We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Destin
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Edgewater Beach Condominium
Certificate of Excellence
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
100 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2011

Guys at the beach setting up chairs are great for everyone are great. People when you call after the reservation is made and at the desk when you have question are mediocre at best. Some would say rude. Good location out of the Destin traffic.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JeffIndiana33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    143
    49
    22
    13
    13
See reviews for
155
20
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Huntsville, Alabama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2011

We have chosen Edgewater two years in a row because it is in our favorite area of the Destin area - Miramar beach. Last year we went and even though the condo was smaller and more expensive than other properties we did enjoy the pool and underground parking was nice. The beach was only so so because they ended up creating this huge trench to prevent any oil from their beach area. We didn't go the beach the last two-three days last summer because you couldn't even see the water or get close to it. We decided AGAIN to return to Edgewater this summer and were met with uncaring staff, rancid odor everytime we walked outside, cigarette butts all over the balcony of our unit, ceiling fans that never worked, dirty carpet and floors, bathroom toilets which wouldn't properly flush, and a dank musty odor in the condo. We have been coming to destin for 8 years and this year was the first year we have been treated so rudely by management. They accused us of staining a bedspread which wasn't even used because they were filthy to begin with (blood stains on them!) and they then tried to charge us to replace. They claim their manager inspected our unit before check in yet she never noticed the dirty floors, odor, cigarette butts or blood stains on the top bedspreads? When we questioned the charge they were trying to add to our bill they placed us on a Do Not Rent list, lol! Don't worry...we will take our 2,500 elsewhere next summer. We have stayed in rental houses, and other condos with much more caring staff and management. Last year they begged us to stay there and gave us a discount for coming because of the oil crisis. This year - horrid customer service and an uncaring attitude. Some Edgewater units may be very nice and all with great views but if you have management doing a poor job it clearly is reflected in how the units are maintained.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank kimeli16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2011

Before staying here, I read great reviews. There may be some nice rooms, but 1404 is not one of them, The furniture was dirty, the room was dated, paint chipping on walls, wallpaper torn in bathrooms, dirty carpet, gum stuck to a lamp, peeling furniture on balcony, and very dark. The dryer was broken, but maintenance did quickly repair it. The pools were clean and nice. It was nice to have free beach chairs.and an umbrella. Security did check the pools at night.. This condo might be OK if the room is nice.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gina93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edgewater Beach C, Manager at Edgewater Beach Condominium, responded to this review, 31 August 2011
We are sorry that you did not enjoy unit 1404. We have contacted the owner of this unit and given them a list of items that need upgrading before they will be allowed to continue on our rental program. The General Manager has told me that if you would like to return this year (2011) in September or October that you may stay in a select 3 bedroom for 1 week for free.
Please call 800-822-4929 extension 688 to make arrangements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaumont
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2011

Worse place I have stayed in.Condo #908 is nasty. Don't think it has been cleaned in years! Dead roaches in the cabinets. Furniture is from the early 80's and is so dirty I had to put clean sheets on them to sit on.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sportsfan1685
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edgewater Beach C, Manager at Edgewater Beach Condominium, responded to this review, 25 August 2011
We are very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay. We agree that unit 908 is not up to standard. The unit is not on the in-house rental program for that reason. We at Edgewater hold a very high standard for units that are allowed on the rental program. Please call 800-822-4929 to reserve a unit that is on the in-house rental program. These units have high quality amenities such as flat screen TV's, DVR's, granite counter tops and new appliances and the furnishings have to be up to date. We clean and inspect all of our units just prior to your arrival. I am sure you will notice a huge difference in the quality and cleanliness of the condo unit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2010

I had the good fortune to stay at the Edgewater Beach for 2 weeks - I'm from the UK and this is my 4th trip to Destin (I know technically that this is in Miramar Beach but...). The property stands out because of its shape - you can see it from the other side of the Choctawatchee lake ! It's gated, and entrance is controlled with a card handed out upon arrival. Check in staff were very friendly and helpful, I felt at home straight away. I was also glad to see that security were present after hours. Parking was a breeze - underground so kept the car at least a bit cool during the day. The stairways could do with a fresh coat of paint and handrails were a bit rusty looking but ok. The lawn / pool areas were immaculate and the grounds pretty. The tiki bar served up some pretty good food and drinks / cocktails. But of course the big draw is the beach - pure white sand as ever. Apart from Labor Day, the whole property seemed very quiet, peaceful so was also relaxing - over Labor Day weekend the population grew enormously so getting to the beach early was a priority!

Like all beachfront properties, the view from my condo (315) was exceptional, being closer to the beach than most I had a sweeping view of the beach to the east - on a clear day I could see for miles. The condo was spacious - one large bedroom, full bathroom and kitchen with all amenities and a well furnished living area with large flat screen tv and pull out sofa bed. I was alone but the condo was easily large enough for 2 to live comfortably.

Would I recommend Edgewater Beach to others? Yes! And I can't wait to go back...

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CarolCochrane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2010

Let me start by explaining the 4 rating for cleanliness. This unique building was built in 1985. It has been kept up very well and the grounds are fantastic but there is only so much you can do in florida to keep a place perfect. The location is perfect. Close to everything but on the scenic highway that has less traffic than 98. The pools were exceptionally clean, the crew was out every morning keeping this place up. The first morning I woke up and sat on the balcony it was total relaxation. The view is great from any room, although if you are in the rooms closer to the water naturally they have a wider view of the beach. Everyone we met there were extremely friendly and helpful. It seemed everyone we talked to were repeat visiors which is a good sign. At first I didn't think we would have any use for the tiki bar but we ate lunch and had slushs 3 of the days. Very good fries. I don't know about the southerners but us northern folks who spend lots of time in ice rinks really value high quality french fries. The rooms by the way were very functional. The kitchen had everything we needed and there was plenty of room for a family of four to feel like they had enough space. If anyone has specific questions or would like to see more pictures let me know. I liked this place so much I'm trying to convince my wife into buying a condominium at this location.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RamonRojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naperville, Illinois
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2010

We are staying at the Edgewater Beach and it is perfect! Crystal clear water, sugar white sand and no oil/tar anywhere to be seen. We were very worried about coming, with the Gulf issues, but have found nothing to complain about. In fact the beach is overly clean, as the clean up crews come by, and just empty the trash cans as there is nothing for them to do. Our room, looks just like the photos, and we have a great view, we are super close to the beach, and market. Everyone is really friendly and helpful and there are lots of families here to socialize with. We will be back again next summer.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clankerrtx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Destin hotels
0.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Destin - Miramar Beach
1.9 mi away
Courtyard Sandestin at Grand Boulevard
6.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Destin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Residence Inn Sandestin at Grand Boulevard
1.6 mi away
Hilton Sandestin Beach, Golf Resort & Spa
6.9 mi away
Sundestin Beach Resort
Sundestin Beach Resort
#8 of 56 in Destin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edgewater Beach Condominium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edgewater Beach Condominium

Property: Edgewater Beach Condominium
Address: 291 Scenic Gulf Dr., Destin, FL 32550
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Destin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 56 Speciality Lodging in Destin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Edgewater Beach Condominium is the ultimate Destin beach front vacation rentals playground and best beachfront luxury condo. A magnificent, French Riviera-inspired resort rising majestically beside the sparkling emerald waters, pristine white sands and fiery sunsets of northwest Florida’s extraordinary Emerald Coast. Specialties: Luxurious gated condo living featuring- 1, 2 and 3 bedroom and Terrace condo units each with spectacular Gulf views- Full kitchen, washer and dryer, cable TV with complimentary HBO, and FREE wireless internet - Children's playground, shuffleboard court, basketball court gas grills, picnic area - State of the art fitness center, 2 large pools, hot tub and kiddy pool. One pool is heated, one pool has a waterfall - Free beach set up for each paid day of your stay from March 1 to October 31st - Tiki Bar Coupon weekly - Large private balconies opening from both the living area and master bedroom. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Edgewater Beach Condominium Hotel Destin
Edgewater Beach Condominium Destin, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing