We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best place I've ever stayed in Destin”
Review of Old Pier Motel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Destin
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Old Pier Motel
Ranked #26 of 55 Speciality Lodging in Destin
Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The best place I've ever stayed in Destin”
Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

Love this place. And they also have 2 other places. Larger, suited for more people. Wonderful owner. Sweet kind and helpful. Really have no desire to stay anywhere else. They have it all. Big and small! !!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Kimberly7ro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    3
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
8
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

This trip was a side trip from our Tampa vacation, to visit a family friend. It was my son and I. We did go to the beach one afternoon. It was walking distance, and towels and chairs were provided. The room was quiet, and the bed was comfortable. My son slept on the couch, and that was fine as well. The cost of the room was worthwhile if you were spending all your time at the beach, due to it being walking distance, but we really just needed a place to sleep. So for our needs, it was too much to spend. However, we really enjoyed the beach!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shannon6060842
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tulsa
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

If you want to be right by the beach,you won't find a better price! Kathy was wonderful they have a Shed full of lawn chairs& umbrellas she will tell you that you can borrow anything you want except the lawnmower and her Cadillac,the only downside is no pool

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Samjop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Robert, MO
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

A nice place to stay for the money, very comfortable, close to the beach and very relaxing. Enjoyed the stay very much. Me and my three sisters and a niece stayed two nights and had a very nice time, spent the day on the beach, which is a short walking distance from the house that we stayed in behind the motel. The owner of the motel also owns homes and that is where we stayed.

Room Tip: The owner of the motel also has homes, we stayed in a bungalow behind the motel and it a good choice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Glenda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Augustine, Florida, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

"The Old Lady at the Old Pier".....that's what she called herself when we pulled in, drawn in by the sign along the beach. A very good left turn as we look back upon our gulf coast, no reservation, exploration vacation.
We had checked a lot of places along the beach in the Destin area. Not having unlimited funds, we were ready to go stay somewhere on/off of 98.
That sign and that left turn led us to "The Old Pier".
We did not expect much. But the place was wonderful. Maybe a bit older, but we like that. It was as clean as could be and more private than any of those condos along the beach.
It all turned out great. A half block walk to the beach saved hundreds per night.
Great place, Great people, affordable for a blue collar type to stay at the beach.
Hint: the old lady didn't seem the type to take any crap! In other words, don't plan a keg party here without permission! lol.

Thanks for a great stay!
Dan & Lisa
St. Augustine, FL

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Dan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murfreesboro, Tennessee
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

My husband, young daughter and I recently stayed at both cottages at the Old Pier Motel in Destin after a last-minute booking. We were recommended to this establishment by another hotel that was booked. We saw the other glowing reviews here on TripAdvisor and we were not disappointed by our experience! The cottages were extremely clean and included full kitchens, outdoor showers, beach chairs and toys for our use, and comfortable beds. Beach access was very close (only a short walk) and the hotel was in a very convenient location. Best of all was the price - most of the vacation rentals charge twice what Old Pier charges per night! We had a blast and we will definitely be back in Summer 2014 for a much longer stay!

Room Tip: If you have a family, the cottages are a great choice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank angelmachine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarksville, Indiana, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2013

Absolutely great place to stay!!! The rooms were very clean, had everything you could possibly need or want!!! Ms Kathy was great, offered to get things for us from the grocery store!!! What other hotel/motel would do that! Very short walk to the beach and it was fabulous!!! I will most definitely stay again!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lisalewis2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Destin hotels
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Destin E - Commons Mall Area
5.4 mi away
Village Inn of Destin
Village Inn of Destin
#31 of 39 in Destin
267 reviews
0.1 mi away
Crystal Sands Condominiums
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Coral Reef Club
Coral Reef Club
#19 of 55 in Destin
27 reviews
0.6 mi away
Crystal Dunes Resort
Crystal Dunes Resort
#51 of 55 in Destin
13 reviews
0.3 mi away
Nantucket Rainbow Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Pier Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Pier Motel

Property: Old Pier Motel
Address: 65 Pompano St, Destin, FL 32541-3692
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Destin
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 55 Speciality Lodging in Destin
Also Known As:
Old Pier Motel Destin, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing