We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best Western Sugar Sands Inn & Suites
Nearby Hotels
SummerPlace Inn Destin FL Hotel(Destin)(Great Value!)
US$111
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$188
EmbassySuites.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wingate by Wyndham Destin(Destin)(Great Value!)
US$212
US$134
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$289
US$235
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$83
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Destin(Destin)(Great Value!)
US$122
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$212
US$188
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Candlewood Suites Destin-Sandestin(Destin)(Great Value!)
US$122
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$166
US$134
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$126
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (385)
Filter reviews
385 results
Traveller rating
181
110
53
17
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
181
110
53
17
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfront deskdestin commonsking suiteroom was cleanhot itemsthe breakfast areawaffle makerbreakfast was excellentcomfortable staybooked this hotelwalking distancegreat place to staydefinitely stay here againhotel is locatedhot breakfastyogurtthe staff was friendly and helpful
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
302 - 307 of 385 reviews
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We had a king suite - bedroom with a king bed, bedroom door, then a separate area with a pull-out couch, refrigerator (very small), microwave, counter top and sink. The bathroom was in a separate area as well. The bedroom door was thick and there were black out curtain liners, so it was very dark and quiet. Our kids slept on the pull out couch. It was fine for kids, but the mattress was thin and it would be very uncomfortable for adults.

The breakfast was better than most two star hotels. They had one waffle iron (they really need at least two and probably 3 or 4). Most of the time, it was a 10-minute wait to make your waffle. They also had hard boiled eggs, cereals, pastries, etc... The hot items varied by day - either scrambled eggs, sausage, omelets, french toast sticks, etc...

The hotel staff looked overworked. If you started a conversation with them, they were very friendly, but at first glance they just looked unhappy or angry.

Our room was clean, but it is starting to show wear and tear.

The pool was a good size, clean, and my kids had a great time. The hot tub wasn't very inviting.

The hotel is also in a great location. Very close to the beach as well as Publix, Walmart, and a bunch of restaurants.

The only negative was booking through Hotwire. The Hotwire rate ended up being more than the hotel rate. Hotwire has really gone down hill over the last couple of years. I need to learn my lesson and stop using them.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank plcitv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We have stayed at this hotel both when it was a Country Inn and Suites and now White Sands Inn and Suites. It is badly in need of an update and renovations to bring it back to its original standards. It's location is excellent for going to Crystal Beach, the Destin Commons, and is very central to both the Destin harbor area to the West and Sandestin and 30A to the East. We were told that it is going to be converted to a Best Western Plus hotel so hopefully the needed renovations will soon be made.

Room Tip: Ask for a room near the end of the hall for quiet.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rae S, General Manager at Best Western Sugar Sands Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our property! I just wanted to share with you that we will be undergoing a complete renovation in the fall.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

My family stayed here May 25th for one night for our 1 year anniversary. This used to be a Country Inns and Suites hotel so I knew what to expect when we arrived. The room had a separate bedroom with a king size bed and included a mini fridge, microwave and pull out sofa for the kids with their own TV. The room was clean and the location was near the beach, shopping malls and restaurants. The hotel staff was responsive and courteous as well. There was some minor cosmetic issues with the room's bathroom door that could use a little repair but that did not warrant a negative review. If you're looking for a centrally located hotel for a reasonable price for a family of 4, this is the place you want to stay at. I would stay here again in the future. Enjoy!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 312 which was located right across from the elevator and close to the vending machines.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank latinalisa8991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Stayed here for one night over Memorial Day. The staff was friendly and efficient, the room was clean, and the complimentary breakfast was serviceable. The location is very good, right at the intersection of Hwy 98 and the Mid-Bay Bridge. The price (under $100 with tax) was definitely right, especially for the holiday weekend. My only real complaints were that one of the bed frames squeaked and the bathroom could have really used some paint and spackle. I'd definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kilroy76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Another co-worker and I stayed at this hotel for a two-day installation. I actually found this place during our first trip down here and had the company office manager look into it. It was a great location-convenient to everything (restaurants, lounges, beach, grocery, attractions). The price was also better than other area hotels. The rooms were clean, service was good, and I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DKnuth2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews