We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Room and Beach Area”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Resorts of Pelican Beach
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Room and Beach Area”
Reviewed 31 May 2013

I stayed in Room 1114. This room was excellent, well maintained and clean. The staff was excellent. The location is next to everything. The only thing I would complain is there could have been dishwashing detergent and extra trash bags. Other than that I would stay here again. The place has an area where they have gas grills built in for you to grill. I booked my room through the resort. Again loved this place.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Smack2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    155
    116
    67
    35
    28
See reviews for
221
65
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, GA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

The beach; it's Destin - beautiful white soft sand, clear water out to 100yds or so (with good wx). That is throughout the entire area so that didn't way much into this review because it's not resort specific. But rest assured, the beach will be great just about wherever you stay in the area.

Good location; within walking distance of many good restaurants - the good shopping areas you would need to drive to...also for the better nightlife spots, as traffic/parking can be a bear, try to walk if you are up for it or take a taxi - nothing worse than ruining your mood trying to find a parking spot before the night begins, plus it's safer at the end of the night and everyone can enjoy themselves :)

The rooms; very clean and in great shape but we stayed in an owners room so they only thing the resort did was clean - it was clean. All the rooms are different and amenities/qualities are supplied for the owner so that didn't factor into the resort rating.

Now the part that bothered me to the point that will probably keep me from going back to this particular location...the chair/umbrella set up. Around 7-8am they set out a slew of chairs and umbrellas all along the best spots facing the water - depending on how busy they are (we were there MDW - so very busy) the chair/umbrella set up can go about 10 deep all along their property. Once they get the couple hundred chairs and the fifty-hundred umbrellas set, they open all the umbrellas even if the people they are reserved for arent there or they arent rented yet so this absolutely kills the view for people that bring their own chairs or just don't want to pay $7/hr, $20/half day, $30/day rates....and still only the front couple rows of people can see the water.

So, if you dont plan on waking up before everyone else and staking out your spot with tons of towels/chairs/etc, you will have a crap view the entire day and you will have to awkwardly dodge through the sea of umbrellas to get to the actual sea (ok, gulf...)...just take a look at the pictures people have taken looking at the beach, as far as you can see left/right, this resort is the only one with massive amounts of chairs and umbrellas set out, limiting the prime spots.

If they wanted to fix this, all they would need to do is set them out on request, if they are finished for the day, they remove them - done. The way they do it now is forcing you to pay more money to have a decent spot - and why else does anyone go to the beach?

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SunAtTheBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 May 2013

The only good thing I have to say about PBR is that the place is clean. Very clean. Kudos to the maids.

However, right from the start the front desk employees seemed annoyed that my requests and questions forced them to do their jobs. I am currently staying in #1910 (from May 9 - May 20) and the minute I entered the unit I was displeased. Something that could have doubled as a laptop monitor was put in the bedroom to pass for a television. The television in the living room had cables dangling from it and I had to connect everything myself and in the end I couldn't connect the DVD player because a component cable was needed. I placed a call to the front desk to request a resolution. 30 minutes later I called again and they were unaware of my request. It took a third call to get a guy from maintenance to show up. When he showed up he had a composite a/v cable. I told him (and the front desk, BTW) that a component a/v cable was needed because the t.v. didn't have a composite a/v connection. He ignored me and fiddled with the t.v. for more than 40 minutes. Its still not working. Even something as trivial as coffee filters seemed like an insurmountable task for them. They provide sample coffee but no filter?!?!?!? This is nowhere near "Service Excellence" DON'T WASTE YOUR TIME OR YOUR MONEY WHEN THERE ARE BETTER QUALITY OPTIONS AVAILABLE TO YOU VERY NEARBY.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank serendrewpity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wayland, mi
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2013

Stayed in a one bedroom on the 5th floor with myself and three 18 year old girls. Perfect location. Easy access from beach to room. We could even talk to eachother if someone was in the room and someone was on the beach. Nice to be in the middle of town, the girls could easily walk to places or stores they wanted to go. Easier to walk than drive in Destin, the traffic is nasty. Doing a left turn is scary.

The beach is beautiful. Great place to hang out for a week. We did not rent chairs but had plenty of room to sit in our own chairs behind the rentals.

The resort is very nice and has alot of security. The beach bar was nice for frozen drinks. The store/cafe was nice to pick up ice, pop, lotion etc without going to town. Would definately come again. Very convenient and user friendly. :)

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luluwayland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, GA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Pelican Beach is perfect for people of all ages. It is in the heart of Destin and close to everything. You are only steps away from the beautiful Destin beaches. We can not wait to go back. We love staying on the higher floors because watching the sunset is amazing. During the summer months they have a bar next to the beach.

Room Tip: The higher the floor the better the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chrisandjoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Just returned....Had a pleasant experience. Front desk helpful. Did not utilize cafe. Beach nice ..busy. Loved the security men at the front gate-pleasant and loved their salutes!. Plenty of resturants and places to do with kids around the area-would recommend highly again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jwhitezec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2013

The resort sits right on the beach, were on the 17th floor, every morning going straight to the balcony,Our condo was all stainlesss steel applicances, loved the kitchen,very clean condo every untensil you need and then some, I even baked some cookies, eating breakfast, listening to ocean,was such a blessing. The beach chairs are a litte pricing to rent, most of the time the girls stayed in the pool and why'll I was on the beach reading and the made some friends. The location was convient to everything, Front desk was so helpful on everything, We will defintely be back!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Cassandra119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Destin hotels
7.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Destin - Miramar Beach
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Destin
0.2 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Destin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Residence Inn Sandestin at Grand Boulevard
0.9 mi away
SummerPlace Inn
SummerPlace Inn
#13 of 39 in Destin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Henderson - A Salamander Beach & Spa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Resorts of Pelican Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Resorts of Pelican Beach

Property: Resorts of Pelican Beach
Address: 1002 Highway 98 E, Destin, FL 32541-2992
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Destin
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 56 Speciality Lodging in Destin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Resorts of Pelican Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 345
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pelican Beach Resort and Conference Center and the Terrace at Pelican Beach are located in the heart of Destin. Pelican Beach Resort includes 340 gulf-front and gulf-view condominium units, 19 floor high-rise with 1 and 2 bedroom units. The Terrace includes 95 units lakefront views with 2 and 3 bedroom condominium units.Guests at either property can use the facilities at both, which include 3 large pools, one kiddie pool, two hot tubs, two fitness centers, two saunas, tennis, and an arcade/game room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Resorts of Pelican Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resorts Of Pelican Beach Hotel Destin
Pelican Beach Resort Destin
Resorts Of Pelican Beach Destin, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing