We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stinky, unclean, and the bathroom mirror broke.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Sugar Sands Inn & Suites
Ranked #15 of 39 Hotels in Destin
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Stinky, unclean, and the bathroom mirror broke.”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

I would never stay here again.. The smell was terrible..unless you like mold. Close the hotel until it's renovated.. Stop being greedy and actually make your customers happy. Also a huge mirror fell in our bathroom and broke into a million pieces and could of killed us!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Cmv_96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    120
    90
    47
    16
    23
See reviews for
137
76
8
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Jackson, Mississippi, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Upon arriving I read several reviews and was concerned about the upkeep of the hotel. When we entered the first thing my kids saw was the cookies in the lobby and they couldn't wait to get some and every time we left lol. Once my family checked in I was very surprised. I didn't see anything broken my family stayed in a King Suite (2 young boys 7 and 5). We enjoyed the separate area as a door separated the two areas. We also loved the pool and the spa. We didn't take advantage of the fitness center due to being on vacation but it looked nice as we passed it going to the pool. The breakfast was great as well. After two nights we decided to say one more night and I simply went downstairs and the lady said no problem. The only thing I saw a problem with well not a problem was the bright light that was shinning in from the pool but next time I will just ask for a room opposite from the pool. I will definitely book again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houma
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

I booked this hotel through Hotwire Hot Deals so I had no way of knowing what hotel it was. I was very upset that this was the hotel after I saw the reviews. Hotwire was very misleading in the description making customers think it was a leading hotel. The staff was very nice and this is the only nice thing I can say. The window was dirty it looked like they never dust it. Because of this I also saw mouse droppings.! I will not tolerate that. Hotwire refunded my money and we went somewhere else. Again the staff was nice and she explained to me that the hotel will be upgraded to a Best Western. I hope than it will be better but I think we will pass.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Tpitt12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

My family visited the week of July 4 and really enjoyed our visit. The staff was very friendly. Our room was clean and the pool was great! We enjoyed the big breakfast that was provided each morning also. We will defiantly recommend this hotel and will visit again.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank MD1174
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Some of the staff was friendly. My family has been staying here for the past 3 years was there in July 2014 and the only problem I had was it was hard to get towels. It was like it was a shortage. I realize that people take hotel towels but they should have had more. Don't know if we will be back next year.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mallette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
florida
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

was formerly a country inn and suites, so it has that Early American KMart decorating style... right On the golf course in Kelly plantation, great location, close to Destin Commons Mall and all local attractions.what's kind of quirky about this place is a personnel and the decorating.whenever I stayed there I felt like it was a cross between an insane asylum and the Bates Motel.sort of a GrandMommy Dearest meets penal colony.first of all the place is being renovated into a Best Western so they're not exactly pouring A lot of money into the existing existing infrastructure.second of all there's nobody there, which I never really understood, right in the middle the peak tourism season.I've never seen a place with less friendly staff and a more quiet atmosphere. its like there's no music or noise in there, I thought I was going to snap. I want to know that there is semi intelligent life around me, not that I've landed in some post apocalyptic zombie world....all in all, I guess for the price its a pretty good deal ,the location is superb. They just need to work on customer service and ambience...and lose the Night Of The Living Dead vibe.....

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank destinloan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

We booked this through hotwire because it said it was 3 stars, but we disagreed and got a refund with them. I'm sure it was nice a few decades ago but they are in need of new furniture, carpets, and mold resistant walls (see pictures). The smell was musty and I agree with the other review about needing to throw out the pullout bed. I rated it 2 because the staff was very nice, the breakfast was ok, and the location is as close as you can be to the beach without being in a condo.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
6 Thank Mocofo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Destin hotels
0.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Destin
2.6 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Destin
6.6 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Sandestin at Grand Boulevard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Destin
4.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Destin - Miramar Beach
1.8 mi away
SummerPlace Inn Destin FL Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Sugar Sands Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Sugar Sands Inn & Suites

Property: Best Western Sugar Sands Inn & Suites
Address: 4415 Commons Dr E, Destin, FL 32541-3457 (Formerly Country Inn & Suites Destin)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Destin
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Destin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Sugar Sands Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly remodeled BEST WESTERN Sugar Sands Inn & Suites is centrally located in beautiful Destin, Florida. The city styles itself "The World's Luckiest Fishing Village," and has one of the largest fishing vessel fleets in the state of Florida. The convenience of our location offers each guest easy access to local attractions and many outdoor activities. The BEST WESTERN Sugar Sands Inn & Suites provides rooms with all of the amenities and superb customer service expected from Best Western. Our Destin, FL hotel is just a 5 minute drive to the sugar sand beaches and emerald waters of the Emerald Coast. Hotel guests will be close to a variety of restaurants - TGI Friday's, Longhorn Steakhouse(R), Bonefish Grill(R), and many more, all within walking distance of the property. Each guest room features free high-speed Internet access and cable television with HBO(R). A microwave and refrigerator are available in all rooms. The hotel offers a complimentary full hot breakfast, and features a heated outdoor pool and spa, exercise room, arcade, and an onsite laundry facility. The BEST WESTERN Sugar Sands Inn & Suites is located adjacent to the Shoppes of Paradise Key, just .5 miles from Destin Commons, 5 miles from the Silver Sands Outlet Mall and the Destin Harbor. Enjoy your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Sugar Sands Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites Destin Hotel Destin
Country Inn And Suites Destin
Country Inn Destin
Destin Country Inn
Best Western Sugar Sands Inn & Suites Destin, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing