We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Destin Getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Inn on Destin Harbor
Ranked #26 of 39 Hotels in Destin
New Orleans, Louisiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Destin Getaway”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

We really enjoyed staying at this small hotel. We stayed on the 5th floor overlooking the harbor, and definitely recommend getting a harbor room. There were beautiful sunsets every evening which we enjoyed on the deck with a glass of wine and a gentle breeze. The bathroom was clean, and had a strong, rain shower with plenty of hot water. The bed linens, lampshades, and flat screen tv's all appeared brand new. The bed was very comfortable, and there is a good cable tv package with HBO. I was able to take care of some last minute business using the complimentary wireless internet connection, which was fast and connected easily after getting the code from the front desk. The complimentary ice was great to fill our cooler on the way to the beach.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Toothgoddess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    132
    122
    76
    47
    54
See reviews for
100
179
18
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Destin, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

Checked in and within ten minutes, a knock at the door from other guests attempting to check into my room. Sure enough my room key and their room keys had same room numbers. Concierge Paul quickly contacted and apologized for that little mistake.
The room is extremely small. There are bird droppings all over the balcony and chairs. The sofa has huge stains. The growing mildew on the drapes leaves something to be desired. There is a cugarette burn on the chair. The wall outlet is not secured to the wall. The water damage on the outdated popcorn ceilings is frankly unacceptable. The small bathroom is a tight squeeze for a ten year old.
Will not return.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dontcheckinhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ocean Springs, Mississippi
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

We found this hotel on the internet. Its a old hotel that has been cheaply redone. In the rooms there are lots of things are very dated. Bathroom is very tiny. Added sprinkler system is an eye sore. If your looking for a place like the quality of a Motel 6 you won't be disappointed. The view and location are very good though.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sdmuuuu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

After the recent rain storms on the gulf, were so pleased to enjoy beautiful weather, water and blue skies for our trip recently- a welcome break after a stressful work week. We've stayed at the Inn on Destin Harbor several times, and it's one of our favorites in Destin. It did not disappoint. The staff is always so nice, and we feel right at home. Usually, whoever wakes first, brings coffee and breakfast up from the complimentary continental breakfast served in the lobby, and we take in the view. Speaking of the view, it is very relaxing, and a room with a harbor view is a must as far as I'm concerned:) The proximity of the Inn is great for walking to the Boardwalk, the Harbor Walk Village, and excellent restaurants. It's a comfortable walk from the hotel, and it was so fun to see the pelicans in the marina, and also an occasional dolphin or two would pop up in the harbor outside our room! There's a new restaurant right next door, with great cocktails and ambience. The front desk staff at the Inn recommended a place for boat rentals, also within walking distance and we treated ourselves to a pontoon boat rental- highly recommended to do this! The pool was great, and we enjoyed the sunset while we ate fish we grilled on the hotel grill. All in all, it was an awesome stay. Thank you Inn on Destin Harbor, we'll be back!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NewOrleansSuzanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

This hotel is a great price! On the harbor, great view! Great free breakfast in the nice looking lobby. Little beach and pool. Rooms are not great by any means but they are clean! Friendly amazing staff! This is an old hotel and definitely not a 5 star resort but it's quaint and charming. For the price you can't beat it! It's close to everything!!!

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank James3liz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carolyn N, Guest Relations Manager at Inn on Destin Harbor, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Thanks so much for the great review! We'll keep working hard so you have an even better experience with us next time! Come back and visit us in Destin soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

make sure you ask the right questions if you want to stay in this hotel the lobby is very deceiving to the room. Make sure you ask what floors allow pets , if you don't have one you don't want a room on that floor. Staff was very nice, but hotel needs major renovating. Beds were like sleeping in a hammock very soft in the middle and smelled. Shower needed to be grouted and was moldy. I normally sleep naked but could not because of bed bugs.
This hotel was definitely one of those that you see on 20/20 I know if I had one of those scope lights and we would have found much more. how can they get away with charging 120.00 to 160.00 a night was way too much for this dump. Pool area was run down the hallways dirty. NEVER again would we stay there or recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: Dump keep looking
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank 762Virginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carolyn N, Guest Relations Manager at Inn on Destin Harbor, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Wow, so sorry you had this experience. It is not common and I'm certain if you came back, you'd feel different. We stay very busy and have to constantly work to upgrade our hotel because beds, etc get worn down quickly. We are replacing mattresses all of the time. I'm sure we would have replaced your's immediately given the opportunity. We've actually recently replaced all the bedding with newer "stylish" sheets and bed scarfs and have more plans for upgrading in the rooms. We take a lot of pride in this hotel and think it's far from a "dump".
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014 via mobile

Not that bad of a price but I guess you get what you pay for right - plus rooms were limited for this area due to spring break. Unable to connect to their wireless internet (need internet connection to be able to do work), very loud guests, got locked in the bathroom (thank god for the hubby), street side is very noisy (supposed to be city view more like view of 98). Shower needs improvement - really bad pressure & not much hot water. Rooms don't look like they have been updated in a while which is okay for us but the sliding door to the balcony really needs to be fixed or replaced - door grinds against the track every time you opened or closed it. The one plus to the place is a beautiful view of the harbor from the lobby area & harbor facing rooms & the rooms are kept clean. Glad we were only here for work - if it was for enjoyment/relaxation I/we would have been terribly disappointed.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Detailed68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carolyn N, Guest Relations Manager at Inn on Destin Harbor, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Thanks so much for your input. We really do work to improve our hotel every day and it helps to get feedback. Did you happen to let the front desk know about your problems at check out so that our maintenance could address them? If so, I'm sure we've fixed the problems.

We're glad you enjoyed the view! It really is beautiful!! Hopefully you'll be back in Destin soon and will give us another shot.. I'm certain you won't be disappointed!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Destin hotels
1.6 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Destin
0.3 mi away
Village Inn of Destin
Village Inn of Destin
#30 of 39 in Destin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
2.5 mi away
SummerPlace Inn
SummerPlace Inn
#14 of 39 in Destin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Destin Inn & Suites
Destin Inn & Suites
#28 of 39 in Destin
3.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
8.8 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#18 of 39 in Destin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
8.3 mi away
Candlewood Suites Destin-Sandestin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn on Destin Harbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on Destin Harbor

Property: Inn on Destin Harbor
Address: 402 Harbor Boulevard (Highway 98), Destin, FL 32541
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Destin
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Destin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Inn on Destin Harbor 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
- Located in the heart of Destin, Florida, directly on Destin Harbor- Walking distance to award-winning Destin waterfront dining- Waterfront pool with spacious deck overlooking Destin Harbor- All rooms are non-smoking, each with a private balcony- Ever-changing panoramic views of Historic Destin HarborOffering Scenic Views and Sumptuous Service- Accommodations include complimentary continental breakfast with a waterfront view of the Destin Harbor- Perfectly located accommodations for the Destin hotel or motel traveler, ideally suited for leisure, military, or corporate travelers- Pet-friendly rooms are available with additional fee, please ask when booking your room- 24-hour concierge service ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Inn on Destin Harbor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn On Destin Harbor Hotel Destin
Hotel On Destin Harbor
Inn Destin Harbor
Inn On Destin Harbor Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing