We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not sure about the bad reviews, my lunch was good” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Rumba

La Rumba
Ranked #245 of 301 Restaurants in Destin
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television
St. Augustine FL
Level Contributor
637 reviews
407 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
“Not sure about the bad reviews, my lunch was good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

I stopped in last week for lunch and found not only the service but the food to be good.

The chips and salsa were tasty and for lunch I had Pork Carnitas. The pork was was super tender and everything tasted fresh.

I would eat here again!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank gregbooras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    12
    14
    7
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

We love Mexican food and don't usually find good food outside of the Houston area but this place was great. The food had great flavor and the wait staff was very friendly.

Helpful?
Thank Robin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The food was not Mexican food.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

The food was horrible, I had the fajitas and it tasted like it had no seasoning on it. My wife had the fajita toco salad and the chicken was cold, also no flavor. I don't recommend this restaurant to anyone.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sprfmr7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wausau, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
51 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Fish Tacos were AMAZING!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

We stopped in this little place our first afternoon in town. It was mid-afternoon and we wanted something to hold us over while waiting for other family members to arrive to town. Husband and I both ordered a margarita on the rocks and fish tacos. Both were incredible! From the outside, this place doesn't look like a "must try" place, but I assure you it is that good!!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank tdevoy22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Absolutely horrible”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

Stopped here after a day in Destin on the way back to PCB. Should have read the reviews but my family was in the mood for Mexican. We sat quickly and ordered soft drinks. Chips and salsa came, chips were cold and stale. Ordered cheese dip without jalapeños and all cheese dip had jalapeños so that was a no go. We looked over the menu and wasn't impressed. The waiter was very ho-hum and could care less we were there. After about five minutes we offered to pay for our drinks and we left without ordering. Very disappointed and urge you to go somewhere else for your Mexican food fix.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank JebSundgren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Rumba also viewed

Destin, Florida Panhandle
Destin, Florida Panhandle
 
Destin, Florida Panhandle
Destin, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to La Rumba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing