We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint with a great value! ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Inn on Destin Harbor
Ranked #30 of 39 Hotels in Destin
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Quaint with a great value! ”
Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

This hotel is a great price! On the harbor, great view! Great free breakfast in the nice looking lobby. Little beach and pool. Rooms are not great by any means but they are clean! Friendly amazing staff! This is an old hotel and definitely not a 5 star resort but it's quaint and charming. For the price you can't beat it! It's close to everything!!!

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank James3liz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carolyn N, Guest Relations Manager at Inn on Destin Harbor, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Thanks so much for the great review! We'll keep working hard so you have an even better experience with us next time! Come back and visit us in Destin soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    134
    125
    79
    48
    58
See reviews for
105
183
18
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

make sure you ask the right questions if you want to stay in this hotel the lobby is very deceiving to the room. Make sure you ask what floors allow pets , if you don't have one you don't want a room on that floor. Staff was very nice, but hotel needs major renovating. Beds were like sleeping in a hammock very soft in the middle and smelled. Shower needed to be grouted and was moldy. I normally sleep naked but could not because of bed bugs.
This hotel was definitely one of those that you see on 20/20 I know if I had one of those scope lights and we would have found much more. how can they get away with charging 120.00 to 160.00 a night was way too much for this dump. Pool area was run down the hallways dirty. NEVER again would we stay there or recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: Dump keep looking
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank 762Virginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carolyn N, Guest Relations Manager at Inn on Destin Harbor, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Wow, so sorry you had this experience. It is not common and I'm certain if you came back, you'd feel different. We stay very busy and have to constantly work to upgrade our hotel because beds, etc get worn down quickly. We are replacing mattresses all of the time. I'm sure we would have replaced your's immediately given the opportunity. We've actually recently replaced all the bedding with newer "stylish" sheets and bed scarfs and have more plans for upgrading in the rooms. We take a lot of pride in this hotel and think it's far from a "dump".
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 March 2014 via mobile

Not that bad of a price but I guess you get what you pay for right - plus rooms were limited for this area due to spring break. Unable to connect to their wireless internet (need internet connection to be able to do work), very loud guests, got locked in the bathroom (thank god for the hubby), street side is very noisy (supposed to be city view more like view of 98). Shower needs improvement - really bad pressure & not much hot water. Rooms don't look like they have been updated in a while which is okay for us but the sliding door to the balcony really needs to be fixed or replaced - door grinds against the track every time you opened or closed it. The one plus to the place is a beautiful view of the harbor from the lobby area & harbor facing rooms & the rooms are kept clean. Glad we were only here for work - if it was for enjoyment/relaxation I/we would have been terribly disappointed.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Detailed68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carolyn N, Guest Relations Manager at Inn on Destin Harbor, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Thanks so much for your input. We really do work to improve our hotel every day and it helps to get feedback. Did you happen to let the front desk know about your problems at check out so that our maintenance could address them? If so, I'm sure we've fixed the problems.

We're glad you enjoyed the view! It really is beautiful!! Hopefully you'll be back in Destin soon and will give us another shot.. I'm certain you won't be disappointed!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Upon arrival, the lobby seemed decent, kind of shabby-chic, but okay. Front desk people weren't nearly as friendly as everyone has been describing, they're just basic employees, nothing extra. Arrived to the third floor with my family, and I smell an intense aroma of Marijuana and loud, tasteless rap music... what a terrible freaking way to start your vacation. Just awful. The beds were at least 15 years old, very rickety, with mattress covers very obviously thrown on top. Sheets were not changed ONCE in a week long stay, repulsive really. There was a very strange stench in the room, couldn't really tell what said stench was, made me queasy really. The cramped bathroom area didn't help either. Overall, not worth anybody's time, the negatives outweigh the positives.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jackjackbabyattack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carolyn N, Guest Relations Manager at Inn on Destin Harbor, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
So sorry to hear your stay with us went the direction it did! Nothing that you mentioned is typical of our operation here. Sometimes guest act out of order and we do our best to control it, especially in regards to anything illegal. Sheets should be changed regularly and our rooms certainly do not carry a stench to them. I'd have investigated both issues had I been made aware of them. If you come stay with us again, I'm sure you'll have a much different experience!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Mississippi
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 6 February 2014

Because of the lack of hotels in Destin close to the Harbor Walk & because we were only staying one night we were forced to stay at the Inn on Destin Harbor. While we have stayed there before so we kinda of knew what we were getting, it was disappointing. The room smelled musty & moldy & had seen it better days, the worst part was the beds. The Mattress was HORRIBLE. The only had 2 queen beds available, no kings, when I asked why because the hotel was not booked up the desk clerk said "Housekeeping did not come in today!!" The beds were very uncomfortable & should have been replaced years ago... It is sad that a place as nice as Destin allows this old rundown hotel to stay in business.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SoSuzanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carolyn N, Guest Relations Manager at Inn on Destin Harbor, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
I'm sorry to hear you had an uncomfortable mattress. Hopefully you let the front desk know. We replace our mattresses as soon as a guest complains about them. Otherwise, we don't know when they need replaced b/c we can't test them all out on a regular basis. As far as our front desk saying that our "Housekeeping didn't come in today"...I can't explain. We have housekeeping here every single day of the year (short of a major hurricane!). That was misinformation. Although this is an old building, we are constantly working to upgrade our hotel and are always open for suggestions!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montgomery, Alabama
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

This hotel is located very close to the harborwalk village, and several restaurants and a starbucks (in the harborwalk village)..we had a two queen waterfront room..room/bathroom was nice and clean..view from the balcony was wonderful..they have a tiny little beach with chairs if you want to sit down and relax by the water and enjoy the view (not for swimming)..staff was very nice and helpful...there was free breakfast..it wasn't that great..but they would let you take your food to the room..that was nice..parking was free...overall it was a good experience..

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SECON2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carolyn N, Guest Relations Manager at Inn on Destin Harbor, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Thanks so much for the review! We're working to improve everyday, including our breakfast choices. In fact, we've been considering getting a waffle iron and possibly a cappuccino machine. If you have any other breakfast suggestions, we'd love to hear them. Glad you had a good overall experience...come back and see us!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

This was a great easy to find hotel. It was a overnight stopover for a road trip, and was very convenient. The staff were helpful, and check in was easy.

The room could do with a bit of updating, but we looked past the older decor and enjoyed the water view (which we paid extra for). it was good value for money.

I'm not sure about the breakfast, i didnt expect much for it to be included, and it wasn't really much variety, but all good.

Room Tip: Probably would've been disapointed if i didn't pay that little bit extra for a water view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tamara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carolyn N, Guest Relations Manager at Inn on Destin Harbor, responded to this review, 8 March 2014
The view is beautiful, right? Glad you enjoyed it! We are constantly working to upgrade various aspects of the hotel, so I'm sure if you come visit us again, you'll see an improvement! We are thinking of putting a waffle iron on the breakfast bar...maybe that will add a bit more variety! We really appreciate your review!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Destin hotels
0.3 mi away
Village Inn of Destin
Village Inn of Destin
#31 of 39 in Destin
269 reviews
2.5 mi away
SummerPlace Inn Destin FL Hotel
8.8 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#21 of 39 in Destin
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Destin
0.8 mi away
Destin Inn & Suites
Destin Inn & Suites
#29 of 39 in Destin
137 reviews
10.8 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Sandestin at Grand Boulevard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn on Destin Harbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on Destin Harbor

Property: Inn on Destin Harbor
Address: 402 Harbor Boulevard (Highway 98), Destin, FL 32541
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Destin
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Destin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Inn on Destin Harbor 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
- Located in the heart of Destin, Florida, directly on Destin Harbor- Walking distance to award-winning Destin waterfront dining- Waterfront pool with spacious deck overlooking Destin Harbor- All rooms are non-smoking, each with a private balcony- Ever-changing panoramic views of Historic Destin HarborOffering Scenic Views and Sumptuous Service- Accommodations include complimentary continental breakfast with a waterfront view of the Destin Harbor- Perfectly located accommodations for the Destin hotel or motel traveler, ideally suited for leisure, military, or corporate travelers- Pet-friendly rooms are available with additional fee, please ask when booking your room- 24-hour concierge service ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Inn on Destin Harbor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn On Destin Harbor Hotel Destin
Hotel On Destin Harbor
Inn Destin Harbor
Inn On Destin Harbor Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing