We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Sugar Sands Inn & Suites
Ranked #15 of 39 Hotels in Destin
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great place ”
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

My family visited the week of July 4 and really enjoyed our visit. The staff was very friendly. Our room was clean and the pool was great! We enjoyed the big breakfast that was provided each morning also. We will defiantly recommend this hotel and will visit again.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank MD1174
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    120
    90
    47
    16
    23
See reviews for
137
76
8
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Some of the staff was friendly. My family has been staying here for the past 3 years was there in July 2014 and the only problem I had was it was hard to get towels. It was like it was a shortage. I realize that people take hotel towels but they should have had more. Don't know if we will be back next year.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mallette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
florida
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

was formerly a country inn and suites, so it has that Early American KMart decorating style... right On the golf course in Kelly plantation, great location, close to Destin Commons Mall and all local attractions.what's kind of quirky about this place is a personnel and the decorating.whenever I stayed there I felt like it was a cross between an insane asylum and the Bates Motel.sort of a GrandMommy Dearest meets penal colony.first of all the place is being renovated into a Best Western so they're not exactly pouring A lot of money into the existing existing infrastructure.second of all there's nobody there, which I never really understood, right in the middle the peak tourism season.I've never seen a place with less friendly staff and a more quiet atmosphere. its like there's no music or noise in there, I thought I was going to snap. I want to know that there is semi intelligent life around me, not that I've landed in some post apocalyptic zombie world....all in all, I guess for the price its a pretty good deal ,the location is superb. They just need to work on customer service and ambience...and lose the Night Of The Living Dead vibe.....

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank destinloan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

We booked this through hotwire because it said it was 3 stars, but we disagreed and got a refund with them. I'm sure it was nice a few decades ago but they are in need of new furniture, carpets, and mold resistant walls (see pictures). The smell was musty and I agree with the other review about needing to throw out the pullout bed. I rated it 2 because the staff was very nice, the breakfast was ok, and the location is as close as you can be to the beach without being in a condo.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
6 Thank Mocofo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Douglasville, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

I booked this under Country Inn and Suites and then later it was sold to White Sands Inn and Suites. Staff were wonderful and breakfast buffet was delicious. HOWEVER, the rooms are a mess. Our suite had an old wobbly table and 2 wobbly chairs. Carpet needs replacing. We had rented the suite for myself, my daughter and my 5 year old grandson. Suite had a king size bed which was very comfortable since the 3 of us had to sleep together as the sofa bed was totally UNUSABLE!!! When we unfolded the sofa bed, most of the springs were missing and it just flipped out and rested on the floor - unacceptable. Even the 5 year old could not sleep on it as his feet were on the floor with his head somewhat raised. At checkout I did tell the manager that the sofa needed throwing out - not fixing as it was beyond fixing. She did give me a small discount for the inconvenience. Before booking this, ask - Has the furniture in the suites been replaced. Georgia 6-27-2014

Room Tip: Pool small but OK. Suites are very small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank melmo21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampton, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Some reviewers correctly mentioned that this Inn is in need of renovation; maybe that is why Country Inns and Suites sold it. Carpets need replacing and there is a little musty smell.

That would rate an average review at best but I boosted it because of the positives including:

Very nice staff, very competitive pricing, clean rooms, good location, and a good breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neal45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights....better than expected by far... comfortable beds and pillows...nice pool..the breakfast was one of the better ones that I've had with a nice selection.. overall for the $ spent it was the best deal of any comparable hotel. I'd definitely stay here again!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Abraham C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Destin hotels
0.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Destin
2.6 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Destin
6.6 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Sandestin at Grand Boulevard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Destin
4.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Destin - Miramar Beach
1.8 mi away
SummerPlace Inn Destin FL Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Sugar Sands Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Sugar Sands Inn & Suites

Property: Best Western Sugar Sands Inn & Suites
Address: 4415 Commons Dr E, Destin, FL 32541-3457 (Formerly Country Inn & Suites Destin)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Destin
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Destin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Sugar Sands Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly remodeled BEST WESTERN Sugar Sands Inn & Suites is centrally located in beautiful Destin, Florida. The city styles itself "The World's Luckiest Fishing Village," and has one of the largest fishing vessel fleets in the state of Florida. The convenience of our location offers each guest easy access to local attractions and many outdoor activities. The BEST WESTERN Sugar Sands Inn & Suites provides rooms with all of the amenities and superb customer service expected from Best Western. Our Destin, FL hotel is just a 5 minute drive to the sugar sand beaches and emerald waters of the Emerald Coast. Hotel guests will be close to a variety of restaurants - TGI Friday's, Longhorn Steakhouse(R), Bonefish Grill(R), and many more, all within walking distance of the property. Each guest room features free high-speed Internet access and cable television with HBO(R). A microwave and refrigerator are available in all rooms. The hotel offers a complimentary full hot breakfast, and features a heated outdoor pool and spa, exercise room, arcade, and an onsite laundry facility. The BEST WESTERN Sugar Sands Inn & Suites is located adjacent to the Shoppes of Paradise Key, just .5 miles from Destin Commons, 5 miles from the Silver Sands Outlet Mall and the Destin Harbor. Enjoy your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Sugar Sands Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites Destin Hotel Destin
Country Inn And Suites Destin
Country Inn Destin
Destin Country Inn
Best Western Sugar Sands Inn & Suites Destin, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing