We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to relax at the beach”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hidden Dunes Beach & Tennis Resort
Ranked #18 of 39 Hotels in Destin
Certificate of Excellence
Ocean Springs, MS
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Nice place to relax at the beach”
Reviewed 13 August 2009

We visited Hidden Dunes for a wedding with a group of about 80 adults, teenagers & younger children.

We all stayed in the 2 bedroom cottages, those with kids chose the 2 bedroom with a loft. The grounds were very nice, natural landscaping that reminded me of Seaside, FL. It is a gated property and the rooms are a pretty good ways from the road - no road noise because the natural setting concealed it. The inside of the cottages could use an update (some more than others since they are individually owned), but for the price - no complaints. The rooms were clean and stocked with everything you could need in the kitchen. Nice big bathtubs and the master bath had a jacuzzi tub. We enjoyed the screened porches, sitting around, chatting and having a cocktail. Ok, one complaint, I never saw a BBQ grill. I could have just missed it but...

The cottages are a good walk to the beach but there is a golf cart 'taxi' that comes around and will take you back & forth. The beach, as usual, was the beautiful Emerald Coast Beach we love. The water was a little rough but the kids loved playing in the waves. The cottages had a pool & the condo had a pool at the beach. Since the bride & groom were staying there we were able to access it as well.

The property location is very near Destin Commons and the Outlet Mall, tons of dining options, a Publix and entertainment.

The bride & groom were in the highrise condo right on the beach. These were a little more upgraded than most of the cottages, nice & big with a nice size balcony overlooking the beach.

The wedding was beautiful on the beach at sunset. The reception was held outside the conference room inside the property overlooking a pond, nice location.

Overall we had a fun trip and would definitely recommend Hidden Dunes.

  • Stayed August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank no1conner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    26
    11
    8
    6
See reviews for
93
14
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
1 review
Reviewed 4 June 2009

We stayed at a Carolina cottage at Hidden Dunes. The surroundings were beautiful with magnolias and gardenias in full bloom. The pool was huge and only a few people using it. I loved the rooms and the screened porch was perfect !! I'd highly recommend this. The walk to the beach was about 1/3 mile, but we enjoyed the walk, viewing the lake and fountains. There is a tram that will pick you up if you can't walk that distance. I would certainly come back to this place again.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KathyPMichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, KY
1 review
Reviewed 26 February 2009

We loved our stay, and had a good time. However, the room could have been a little cleaner.. Everywhere I turned in both bathrooms on the counter was numerous hairs. Granted I am a neat freak, but that was just gross. How could there be that many hairs if they cleaned the place... Also, the first shower we took the tub stopped up.. Again, if they cleaned the tub, it would have been easy to tell it was draining extremely slow. So much so I had to turn it off in the middle of my shower, and let water drain out.. That being said the shower actually did look clean, shower curtain was clean... Floor in beach cottage was clean... Overall it wasn't bad, just in my opinion could have been a little better. The beach was great, and it was a little walk, but not too bad , even with my 2 year old. However, I am planning another trip to Destin right now, and I won't be coming back to Hidden Dunes.. I have found less expensive condos closer to the beach...

  • Stayed April 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank ojdailey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carbondale, il
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2008

This was a very nice place! We stayed in a cottage and it was very roomy and loved the screened in porch. there was 8 of us staying there and we had plenty of room. We where about a 10 minute walk from beach but the tram ran all day long and all you had to do was call and they were there to pick you up in 5 minutes. The beach was huge and very nice. They had 3 pools we only went in the bigger one and it was very nice and the hot tub was great. The place had a tropical feel and had paths and fountains all over the property. It also had a basketball court wich was great for my boys. Great place for people with families. Baytowne Wharf was very close and that is a great place to go. I will return for sure!!

  • Liked — Beach and the price
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank clbuzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2008

There are 5 of us currently staying at cottage #174 here at Hidden Dunes. It's a lovely 2 bedroom cottage beautifully decorated and tucked in among the tropical foliage with the fountain right outside our window. It's very quiet here with mostly families of young children. The walk to the beach is just a few minutes away, even with my 18 month old grandson we have no need to take the shuttle to the beach. We reported a minor repair with the toilet, and the maintenance man had it fixed in no time. I love the location of Hidden Dunes. It's just on the eastern side of Destin away from alot of the major traffic.
We are boarding our 2 dogs at Dog Days kennels (850 650-3647) which is located about 2 blocks when you cross over the bridge. We were very impressed with the owner-she was very sweet transitioning the dogs to their kennels. She let them stay with her in the office while they got used to their surroundings. We picked them up the next day to take them out for a drive and walk, and upon dropping them back off at the kennel, they didn't seem to protest at all:)
Overall, we're having a wonderful time relaxing here in Destin and I would highly recommend Hidden Dunes for a great place to stay!

  • Liked — cleanliness, decor, location
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank cytosue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2008

My family (and 2 friends) stayed here for a few days around the 4th of July last summer. We stayed in a ground-floor cottage. We loved the "jungle" atmosphere with palmetto plants and other foliage shading our screened patio. We were just a few hundred feet from the Cottage Pool, which was large, peaceful, and well-kept. We either walked to the beach or called for the shuttle. The walk was enjoyable, as we passed another pool and walked near the lake.

Our unit was nicely furnished (typical Florida condo) and well-equipped. The washer and dryer in the unit was a real asset!

The beach is gorgeous. Search for pics on f l i c k e r . c o m.

My only complaint (most would find this a plus) is that Hidden Dunes is not in the "thick of things" in Destin. My teens really want to be near all those other teens near Shoreline Towers. Oh, well, I'll keep this place as my retreat!

  • Liked — Cool green landscape views
  • Disliked — Pool at Gulfside Building was for Gulfside units only; made me feel second class and was not expected (4 pools!)
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Jen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2007

We just returned from a week in one of the cottages at The Hidden Dunes and could not have been more pleased. Although the property is a bit older, it is very clean and well maintaned. Our two bedroom cottage was spacious enough for four adults and two children. We enjoyed the pool and the outdoor grills that were just steps away from our unit's screened-in porch. Our kitchen had everything we needed for meal preparation and we were able to shop for groceries at the nearby Bruno's supermarket. Although we were expecting groceries to be expensive, we were pleasantly surprised to learn that they cost about the same as they do here at home.

Though we were about 1/4 mile from the beach, the walking trails made the walk pleasant. They also offer a shuttle servce by golf cart which made it even easier. The beach was beautiful and kept clean by the Beach Services staff. Beach chairs and umbrellas are available for rent for the day or for the entire week. We found their rates to be quite reasonable and really enjoyed being able to relax in the shade. The water was crystal clear and since the surf was very low, even our young children were brave enough to go into the water.

Destin is perfect for a family beach vacation and The Hidden Dunes is a great place to stay. We are already looking forward to our next trip!!!

  • Liked — the layout and location of our cottage
  • Disliked — the traffic on 98 can be heavy
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank rhysandzoesmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Destin hotels
1.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Destin - Miramar Beach
5.6 mi away
The Henderson - A Salamander Beach & Spa Resort
1.2 mi away
Courtyard Sandestin at Grand Boulevard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Destin
6.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Destin
1.4 mi away
Residence Inn Sandestin at Grand Boulevard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hidden Dunes Beach & Tennis Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hidden Dunes Beach & Tennis Resort

Property: Hidden Dunes Beach & Tennis Resort
Address: 9815 US Highway 98 W, Destin, FL 32550-4969
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Destin
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Destin
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Destin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hidden Dunes Beach & Tennis Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hidden Dunes Beach & Tennis Resort is nestled within a 27-acre, wooded area with beautiful beach front. The resort features Gulf-front condominiums, lakeside villas and Carolina cottages -- along with an excellent staff ready to fulfill your vacation needs. The onsite tennis center features six Rubico, clay courts, USPTA trained professionals and great activities and events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hidden Dunes Beach & Tennis Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hidden Dunes Beach & Tennis Hotel Destin
Hidden Dunes Beach And Tennis Resort
Hidden Dunes Beach & Tennis Resort Destin, Florida
Hidden Dunes Destin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing