We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Completely...Adequate.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Holiday Surf & Racquet Club
Certificate of Excellence
Ocean Springs, MS
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Completely...Adequate.”
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Ended up here as a last-minute July 4th weekend rental. The rooms were clean and the facility was in overall good functioning condition. The location is excellen! Mother Nature didn't cooperate so, the close proximity to pretty much everything was great. We did get a chance to go snorkeling around the jetty just East of the condo. Great spot.

My review is fairly neutral, I realize. But that's the way I feel about the place. Been to better, been to worse. I do feel that it was a fair value for the price.

If you MUST have WiFi, be sure to get a lower level room or at least one located near the center of the building. Out on the ends of this V-shaped building, WiFi was almost nonexistant. Plan on working on your laptop or tablet from the lobby.

Room Tip: If you MUST have WiFi, be sure to get a lower level room or at least one located near the center of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BigOilMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    53
    19
    9
    5
See reviews for
86
36
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Madisonville, Louisiana
1 review
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We just got back and I fell in love with the beach all over again. We stayed in unit 708 and like all the units, it had great views of the beach. Probably the best part about staying at HSRC was the free chair rentals. It was nice not to have to lug the chairs and umbrella down with all the other stuff. If you came expecting great wifi, don't get your hopes up. They said coverage is best the closer you are to the balcony it's not great...at all. The furniture was nice in our unit. Appears to be fairly new. Beds were comfortable. The only thing they could do better in that unit is update it into this decade. We would definitely stay here again, even in that room. The amenities are superb and the staff very helpful. It's a 5 minute car ride to the grocery store. I'd give it 5 stars if the unit was updated. Maybe next year.

Room Tip: Rooms on the west side of the building do get the morning sun. So if you're looking to sleep in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chad H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013

Great location....love the beachfront property and gorgeous views from the balcony .....not to mention the " freebies".....unit 513 is extra nice, super clean......lots of things to do after beach hours

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Perryschoolguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vaiden, Mississippi
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

12 of us were down in July and shared 2 condos. Both condos were very nice and clean. We had great views of the beach. The location was great for the Harbor walk, malls, and grocery stores. Would definitely go back again.

Room Tip: All the condos have a balcony that face the ocean. I would recommend that you take an upper condo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Parker Holly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, Alabama
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

What Holiday Surf & Racquet Club lacks in gleaming, trendy, spit-shined and polished condos on the beach-front, it more than makes up for in incredible location, friendly staff (inside and outside), and overall comfort just steps away from the sugar-white sand. Our extended family (18 people overall) rented four separate condos and had a wonderful week of beach, pool, tennis and fishing. Holiday Isle is a gem and is much less crowded than what happens on Hwy 98. The team at Holiday Surf is quite friendly and Scott (the chair/umbrella guru) is great for recommendations on just about anything. Having two first floor units was a key given the elevators are a little old and slow. There were also some renovations going on around the property, which didn't bother us too badly. We will be back again and look forward to the next visit.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2013

At $300/night I would expect a lot more than just beach and location. I have traveled the world and I know what $300/ night should get you. If location to the busiest most tourists you can be near is what you like in a location, this is it. If paying a lot of money to not have free WiFi as advertised, electricity that randomly works, mold in your bathroom, pool that is constantly shut down for chemical imbalances, stained carpets, no washer/dryer in units (only a few units offer this) but you can pay for laundry on 4th floor, and knobs falling off cabinets, just to name a few, then this is your place. The biggest complaint is the inconsistency here. You have some rooms beautifully upgraded for the same price as ones that were updated 20 years ago! If I wanted to stay at a camp I would have and for much less. They did however spend a great deal of money installing a security gate this year they are very proud of. Speaking of security, Security guard at night is no help when your electricity goes out, I was told to find the electric box, where? I had just gotten here! Front desk, well, not much better. There are way too properties and choices in this area and beyond to have to settle for this place. I will not ever return here and that is unfortunate considering how much we live the beach.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ruzieru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2013

WOW….what a great vacation at a great price! Our family was looking for a place to enjoy the beautiful beaches and found it at Holiday Surf. We stayed in Unit 117, and the arrangement worked perfectly. Our car with luggage and groceries was ten steps out our front door while the sandy white beach was 20 steps out our back door. The first floor was definitely a wise decision and worth the few extra bucks.

Like many of the other reviewers, we found the beaches to be clean and safe. In fact, they were so safe that we were completely comfortable making the 20 minute walk along the shore to the jetties at midnight.

The building seemed like it was one of the earlier models in the area for two reasons. First, it was stucco (which just reminds me of “early Florida”), but second, it was so close to the beach. In talking with one of the other guests that had been visiting the area for years, he said that it was built before zoning required condos to be set further back from the water.

The property was nicely maintained with no-frills amenities. We were able to exchange our towels three times during the week, use the tennis equipment, and checkout free DVD’s. The beach umbrella and chairs were free too. We chose Unit 117 based on the website photos. It was clean, comfortable and well-equipped…actually even better than what we saw in the photos.

We are already looking forward to our next vacation!

Room Tip: Stayed in Unit 117. Perfect location on first floor with easy beach access. Clean and well-equipped.
See more room tips
Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank FourDorfs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Destin hotels
2.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Destin
1.4 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Destin
8.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Destin - Miramar Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Destin
0.7 mi away
Inn on Destin Harbor
Inn on Destin Harbor
#30 of 39 in Destin
444 reviews
10.5 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Sandestin at Grand Boulevard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Surf & Racquet Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Surf & Racquet Club

Property: Holiday Surf & Racquet Club
Address: 510 Gulf Shore Dr, Destin, FL 32541-3038
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Destin
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 55 Speciality Lodging in Destin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Surf & Racquet Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful one and two bedroom condos overlooking Destin's beach. Warm Gulf waters, soothing waves, and beautiful sand add up to a relaxing and fun vacation for the entire family. Each condo offers Gulf views, a screened-in balcony and a full kitchen. Located directly on the beach, Holiday Surf has great amenities like tennis courts, a heated pool, 24 hour personnel, laundry facilities, copy & fax services and more. Get a complimentary beach umbrella set up with 2 chairs March through October 30. Ask about our Seasonal Specials! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Surf & Racquet Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Surf & Racquet Club Hotel Destin
Holiday Surf And Racquet Club
Holiday Surf Racquet Hotel
Hotel Holiday Surf Racquet
Holiday Surf & Racquet Club Destin, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing