the wall from a chair, the carpet was worn and tattered going into the bathroom, there was no counter space at all in the bathroom (room # 108). We did not feel that the front desk people were at all friendly or accommodating. We paid over $200 for our 12 hour stay at this hotel and based on the fact that a hotel guest would be given a room with these issues, we will never consider a Country Inn & Suites in the future.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CISDESTIN, Manager at Best Western Sugar Sands Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2013

On behalf of our entire staff at Country Inns & Suites we apologize for the concerns you shared about your experience at this hotel. I have addressed these issues with our team, and I assure you we are working diligently to ensure a similar situation does not occur again in the future.

We appreciate the feedback and will use it to fine tune our operations in the hope that upon your next visit we can exceed your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

I hated this hotel, I did read the reviews and most were good, cant imagine why. Guess they are not picky , or something. First off I will say that the "ladies" at the front desk were very nice, Breakfast was good enough, the pool was a good size (unlike some pools that are tiny, this was just right), now for the bad. We arrived and was put in a room on 1st floor, got to it and there was some type of humidifier sitting in the middle of the floor, I went to the front desk and told the lady, she moved us to another room, we went to it , opened the door and it smelled horrible, a very strong musty damp smell, so I went back to the front desk again, she said something about recent flooding?? I have no idea what that is about...because I did see a review that was back in 2012 where someone mentioned a musty smell...anyways, .so she moved us again, this was our 3rd room, we got to that room and put all our stuff in it and got ready real quick for the beach, we left and when we came back we could hear a man talking very loudly, sounded like he was in the room with us, well that room had a door connected to another room (adjoining rooms) so that is why we could hear everything, so I go back to the front desk again and they move us to a room at the end of the hall on the 2nd floor, so we went to it, okay so ALL rooms have a musty smell, the last room did as well, it was not near as strong as the 2nd room but you could still smell it, I am very sensitive to smell , you can smell this same smell when you walk in the front door to the hotel. I think they whole hotel smells like this, I did not go on 3rd floor so I have no idea about it. We stayed in a suite, they are very small, it would be okay for just a few people, we were 4 people and it was just to cramped for us.And like someone else said, it doesnt feel clean , the room feels dirty and yukky , and furniture is old, dirty carpet, dim lighting, etc.. I say the entire hotel needs to be ripped apart and redone entirely.
I dont use a gym but if you do, you might as well say there is no gym here, what they have is only 3 things that are old and worn out and the room is very tiny. The beach is a few blocks away, you have to drive there. There are restaurants close, we ate at a pizza place and TGIF, but there are other places not to far, a publix as well. I read the reviews and based my opinion on those reviews, makes me wonder why there were so many good reviews, its just not true, take my word.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vicki02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CISDESTIN, Manager at Best Western Sugar Sands Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2013

We apologize you were not satisfied with the condition of the hotel during your stay. We appreciate you taking the time share your experience. Your comments are valued, and your suggestions will be used to consider improvements in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

We stayed in this hotel with our two kids five and two years old. The room was clean but could use a little sprucing up. Shower also needs a little more power. The staff was super helpful and friendly. Located minutes from all the best places! Breakfast was super! We will definitely stay here again. Had a sofa bed but it was not comfortable to sleep on.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AtariusH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2013

I booked this hotel online at the last minute on our way to Destin. We only stayed for one night, thank goodness. When booking, I put in that a search for 6 people and the two bed room came up. It didn't really have much of a description but I thought since I put in 6 people, it would have a sofa bed. Nope. We were stuck requesting a roll away bed and having our 6 year old sleep with us. The room was also musty smelling and the carpet felt damp. Other than that, the property was clean and staff was courteous.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jennydc76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Destin hotels
1.5 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Destin
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Destin
4.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Destin - Miramar Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
SummerPlace Inn Destin FL Hotel
2.6 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Destin
6.8 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Sandestin at Grand Boulevard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Sugar Sands Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Sugar Sands Inn & Suites

Address: 4415 Commons Dr E, Destin, FL 32541-3457 (Formerly Country Inn & Suites Destin)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Destin
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Destin
Price Range: £52 - £152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Sugar Sands Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly remodeled BEST WESTERN Sugar Sands Inn & Suites is centrally located in beautiful Destin, Florida. The city styles itself "The World's Luckiest Fishing Village," and has one of the largest fishing vessel fleets in the state of Florida. The convenience of our location offers each guest easy access to local attractions and many outdoor activities. The BEST WESTERN Sugar Sands Inn & Suites provides rooms with all of the amenities and superb customer service expected from Best Western. Our Destin, FL hotel is just a 5 minute drive to the sugar sand beaches and emerald waters of the Emerald Coast. Hotel guests will be close to a variety of restaurants - TGI Friday's, Longhorn Steakhouse(R), Bonefish Grill(R), and many more, all within walking distance of the property. Each guest room features free high-speed Internet access and cable television with HBO(R). A microwave and refrigerator are available in all rooms. The hotel offers a complimentary full hot breakfast, and features a heated outdoor pool and spa, exercise room, arcade, and an onsite laundry facility. The BEST WESTERN Sugar Sands Inn & Suites is located adjacent to the Shoppes of Paradise Key, just .5 miles from Destin Commons, 5 miles from the Silver Sands Outlet Mall and the Destin Harbor. Enjoy your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Agoda, getaroom.com, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Sugar Sands Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites Destin
Country Inn & Suites Destin Hotel Destin
Country Inn Destin
Destin Country Inn
Best Western Sugar Sands Inn & Suites Destin, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing