We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Sandestin Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Sandestin Beach, Golf Resort & Spa
Ranked #8 of 38 Hotels in Destin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 9 October 2009

My husband and I returned to Destin for our yearly vacation to the beach. We stayed in the Sandestin Hilton, as we always do, and thoroughly enjoyed every minute. The hotel is a city in itself with all the amenities that you could possibly need. The rooms are huge with balconies and wonderful views of the ocean and are complete with a microwave and refrigerator. The breakfast buffet and Seagar's restaurant, both in the hotel, are fantastic. The hotel has a Spa and Workout room with cardio and weight machines and free weights. The poolside experience is great with a poolside restaurant that serves fantastic hamburgers and Shrimp and Crab appetizers by any of the 3 pools. I would recommend the hotel to anyone that wants to live it up.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GirlsOnlyTrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,706)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,486 - 2,492 of 2,706 reviews

Reviewed 8 October 2009

We live in Florida, but this was our first trip to explore the North Florida "Emerald Coast" on the Gulf, and we got very lucky. We picked the perfect spot, and got in on a bargain price as well. We had heard that Destin was a beautiful spot. Studying Google maps, we could see that it was way out in the water and worth a day trip from Panama City. But then we found a bargain deal on Sandestin Hilton and we were on our way. What really made it fantastic was the fact that Sandsestin Hilton is right on the beach within an upscale golf resort. And we were a short drive to the wonderful dunes that we visited every day at Ft. Walton Beach. Celebrating over 25 years of award-winning service, we enjoyed our stay in the an upper room of Spa Tower - a huge room with a larger than hotel room refrigerator and a second sink/dressing room, large heated indoor pool and lots of extras at the playhouse/outside bar area. Paradise! Parking was extra, and in-room internet was extra so we actually stayed offline except when we used our laptop in the lobby or lounge areas. It was a good thing! Oh and it is close to great shopping at the famous brand outlet mall.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MJReynolds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2009

My husband and I used Hilton points and got a free king room - no upgrades available b/c hotel was booked (many weddings that same weekend). We just did a one night get away and the room was nicer than I remembered (having stayed many years ago), and the service was great (esp at the bar downstairs).

We planned to eat at Tim Creehan's Beach Walk restaurant, but it was booked for a wedding, so at the recommendation of the waitress in the hotel bar, we decided on Segar's in the Hilton (she made our reservations too). This was nice b/c we didn't have to leave the hotel and could take a walk on the beach after dinner. The food and service was GREAT! The staff treated us to dessert to celebrate our anniversary and went out of their way to make us comfortable. The meal was a little pricey, but well worth it.

Shopping was close by too - at the Silver Sands outlet mall which was an added bonus.

Overall a very nice, quick, adult getaway.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chickadee46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2009

Just returned from our first visit. It was an average Hilton hotel. We stayed in the Spa Tower. The walls were scuffed and dirty. View was good and room was clean just needed to be renovated or at least painted. Breakfast buffet was fine. Not much of a crowd anywhere on the property. I did notice that the trash could be picked up in the pool and beach area. I stepped over the same cigarette trash for 5 days on the pool deck. That is simply unacceptable and disgusting. Honestly never set foot on the beach in front of the hotel. I just was too crowded and did not look clean.
We ate in Seagars restaurant. Very expensive but very good food and service. Also went to the Marlin Grill and Graffitti at the Baytowne Wharf area across the street.
Visited the Spa it was lovely.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank clrlar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2009

I am a HHonors Diamond member for 5 years and travel often. I booked with this hotel for a relaxing weekend. Prior to leaving son fell sick and we were told not to travel by doctor. Hotel employees would not cancel reservation, charged my credit card and have refused to credit my account. I have fought with HHonors and the hotel with no luck. Please take my advice and DO NOT stay with this hotel or any Hilton family hotel if you can. There are too many other choices out there to have to settle for this. I was told by the hotel manager that she didn’t care if I ever stayed at another Hilton again because her hotel was independently owned. How's that for friendly service.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank commonsense912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2009

I visited the sandestin beach hilton in june with my family and three kids. when we arrived at check in time our room wasn't ready! we had to wait an addition hour for our room which i thought was rediculous coming from a hilton hotel! THE HILTON SANDESTIN BEACH ISNT EVEN IN DESTIN IT'S 8 MILES DOWN THE ROAD AND IN TRAFFIC IT COULD TAKE 45 MIN TO GET TO DESTIN!!! we were also disipointed with the hidden costs!!!! I WAS INFORMED AFTER when i got my bill on my credit card that they charged almost $11.00 a day to SELF park!!! beach chairs are extra, to reserve a lounge chair at the beach it cost money, or else you wont get one!!! there is a pool towel charge of 11.00 per towel if not returned. My kids wanted ice cream and picnix was always closed early!! the guy at the concierge desk was extremely rude!!! We stayed in the jounior suite wich smelled moldy and the walls were paper thin!!! EVEN the elevators sounded like they were under maintained!!! THE ONLY THING THE HILTON HAS GOING FOR IT IS THE BEAUTIFUL SUGAR WHITE BEACHES!!!

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank northeastman18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2009

Loved the Sandestin Hilton the first time we stayed in May 2007. However, when we checked in they gave us the key to a room that was already occupied – so we walked in on a family, luckily they were only watching TV and thought it was hilarious. Once this was sorted out we enjoyed the King Junior Suite with partial view. It appears that all of the rooms on this side of the hotel have been recently remolded with fresh décor, bunk beds for the kids with their own flat screen tv, double vanities – one with a lighted mirror for the ladies. The view from the thirteenth floor was great and we enjoyed sitting on the balcony.

In July 2009, we took an Executive King with a partial view on the sixth floor of the Spa Tower. None of the rooms in this tower have been renovated. The room was clean and served its purpose, however the decoration is blah and dated. None of the fun amenities of the King Junior Suite. The balcony overlooked the pool and had a decent view of the beach. The service was friendly and the drinks at the bar were great (not the usual hotel watered down version).

We went back to enjoy the “off season” in September 2009. “Off” was a great way to describe this visit. It was nice that the hotel, pool and parking lot were nearly empty that week. However, the availability of service was absent as well. The staff was checked out. Housekeeping was hit or miss. The bar at the beach was closed most of the time. The towel stand was abandoned. Picnix, our usual spot for an ice cream or quick sandwich, closed at 1:00 pm rather that the usual 7:00 or 8:00 pm.

We booked the Executive King with partial beach view several weeks in advance through the hotel, explaining this was a special trip to celebrate our anniversary. However, this room on the third floor had a lovely view of the parking lot and our balcony hung directly over the Finz restaurant patio which is next door to the hotel. There was a view of the beach about a foot or so wide at an angle from the balcony.

We had the bellman call the front desk as soon as we entered the room to ask for something else, but oddly nothing was available. My husband called the front desk and explained that the room was unacceptable and was told there were no other rooms. He asked to speak to the manager, who stated we could have a room on the same side of the hotel in two days if we wanted to move. We decided not the waste our time since there was not much difference. The manager also explained that if you have a one inch view of the beach from your room the hotel considers it a “partial view.” We were completely deflated by this considering the other two positive experiences we had prior and expected great service since the hotel was literally vacant. There were times during the day when you would be one of five people at the pool…yet no other accommodations were available for a Hilton Honor’s member. We kept our curtains closed so the folks dining at the restaurant couldn’t see in. We made a point not to spend any additional money in the hotel and will definitely find a new spot for our next visit to Destin.

The Hilton Sandestin’s service is inconsistent and not up to par during the off season. We would recommend the hotel as an average place to stay, but with some reservation during the off season.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank UrbanSuburban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Destin hotels
1.9 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Destin - Miramar Beach
6.3 mi away
The Henderson - A Salamander Beach & Spa Resort
0.9 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Sandestin at Grand Boulevard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Sandestin at Grand Boulevard
8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Destin
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Destin-Sandestin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Sandestin Beach, Golf Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Sandestin Beach, Golf Resort & Spa

Address: 4000 Sandestin Blvd S, Destin, FL 32550-4279
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Destin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Destin
#1 Green Hotel in Destin
#2 Spa Hotel in Destin
#4 Business Hotel in Destin
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Destin
#7 Family Hotel in Destin
#9 Romantic Hotel in Destin
Price Range: £150 - £394 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Sandestin Beach, Golf Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 602
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Sandestin Beach Golf Resort & Spa offers guests beachfront paradise with six restaurants, three bars, three pools, two whirlpools, four championship golf courses and Serenity by the Sea Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Sandestin Beach, Golf Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Sandestin Beach, Golf Hotel Destin
Hilton Sandestin Beach, Golf Resort And Spa
Hilton Hotel Destin
Hilton Destin
Hilton Sandestin Beach Resort
Sandestin Resort Hilton
Hilton Sandestin Beach, Golf Resort & Spa Destin, Florida
Destin Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing