We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous Fourth!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Sandestin Beach, Golf Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hilton Sandestin Beach, Golf Resort & Spa
Ranked #7 of 39 Hotels in Destin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous Fourth!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed the week of Fourth of July and it was our first visit to Sandestin. We did a lot of research on the hotel before we booked so we went in with the right expectations. It is not an all-inclusive or "value" hotel - it is a resort.

Our check in was fast thanks to the wonderful concierges and our room was upgraded at our request. We stayed on the top floor of the Spa Tower and the room was perfect for our family of four. The hotel is celebrating 30 years and recently underwent extensive renovations. The concierges told us everything we needed to know about the hotel and all of the events happening that week.

The hotel really went all out with family activities each day of the week. We participated in a big Fourth of July buffet dinner on the pool deck and received excellent service from the wait staff. The hotel sponsored an amazing fireworks show on the beach and we had front row seats on our balcony.

With two young children we loved that the hotel had everything we needed on site - plenty of restaurants, pools and amenities. They even have a shuttle that runs to Baytown Wharf so there is no need to battle Destin traffic. This made our trip stress-free traveling with two little ones.

We reserved beach chairs and an umbrella each day we were there and it cost $45/day. We felt that was fair considering you get beach "real estate" and you don't have to lug around chairs and an umbrella each day. My husband did some paddle boarding one day. What impressed us the most about the beach staff was that they remembered our names each day and were so helpful when we had questions.

The beach and water are beautiful and well cared for by the hotel as was the pool areas.

We lived our first stay and hope to bring back more family members and make this an annual trip. Thank you Hilton Sandestin!!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,346 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,074
    691
    287
    179
    115
See reviews for
851
611
38
492
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (439)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

My wife and I took our family of six (children 6,4,2 & 4 mo.) for an early summer trip. We were delighted with the resort. Location is excellent and beach was outstanding. Fluffy white sand and emerald green water. Don't miss the mini-golf and bike-ride to Baytown Wharf.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
133 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

We stayed at this hotel/resort for four days the first week of July. We booked several months in advance, and got a junior suite with bunk beds. The room was adequate, and met our needs. The hotel itself is beautiful with two pools outside, and one indoor pool. Our kiddos loved the pool area, and the outside restaurant ( Barefoot's Beachside Bar and Grill) was a family favorite. We got ice cream at the cafe located just off the pool area called Picnix Poolside Market which was convenient too. We also enjoyed eating at the coffee shop and Samdcastles restaurant too! Of course everything is pricey but really good too! We rented umbrellas and chairs one day so we could relax oceanfront, and I think the cost was around $45 which wasn't bad. I wanted front row, but was told they were all reserved. My relatives came a few minutes later, and were able to reserve front row. I never asked why, but I think they have no-shows and wait until after 11am and then reserve again for the afternoon. My niece and I both got our nails polished in the spa. Our manicurist was really nice, but the spa itself was just ok. Our stay was good, and our bill was accurate but my other relatives had some issues. One got charged for parking when they didn't have a car, and the others had someone from housekeeping call Africa on their phone in their room, and they also got skipped a couple of times from having their room serviced. They were able to straighten it out, and the hotel gave them free breakfast vouchers. We loved the shuttle service that this hotel offered for free. Our favorite location was going to Baytowne Wharf, and we could all have a few drinks and not worry about driving. I think it runs every thirty min, and we never waited long at all. One driver let us out near our hotel, but it was only a short walk back. All the other drivers dropped us right back to the hotel, and again we took advantage of this service. It's awesome! The staff was super nice, and very accommodating to us.

Room Tip: Our relatives stayed n the spa tower, and the rooms were beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mis4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

We had a great one night stay at this resort. Had room 118 right next to the pool and steps away from the crystal clear blue water and white sand beach! The resort is beautiful and most of the staff is very friendly and helpful. We did have an issue with the breakfast buffet restaurant the morning we were checking out. They seemed to not have it together and had a very long wait for breakfast. We went to the coffee shop to just get a breakfast sandwich instead and the girl at the counter said "Oh, we're out of all that. We will have more tomorrow." But she left the sign up on the counter. . . We went to the concierge to see what our other options for breakfast were and he got us on the list for the buffet and gave us 2 coupons for free breakfast. Definitely above and beyond! We did still have to wait for a table, but it seemed like a problem with sense of urgency from the bussers. They were ssoooo slow! We watched them cleaning tables with no quickness at all! You could tell the manager was flustered and p*ssed off, trying to get the crowd seated. Otherwise, we loved the resort and will stay again if we can get as good of a deal!

Room Tip: Bottom floor rooms next to the pool are super convenient, as you can walk right out of your sliding...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BeachGirl1216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HSBGeneralManager, Director of Food & Beverage at Hilton Sandestin Beach, Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear BeachGirl 1216,

We are thrilled that you enjoyed our beautiful resort. You’re right, our amazing white sand beaches along with our crystal clear water are a beautiful backdrop for enjoying a getaway!
Our goal is for every Guest to enjoy our food and beverage offerings, along with all of our other amenities. We will certainly make sure we look at this opportunity to better prepare ourselves for every Guest that wants to enjoy a quick breakfast before traveling home.

ANGELINA COVINGTON I Director of Food and Beverage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Metairie, LA, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

My 3 night stay was extremely pleaseant and exceede my expectations. I wouls strongly recommend the Sandestin Hilton for business or pleasure to my friends. The lobby renovation is very nice and made the hotel seem brand new.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank James D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulsa
Level Contributor
60 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

Save you and your family the headache of this "resort". It is WAY overpriced and they nickel & dine you to death.

Our room was ok, but never got cool. The water in the pool was gross looking and cloudy.

The first half of the trip we stayed at Embassy Suites! After staying there and coming here, we knew we had made the wrong decision.

There are much better places to stay then here, I would keep looking if I were you.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank OKTrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HSBGeneralManager, General Manager at Hilton Sandestin Beach, Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear OKTrav,

I appreciate your review of your recent stay at our hotel. I understand that you were unhappy with some of the charges and the water at our pool. I apologize if the charges were not clear when you booked the room.

All of our guest satisfaction is very important to us and we want to thank you for your review.

Kind Regards,

GARY BRIELMAYER I General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, LA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

We stay at this resort for 1 week every year for a conference. The hotel has recently undergone a major renovation and everything is brand new. Our beachfront room never disappoints. It is wonderful to be able to sit on the balcony and watch the sun set over the ocean. What really makes this hotel stand out is the staff. The customer service is great and ALL of the staff are friendly and courteous. Many of them take the time to learn your name and address you by your name throughout your stay. The ladies at the concierge desk are superb!!!!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveldiva820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HSBGeneralManager, General Manager at Hilton Sandestin Beach, Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear traveldiva820,

I am delighted to hear that you enjoy your annual visit with us here at the Hilton Sandestin Beach Golf Resort & Spa. The Beaches of South Walton County are among the few in the world where you can see the sun rise and set over the Gulf. We hope to see you again next year.


GARY BRIELMAYER I General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Destin hotels
1.9 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Destin - Miramar Beach
0.8 mi away
Residence Inn Sandestin at Grand Boulevard
8.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Destin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Courtyard Sandestin at Grand Boulevard
8.9 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Destin
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Destin-Sandestin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Sandestin Beach, Golf Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Sandestin Beach, Golf Resort & Spa

Property: Hilton Sandestin Beach, Golf Resort & Spa
Address: 4000 Sandestin Blvd S, Destin, FL 32550-4279
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Destin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Destin
#1 Green Hotel in Destin
#2 Spa Hotel in Destin
#4 Business Hotel in Destin
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Destin
#8 Family Hotel in Destin
#9 Romantic Hotel in Destin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Sandestin Beach, Golf Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 602
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Sandestin Beach Golf Resort & Spa offers guests beachfront paradise with six restaurants, three bars, three pools, two whirlpools, four championship golf courses and Serenity by the Sea Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Southall Travel and TravelUp so you can book your Hilton Sandestin Beach, Golf Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Sandestin Beach, Golf Hotel Destin
Hilton Sandestin Beach, Golf Resort And Spa
Hilton Hotel Destin
Hilton Destin
Hilton Sandestin Beach Resort
Sandestin Resort Hilton
Hilton Sandestin Beach, Golf Resort & Spa Destin, Florida
Destin Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing