We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Guilty pleasure”
Review of Shake's Custard

Shake's Custard
Ranked #2 of 20 Dessert in Destin
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours
INDIANAPOLIS, IN
Level 6 Contributor
245 reviews
170 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 235 helpful votes
“Guilty pleasure”
Reviewed 21 June 2014

When I went to visit my sister in Destin she was doing a regimented diet plan but even so, she didn't even question that a stop at Shakes was a must do while I was there. Totally worth the splurge. Shakes looks like a cute little 50's diner and the sundaes have names to match like the "Heavenly Angel" and the "Pink Poodle". I got the "Bopper" which is like a turtle sundae with ample maraschino cherries for decoration. It was so rich I wasn't even hungry the rest of the day. That means the calories even out, right?

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IMBELLE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    286
    98
    34
    11
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best Ice Cream Ever!!!!”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Best ice cream ever and their shakes are to die for along with their all beef hot dogs yum, yum!!! Always a long line but worth the wait, they even have made use of the green way in front of the shake shop with additional seating. Your going to love it!!!!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Casey N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Shakes at Shakes!!!!”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Awesome strawberry Shake. These are the best. I highly recommend if you like a good shake. I will go back when in the area.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank hesetmefree238
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mayfield, Kentucky
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Just go.”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Stop reading this review and just go. After you've eaten one of the best frozen custard treats that you have ever put in your mouth, you will thank me for not wasting your time with a long review. So go already!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shane R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“No place to sit and overpriced!”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

The food was ok, but there is no place to sit if you want to stay! So weird....one table. Hot dogs are WAY over priced but are good. Ice cream shakes were delicious, but not for over $6. Would not go back or recommend, based on the price only.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ceymom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Shake's Custard also viewed

Destin, Florida Panhandle
Destin, Florida Panhandle
 
Destin, Florida Panhandle
Destin, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Shake's Custard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing