We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice Embassy Suites slightly tarnished by front desk staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Destin - Miramar Beach
Ranked #7 of 38 Hotels in Destin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 August 2014

This property is recently updated and in a great 'hotel' location for Destin, FL. Our room was clean, quiet, and very comfortable. The only other Hilton property in the area that can compare is the resort-like Hilton San Destin, which is and should be more amenity laden. There are plenty of restaurants and other conveniences nearby and the hotel itself is a very good value when considering the clean, well kept appearance, excellent breakfast, complimentary evening reception, and wifi.

We have paid premium prices for 'Gulf front/Beachfront' properties that are further from the beach than the Embassy-Miramar. A 5 or so minute easy stroll across the street and on the paved and planked walkway delivers the gorgeous beach and water that the area is known for throughout the region. The pool for the hotel is just average, but it was never crowded during our visits.

The only downside that was experienced regarding this property was the front desk staff. We had to wait for 30 minutes after our arrival(and published check in time) for our previously requested/arranged room to be cleaned. The desk staff and management were apologetic and attempted to comp us beach chairs for our stay, but this was never arranged with the beach service who looked at us dumbfoundedly when we mentioned it the next day after our walk to the beach. On this occasion and atleast one other time during our two night stay, we were unable to contact the front desk for clarification after repeatedly phoning for 20-30 minutes. After walking back to the hotel and finding an empty front desk, we were told that they had been 'very busy'. Lastly, and for the first time that we can ever recall as loyal customers, we were denied an hour late checkout by these same friendly folks at the front desk. We thought that we left something in the room and returned almost 1.5 hours after checkout to find that the room had not been cleaned, as of yet.

We are a Hilton loyal family and utilize Hilton properties when available, so we realize that the desk staff that we encountered are likely an aberration. The rest of the hotel staff including the bartenders, housekeeping service, and kitchen/dining staff were excellent and very accommodating. This is a very nice Embassy Suites that could be great with a small personnel tweaking.

Room Tip: The 4th floor was very quiet and the rooms at the front of building have a small gulf view. The view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Christopher C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmbassySuitesDestin, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Destin - Miramar Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Thanks for the good review! We do love the feedback. We have a few newer desk agents that still need to learn some of the different aspects of the job. With so many things to learn unfortunately sometimes things come up that they have not seen. With the Beach setup being contracted with Sunset Beach service we typically take care of it when they present the day’s bill to us. We should have communicated that to you. This way there would not have been any confusion. We enjoyed having you stay with us and come back and enjoy the beach again sometime soon.

Rich Johnston
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,549)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,030 - 1,036 of 1,549 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2014

I (as well as my family) was long overdue for time away from the rat race. We traveled to Destin and check in was nice, professional and swift. Our room was clean, spacious and comfortable. A two minute walk (across the street, although this is not beachfront) to the beach. Breakfast was all you can eat good with everything you normally eat for breakfast, healthy and not so healthy selections. Our room was clean, bathroom clean, our bed was comfortable. Standard amenities: refrig, microwave, coffee maker, extra sink in the master suite, very convenient for adults traveling with children, plenty storage space for your luggage. Carpets are getting a little worn in the hallways, you expect dingy carpets next to the beach. The workout facility has treadmills, elliptical, stationary bike, rubber free weights to help you stay in shape. I ordered room service and found that the cook at this facility knows what he is doing; best room service I have ordered to date- I don't know who enjoyed it more, me or my son. Overall this is a great place to camp out while on vacation if you need extra space as I do. I would stay again if I return to Destin.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TLVC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmbassySuitesDestin, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Destin - Miramar Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

We are glad that you had a great stay at the hotel. I am lucky to have such a good staff and property to manage. It looks like you enjoyed the newly renovated rooms and this fall we will be completing another Million Dollars’ worth of improvements including the hallway carpeting. We look forward to the next time you need to escape to Destin!

Rich Johnston
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

This hotel is the perfect price for being so close to the beach. It is really a beautiful facility and the free breakfast and evening snacks/cocktails make it perfect for the pocket book too!! We enjoyed our stay and would come back again and again!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
1  Thank Diana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmbassySuitesDestin, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Destin - Miramar Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Thanks for the kind review; I'm glad that you enjoyed the Hotel. The Staff works very hard to make sure that you have a great stay. I’ll pass on your review for them to see!

Rich Johnston
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Very nice and clean. The best Embassy Suites where I have stayed. Denver, San Antonio and Austin Embassy Suites are all old and run down but not this one. I don't know if it is newer or has been renovated but looks like a brand new hotel. Very maintained. This is up to date and not run down at all. A lot of room, large bathrooms. Great breakfast. Perfect location.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank robyn512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmbassySuitesDestin, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Destin - Miramar Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

I'm glad that you liked the hotel. I may be partial but I think that we have a great location as well. There are so many great restaurants and great shopping close by and the beach is just 100 yards or so from the Hotel. Thanks for staying with us.

Rich Johnston
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

This is our second stay at this hotel and we were very pleased with the entire stay. The newly renovated rooms are brighter and the new furniture was very nice… Check-in to Check-out – Flawless.

Some points to point out:
• I called ahead to verify everything was in order and talked to Nicole and she was extremely helpful and upon arrival - EVERYTHING was perfect. She did a great job setting up our reservation (three families) and welcomed us as Hilton Honor members.
• Our room was clean upon arrival and Tonya did a great job each day cleaning our room.
• Embassy Suites staff were all very friendly and did a great job making us feel welcome.
• Breakfast was great, and the evening snacks were perfect for our kids. Jim was pretty friendly and made some great drinks.
• The pool was perfect! We went to the beach in the morning and ended our day at the pool in the afternoon and the Kids Loved it! We had dinner at the pool on Thursday evening and it worked well.

I interviewed our kids and asked them what they liked about the hotel and they said the following:

• Breakfast was great (10 year old)
• I liked how they had happy hour each night (10 year old)
• Pool was great (12 year old)
• Happy Hour and the unlimited Shirley Temples (12 year old)
• Breakfast – Chocolate Muffins(4 year old)
• I asked our 6 year old what he liked about the hotel and he responded “Everything”

We stayed at the Embassy last year and we had the same experience – they are consistent in their efforts and did a great job making us feel welcome. I overheard a staff member (Jennifer) talking to another staff member say, “We (embassy suites) are helping our guests make memories” – that was an impressive statement and very true. We made a lot of memories last week and we appreciate the entire team at the Embassy for making our stay excellent – Nicole and her entire team were the best!

Room Tip: Surf Hut accross the street had good food.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank Scott W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmbassySuitesDestin, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Destin - Miramar Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Scott

My wife and I always did the same as you did and poll the kids to see what they liked best about the trip. It's about making memories and relaxing and I'm glad that we achieved both of these for your family. We look forward to see you again next year.

Rich Johnston
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights and we wish we could have stayed longer here. The area is mostly condo rentals so Embassy was a welcome surprise. The hotel is immaculate, both suites and public spaces. Rooms are beautiful , bright and newly remodeled. Bathroom is larger than average with plenty of storage space for toiletries which is very important to us. Upscale Crabtree and Evelyn toiletries provided. Great water pressure and plenty of hot water which is also important to us. Housekeeping was perfect. All employees were pleasant, as everyone was friendly and helpful. A big shout out to Jim, the bartender at the evening reception. He handled the thirsty crowd with speed, friendliness and efficiency. Breakfast was wonderful as we found to be the case at most Embassy Suites. The proximity to the beach is great. It is across the street but is really no further than the beach would be at the back of a resort hotel. Very easy access to the beach. This also allows for most sand to be eliminated before entering the hotel property. It makes for a much cleaner hotel. Another plus is the extra elevator at the back of the hotel by the breakfast area. No wait ever. We loved that there were families with well behaved children instead of screaming kids running all around and up and down the elevators as you find at most beach hotels. We were on the 4th floor which we liked. We got the morning sun which we also liked, but if you don't, there are black out drapes that really do the job. There isn't much else you can ask for than what you get at this hotel. It felt like a home away from home. In fact thus is the first time that we actually didn't mind spending time in the room while at a beach hotel.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Mary m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmbassySuitesDestin, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Destin - Miramar Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Thanks Sounds like you had a great time. Thats what we want for our guests. Come see us again soon!

Rich Johnston
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

I visit this Embassy Suites often and always enjoy it. The staff is friendly and the atrium is a relaxing alternative to the hectic tourist scene. Jim, the bartender, is always friendly and quick with my drink, which he knows by heart. Even when the lines are long at the bar, he has time for a quick "hey, how ya doing?". He really makes me feel welcome.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmbassySuitesDestin, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Destin - Miramar Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Thanks for the kind words; Big Jim does a great job. We have guests come back year after year and Jim either knows their name or what they drink..LOL. We are lucky to have such a great staff and hotel. Thanks for staying with us.

Rich Johnston
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Destin hotels
2.4 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Sandestin at Grand Boulevard
4.4 mi away
The Henderson - A Salamander Beach & Spa Resort
5.9 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Destin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Sandestin at Grand Boulevard
6.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Destin
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Destin-Sandestin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Destin - Miramar Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Destin - Miramar Beach

Address: 570 Scenic Gulf Dr., Destin, FL 32550-4014
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Destin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Destin
#4 Romantic Hotel in Destin
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Destin
#5 Business Hotel in Destin
Price Range: £92 - £287 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Destin - Miramar Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Embassy Suites Destin - Miramar Beach is an all-suite hotel featuring amenities designed to pamper our guests: We are across the street from the gorgeous Gulf of Mexico with a private beach access, complimentary cooked-to-order breakfast daily, complimentary Evening Reception nightly, Complimentary wired and wireless internet. Check in 4pm / Check out is 11am. Age Restrictions 25 to checkin. We are across the street from our lovely beach. 100 yards from our front door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Destin - Miramar Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Destin - Miramar Beach Hotel Destin
Destin Embassy Suites
Embassy Suites By Hilton Destin - Miramar Beach Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing