We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Horrible!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Sugar Sands Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Sugar Sands Inn & Suites
Ranked #15 of 39 Hotels in Destin
Long Beach, Mississippi
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Horrible!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

This place was listed on Hotwire in comparison to the Hampton inn, holiday inn express and more respectable brands. This place on the other hand looks like it was a country inn and suites that had been closed down and reopened by a private owner who could care less. The beds were awful; My chiropractor will be seeing me when I return home. The air conditioner wouldn't work, and if you looked in the corners of the windows there was mold and mildew settling between the double panes. Needless to say, we will not be returning. As far as a stay in Destin, Florida is concerned, make sure you choose wisely and if you want a memorable experience, stay in a condominium.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank LTSAN1220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rae S, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Sugar Sands Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to express your feelings regarding our property. I would like to share with you that we were a Country Inn & Suites in the past and are under new ownership as of March this year. This is the way the property looked when it was purchased. I can assure you that our staff and owner DO care and are doing the best we can with what we have to work with at this time, until COMPLETE renovations begin in the fall of this year and we rebrand. Which we are VERY excited about! I am very sorry that you did not enjoy your time with us but can assure you things are moving in a positive direction. It is my hope that if you are ever in the area again, once we have renovated, that you will give us another shot.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    81
    44
    15
    18
See reviews for
116
65
7
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Wesley Chapel, Florida
Level Contributor
48 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

I give this Hotel an average because of the staff here. Desk staff and breakfast room staff were very nice and accommodating. Also, the rooms are larger than normal, and the bed was comfy.

That said, the furnishings were old, worn and tired. One day they didn't clean the room and I had to ask the desk staff for towels, which were brought and wastebaskets emptied. Also has to call the maint guy since the drain in the sink didn't work (which he replaced), Also the toilet ran and had to jiggle the handle to stop it and the tank top didn't fit properly . Carpeting could have used cleaning also. We were annoyed by constant smoke from the adjoining rooms, very few non smoking and non avail for us even tho our reservation requested non-smoking. Neighbors were really noisy the first night and had to call desk to shut them down at 1am. Many families on the floor with several kids in each room so noise was a problem That said, we were travelling with a baby, so...shouldn't complain too much about kids.

The hotel is really conveniently located and reasonably priced for the area.

Room Tip: Insist on non smoking room if you want one. Smoke travels from room to room. We stuffed a towels u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amcbeancounter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
86 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

We had a king suite - bedroom with a king bed, bedroom door, then a separate area with a pull-out couch, refrigerator (very small), microwave, counter top and sink. The bathroom was in a separate area as well. The bedroom door was thick and there were black out curtain liners, so it was very dark and quiet. Our kids slept on the pull out couch. It was fine for kids, but the mattress was thin and it would be very uncomfortable for adults.

The breakfast was better than most two star hotels. They had one waffle iron (they really need at least two and probably 3 or 4). Most of the time, it was a 10-minute wait to make your waffle. They also had hard boiled eggs, cereals, pastries, etc... The hot items varied by day - either scrambled eggs, sausage, omelets, french toast sticks, etc...

The hotel staff looked overworked. If you started a conversation with them, they were very friendly, but at first glance they just looked unhappy or angry.

Our room was clean, but it is starting to show wear and tear.

The pool was a good size, clean, and my kids had a great time. The hot tub wasn't very inviting.

The hotel is also in a great location. Very close to the beach as well as Publix, Walmart, and a bunch of restaurants.

The only negative was booking through Hotwire. The Hotwire rate ended up being more than the hotel rate. Hotwire has really gone down hill over the last couple of years. I need to learn my lesson and stop using them.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank plcitv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallahassee, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

We have stayed at this hotel both when it was a Country Inn and Suites and now White Sands Inn and Suites. It is badly in need of an update and renovations to bring it back to its original standards. It's location is excellent for going to Crystal Beach, the Destin Commons, and is very central to both the Destin harbor area to the West and Sandestin and 30A to the East. We were told that it is going to be converted to a Best Western Plus hotel so hopefully the needed renovations will soon be made.

Room Tip: Ask for a room near the end of the hall for quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rae S, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Sugar Sands Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our property! I just wanted to share with you that we will be undergoing a complete renovation in the fall.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montgomery, Alabama
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

My family stayed here May 25th for one night for our 1 year anniversary. This used to be a Country Inns and Suites hotel so I knew what to expect when we arrived. The room had a separate bedroom with a king size bed and included a mini fridge, microwave and pull out sofa for the kids with their own TV. The room was clean and the location was near the beach, shopping malls and restaurants. The hotel staff was responsive and courteous as well. There was some minor cosmetic issues with the room's bathroom door that could use a little repair but that did not warrant a negative review. If you're looking for a centrally located hotel for a reasonable price for a family of 4, this is the place you want to stay at. I would stay here again in the future. Enjoy!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 312 which was located right across from the elevator and close to the vending mach...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank latinalisa8991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallahassee, FL
Level Contributor
57 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

Stayed here for one night over Memorial Day. The staff was friendly and efficient, the room was clean, and the complimentary breakfast was serviceable. The location is very good, right at the intersection of Hwy 98 and the Mid-Bay Bridge. The price (under $100 with tax) was definitely right, especially for the holiday weekend. My only real complaints were that one of the bed frames squeaked and the bathroom could have really used some paint and spackle. I'd definitely stay again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kilroy76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Douglasville, Georgia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Another co-worker and I stayed at this hotel for a two-day installation. I actually found this place during our first trip down here and had the company office manager look into it. It was a great location-convenient to everything (restaurants, lounges, beach, grocery, attractions). The price was also better than other area hotels. The rooms were clean, service was good, and I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DKnuth2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Destin hotels
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Destin
0.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Destin
2.6 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Destin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Destin - Miramar Beach
1.7 mi away
SummerPlace Inn
SummerPlace Inn
#14 of 39 in Destin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
6.8 mi away
Residence Inn Sandestin at Grand Boulevard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Sugar Sands Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Sugar Sands Inn & Suites

Property: BEST WESTERN Sugar Sands Inn & Suites
Address: 4415 Commons Dr E, Destin, FL 32541-3457 (Formerly Country Inn & Suites Destin)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Destin
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Destin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Sugar Sands Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly remodeled BEST WESTERN Sugar Sands Inn & Suites is centrally located in beautiful Destin, Florida. The city styles itself "The World's Luckiest Fishing Village," and has one of the largest fishing vessel fleets in the state of Florida. The convenience of our location offers each guest easy access to local attractions and many outdoor activities. The BEST WESTERN Sugar Sands Inn & Suites provides rooms with all of the amenities and superb customer service expected from Best Western. Our Destin, FL hotel is just a 5 minute drive to the sugar sand beaches and emerald waters of the Emerald Coast. Hotel guests will be close to a variety of restaurants - TGI Friday's, Longhorn Steakhouse(R), Bonefish Grill(R), and many more, all within walking distance of the property. Each guest room features free high-speed Internet access and cable television with HBO(R). A microwave and refrigerator are available in all rooms. The hotel offers a complimentary full hot breakfast, and features a heated outdoor pool and spa, exercise room, arcade, and an onsite laundry facility. The BEST WESTERN Sugar Sands Inn & Suites is located adjacent to the Shoppes of Paradise Key, just .5 miles from Destin Commons, 5 miles from the Silver Sands Outlet Mall and the Destin Harbor. Enjoy your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Sugar Sands Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites Destin
Country Inn & Suites Destin Hotel Destin
Country Inn Destin
Destin Country Inn
BEST WESTERN Sugar Sands Inn & Suites Destin, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing