We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“PRESIDENTIAL STAY AT REFURBISHED HILTON”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Sandestin Beach, Golf Resort & Spa
Ranked #7 of 39 Hotels in Destin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Jackson, Mississippi
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“PRESIDENTIAL STAY AT REFURBISHED HILTON”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

As a Hilton Diamond member, I have stayed at MANY Hilton hotels all around the United States including this particular hotel many times before. The last time being last July. Since then, they have TOTALLY redone the entire hotel! When I entered, my jaw dropped! It looked utterly fantastic! Before it was pretty worn (as a result of the beach environment and massive amounts of summer guests) and dark/closed off a bit...... and now????.......VERY swanky with lots of open spaces,welcome light and lots of places to sit and chat with others!

The in house restaurant (mostly for breakfast) had looked like a dark cave and now, it is blessed with a very open floor plan which does not make you feel like you are being punished by being seated in the back room. The entire restaurant afford a view of the rest of the lobby and bar across the walkway. (Am going to review Sandcastles and Hadashi in another review) Speaking of the bar, it too looks fantastic. The old bar was a bit small and shabby and it has been transformed into a "real" bar with a mirror behind the bottles of liquor and is much larger. The adjoing sushi bar, HADASHI is still located here but has been afforded many more table for their dining customers. There is also a HUGE flat screen television off to the side with comfy couches and chairs for those not wanting to drink or eat but just hang out.

Now lets talk about the rooms.....WOW!......We stayed in the older and original part of the hotel which only has nine floors and was lucky to have booked the PRESIDENTIAL SUITE. We stayed in that type of room last year and while it was nice, really not impressive and worth the money. After being redone, it is totally worth the money!. As you walk into the room, you are immediately met with two huge "port holes" which give an outstanding view of the Gulf! I love the bamboo flooring throughout. There is a dining room table, coffe maker, fridge in the common area along with a glass sliding door that opens up to the West side of the Gulf. This balcony is shared with the master bedroom, which adjoins the dining room. The master bathroom has a jacuzzi tub, a large tiled shower and a water room. On the opposite side of the dining room, I was pleasantly surprised by another FULL bathroom! Yippie! The old suite only had an additional 1/2 bath. Upon further investigation, I found that the second bathroom had a steam shower in it as well! Double score! The living room is very large and has floor to celing windows which again, afford another spectacular view of the Gulf head on. Nice flat screen television on top of a large credenza (good for extra storage of clothes when travelling with more than two people). The old suites did NOT have a pull out sofa, which I always found strange but the new suite has a nice queen pull out from a big sectional sofa. There is also another balcony off of the living room which faces East and the entire pool area. There is a closet in between the second bathroom an living room which has a safe but no actual poll to hang clothes on, which was disappointing as the master closet is a standard sized closet. Had to call Housekeeping for more hangers. Beware: there is NO mini bar anymore :(

All in all, the suites are much nicer and larger. What they did, is take the two older rooms at the end of the hall facing the Gulf, East and West, and combined them into a Presidential Suite. Nicely done.

Have to finish on the "work out" facility....It is, and always has been, geared to cardio work outs. There are plenty of treadmils, elipticals, and upright bikes. There are a few weight machines and a cable machine but there were only ONE set of attachments for the cable machine (two handles). There was no curl bar for biceps and triceps, no rope or straight bar for pulldowns. There are dumbells but only two benches. Lame. Either upgrade the room and weights or get rid of the only two weight machines they have.

Side note: If you can afford it, get a cabana for the day out by the pool area. You get it from 9:00 am-11:00 pm and you get unlimited water and a large bottle of sunscreen of your choice with the cabana fee. Don't forget to tip your helpers!!

Room Tip: Stay in the older part of the hotel, which only has seven floors opposed to the new wing that has ab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sonja U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,518 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,169
    729
    305
    190
    125
See reviews for
933
650
42
530
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (463)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
FAYETTEVILLE
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

This has been the best trip to the Hilton resort here in Sandestin yet. We have stayed here several times now and the place is just awesome. No place is perfect and this hotel certainly isn't but when you point out something or ask for something the staff is very attentive and courteous. I will definitely stay here again.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank MARY S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We visit Destin at least once a year and love to stay at The Hilton. Its located right on the ocean and have any and everything you could possibly ask for right there on the property. Nice and helpful staff and the seafood buffet on Friday and Saturday is excellent. Breakfast is always amazing. There are so many activities for the kids as well. They include a tram to the Baytown Wharf where there are live shows, shops and so much entertainment. This is one of my favorite vacation spots.

Room Tip: Choose a room on a higher level to overlook the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shamika G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Really liked the extra vanity area outside of the bathroom. Kinda like a "his & hers" dressing area set-up. Loved the balcony, room on second floor near elevator---but it was still quiet. Early check-in and later check out available. Hilton Honors member perks...

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Swampcountry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noblesville, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

I thought the Hilton was suppose to be a nice place to stay. The trash at the end of the hall wasn't emptied for four days. Guests started stacking trash and pizza boxes on the floor. After our room was cleaned, a new pair of shoes were gone, and even with the sales slip with the date of purchase proving they were purchased new in Destin, we received no reimbursement; the refrigerator hadn't been cleaned after the previous guests' stay--we had to dispose of the leftovers ourselves; the night stands were sticky; the sink stopper was broken; balcony table was broken; and the lock on the sliding glass was broken. Save your money--stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 265Disappointed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HSBGeneralManager, General Manager at Hilton Sandestin Beach, Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Thank you for sharing your candid feedback regarding your past stay with us at the Hilton Sandestin Beach. We regret that we fell short of offering you a completely comfortable stay. Your concerns about the trash left in the hallways is being addressed and we apologize for any discomfort this caused you.

In addition, we also regret the unfortunate experience you had regarding the missing shoes and invite you to contact us directly if you would like to discuss your concerns further.

GARY BRIELMAYER I General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Festus, Missouri
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We were pleasantly surprised when we walked in and had a balcony view of the ocean! I brought my husband and 2 daughters on the trip and they loved the bunk beds and own tv! What a great touch! The only thing I would say, is that the elevators were EXTREMELY slow. Other than that everything was on par!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Melissa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Destin, Florida, has some of the finest beaches in the world. The quality of the sand, water and amenities make it a great place for a family vacation without having to leave the continental United States. The Sandestin Hilton offers a variety of accommodations for reasonable rates with service that ranges from bare-bones to all-out pampering. You can dine in your room, you can dine cafeteria-style or you can choose pool-side, beach-side or fine dining at their award winning restaurant. There is also a wide variety of off property dining as well as excellent shopping. Destin offers every imaginable diversion for the kids and family, you can go diving, parasailing, deep-sea fishing, on dolphin viewing trips or you can get up early and watch from your balcony as dolphins, manatees and giant schools of fish and rays swim by the hotel beach. You have three pools to chose from with poolside drinking and dining and the beach offers umbrella, lounge chair and dining services. To top it all off the hotel supplies you with pool and beach towels, something that cannot be underrated! On the beach itself you will find that it is freshly cleaned every morning, there are paddleboard and kayak rentals and the waters of Destin compare to the best of the Carribean, Aegean or South Pacific. The sand is a clean white powder and the waters are usually warm and calm. While you can rent a condominium in Destin, literally next door to the Sandestin Hilton, for less than half the cost of renting at the Hilton, you will not get the service, convenience or fantastic beds that the Hilton offers. We have stayed there 3 times in the past year, my wife refuses to stay anywhere that does not have good beds, clean linens and cold air conditioning. The Hilton offers all of the above plus a soft, wonderful down comforter that is a lightweight delight to sleep under in a cold room. While I do pale a bit at the cost of last minute reservations at the Sandestin Hilton the management and staff are always very accommodating and I would highly recommend it to family and business travelers.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
2 Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Destin hotels
1.9 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Destin - Miramar Beach
6.3 mi away
The Henderson - A Salamander Beach & Spa Resort
0.8 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Sandestin at Grand Boulevard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Destin
0.9 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Sandestin at Grand Boulevard
7.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Destin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Sandestin Beach, Golf Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Sandestin Beach, Golf Resort & Spa

Property: Hilton Sandestin Beach, Golf Resort & Spa
Address: 4000 Sandestin Blvd S, Destin, FL 32550-4279
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Destin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Destin
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Destin
#2 Spa Hotel in Destin
#4 Business Hotel in Destin
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Destin
#8 Family Hotel in Destin
#9 Romantic Hotel in Destin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Sandestin Beach, Golf Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 602
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Sandestin Beach Golf Resort & Spa offers guests beachfront paradise with six restaurants, three bars, three pools, two whirlpools, four championship golf courses and Serenity by the Sea Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Hilton Hotels Direct, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Sandestin Beach, Golf Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Sandestin Beach, Golf Hotel Destin
Hilton Sandestin Beach, Golf Resort And Spa
Hilton Hotel Destin
Hilton Destin
Hilton Sandestin Beach Resort
Sandestin Resort Hilton
Hilton Sandestin Beach, Golf Resort & Spa Destin, Florida
Destin Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing