We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sofabed needs to be thrown out” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Sugar Sands Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Sugar Sands Inn & Suites
Ranked #15 of 39 Hotels in Destin
Douglasville, Georgia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Sofabed needs to be thrown out”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

I booked this under Country Inn and Suites and then later it was sold to White Sands Inn and Suites. Staff were wonderful and breakfast buffet was delicious. HOWEVER, the rooms are a mess. Our suite had an old wobbly table and 2 wobbly chairs. Carpet needs replacing. We had rented the suite for myself, my daughter and my 5 year old grandson. Suite had a king size bed which was very comfortable since the 3 of us had to sleep together as the sofa bed was totally UNUSABLE!!! When we unfolded the sofa bed, most of the springs were missing and it just flipped out and rested on the floor - unacceptable. Even the 5 year old could not sleep on it as his feet were on the floor with his head somewhat raised. At checkout I did tell the manager that the sofa needed throwing out - not fixing as it was beyond fixing. She did give me a small discount for the inconvenience. Before booking this, ask - Has the furniture in the suites been replaced. Georgia 6-27-2014

Room Tip: Pool small but OK. Suites are very small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank melmo21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    81
    44
    15
    18
See reviews for
116
65
7
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hampton, Georgia
Level Contributor
123 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

Some reviewers correctly mentioned that this Inn is in need of renovation; maybe that is why Country Inns and Suites sold it. Carpets need replacing and there is a little musty smell.

That would rate an average review at best but I boosted it because of the positives including:

Very nice staff, very competitive pricing, clean rooms, good location, and a good breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Neal45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights....better than expected by far... comfortable beds and pillows...nice pool..the breakfast was one of the better ones that I've had with a nice selection.. overall for the $ spent it was the best deal of any comparable hotel. I'd definitely stay here again!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Abraham C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Coast, Florida
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

White Sands was a GREAT value for the money. First impression was not great because its in a shopping mall but it's on the main road which takes you to the public beaches and Harbor Walk Village so the location was actually very good. Room was a little musty at first but the AC got rid of that immediately. The room was very clean, bed was comfortable, hotel was quiet, and the staff was wonderful. We left our laptop cord in the room, called and spoke to Katy who shipped it out to us, everyone was very helpful. I would definitely recommend White Sands and would go back.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Deb F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herndon, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

like the hotel, nice staff good deal, like the one bedroom breakfast OK ,near restaurants , very accommodating , July is a busy time within waling distance to the beach . We have always had a good experience. come thru the years

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank 74Bamagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Josephine, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

This was by far the worst hotel I have ever stayed at. The carpet was dirty and stinky. We had to wear flip flops when we walked in the room. Do not let your feet touch the carpet.... The continental breakfast was so bad we had to eat at a restaurant. The sausage had a rotten smell and the orange juice and apple juice out of the machine had a funny taste. The workers were unprofessional. The hotel needs new carpet and needs to be painted. The smoking area is at the front door, if you don't want cancer stay away. The fire alarm went off in our room one night we jump up grab the kids and ran down stairs, the workers were standing around like nothing ever happened. The only good thing about this hotel is its location.

Room Tip: Avoid at all cost........
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tiffany B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baker, Louisiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

This hotel was the worse I have ever stayed in by far. The staff was rude, our room was awful. We killed spiders off the ceiling the 1st night, worm was on our sheets when we folded the covers back on the bed. Hair dryer didn't work. Carpet was filthy. In fact when we checked in and went to our room I noticed some beer cans on the floor by the bed (assuming from previous guest). I didn't touch them because I wanted to see the next day would they pick them up. Well needless to say the cans were not removed until Tuesday! We checked in on a Sunday!! So every time the "cleaned" the room apparently they didn't vacuum! Saw 2 dead cock roaches in the hall by the stairwell. It was just awful!! Back to the housekeeping, we had 4 people in our room and everyday they would just give us 3 towels. I would call the front desk and when i sent my son to go to get them they told him they didn't have any hand towels just medium. Well my husband ask the housekeeper about the towel situation and she rudely said "not my fault I just work here". And sent her supervisor to the room for her to say they had to wash some more that's why we only had 3. Go figure!! This hotel really needs to work on their hotel, and staff! The only highlight of my stay is upon checkout I told the supervisor/manager of the hotel all of my complaints and she credited $100 back to me. She was nice and need to get a whole new staff to get that hotel where it needs to be. Once they do that then maybe it will be an alright place to stay

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Destin hotels
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Destin
0.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Destin
2.6 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Destin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Destin - Miramar Beach
1.7 mi away
SummerPlace Inn
SummerPlace Inn
#14 of 39 in Destin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
6.8 mi away
Residence Inn Sandestin at Grand Boulevard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Sugar Sands Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Sugar Sands Inn & Suites

Property: BEST WESTERN Sugar Sands Inn & Suites
Address: 4415 Commons Dr E, Destin, FL 32541-3457 (Formerly Country Inn & Suites Destin)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Destin
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Destin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Sugar Sands Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly remodeled BEST WESTERN Sugar Sands Inn & Suites is centrally located in beautiful Destin, Florida. The city styles itself "The World's Luckiest Fishing Village," and has one of the largest fishing vessel fleets in the state of Florida. The convenience of our location offers each guest easy access to local attractions and many outdoor activities. The BEST WESTERN Sugar Sands Inn & Suites provides rooms with all of the amenities and superb customer service expected from Best Western. Our Destin, FL hotel is just a 5 minute drive to the sugar sand beaches and emerald waters of the Emerald Coast. Hotel guests will be close to a variety of restaurants - TGI Friday's, Longhorn Steakhouse(R), Bonefish Grill(R), and many more, all within walking distance of the property. Each guest room features free high-speed Internet access and cable television with HBO(R). A microwave and refrigerator are available in all rooms. The hotel offers a complimentary full hot breakfast, and features a heated outdoor pool and spa, exercise room, arcade, and an onsite laundry facility. The BEST WESTERN Sugar Sands Inn & Suites is located adjacent to the Shoppes of Paradise Key, just .5 miles from Destin Commons, 5 miles from the Silver Sands Outlet Mall and the Destin Harbor. Enjoy your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Sugar Sands Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites Destin
Country Inn & Suites Destin Hotel Destin
Country Inn Destin
Destin Country Inn
BEST WESTERN Sugar Sands Inn & Suites Destin, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing