We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Place”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Destin
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Edgewater Beach Condominium
Certificate of Excellence
Mexico Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful Place”
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Our condo was very clean and inviting. The grounds were kept very well. Both pools as well as the kiddie pool were clean. The hot tub was also clean. We had 2 beach chairs with an umbrella each day we were there. The staff that we came in contact with were very pleasant. Eric was a staff member working the beach area and was very friendly and helpful. The rules of the resort are listed on their website and the staff followed those rules. When it was time for the pool to close, the security guard told us politely that it was closing time. We were treated with respect at all times. We plan on staying at Edgewater again.

Room Tip: Go directly to the Edgewater Beach website, not another travel site. You can view the rooms and pic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LarPam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    150
    52
    22
    14
    14
See reviews for
166
20
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

This was our second trip to the Gulf and our second time at Edgewater. Both trips we've been pleased with our condos (606 & 1102). They met our needs and were very clean and comfy. The ground around the complex are neat and tidy. The pools are big and clean! The fitness room was perfect for vacation work outs. We loved the views from our rooms, but we felt we had a better view in 1102. There is plenty of parking and we never had an issue finding a spot. The guys working the beach to give you umbrellas and chairs were VERY friendly and helpful. We love Edgewater and are excited to be going back next summer to celebrate a family reunion! We checked out other properties around the area and the Edgewater staff worked with us to accommodate our needs!

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Courtney S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013 via mobile

I have traveled to many places all over the world and have NEVER been treated the way my family was treated at Edgewater.
Edgewater is in a good location and nice,but somewhat dated. I would not recommend Edgewater to anyone until the General Manager is replaced with someone who actually considers their guests TOP priority over hearsay from a guest at a neighboring complex.
Just because we took advantage of the drop in rates does not mean we are not a decent family and that we should be treated any different!
You may want to state in your rules that laser pointers are not allowed because they are sold in all of the shops. To evict a family with children in the middle of the night is very sad. I hate it that this is the memory my kids will have of this trip. Even though we ended up staying we felt uncomfortable the rest of the trip. Like I said please print this in your rules before another family lets one of their kids have a laser pointer to have fun with and ends up with a very upset child and family!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Sunsecr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edgewater Beach C, Manager at Edgewater Beach Condominium, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
We strive to keep our "policies and rules" as short as possible and leave certain scenarios up to personal judgment. While we have no problem with guests using laser pointers in the privacy of their rooms, we do not allow them to be used outside. This is especially the case when using them to target other guests or their rooms. Additionally, laser pointers are illegal to use in many scenarios including pointing them at law enforcement officials, vehicles, aircraft or boats. At Edgewater we want everyone's experience to be a pleasant one and discourage any behavior that may be disruptive to other guests. Following the incident described in the above review, we amended our policies to include "laser pointers". You can find a link to our rental policies at the bottom of our official website: www.edgewaterbeach.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

This was our 6th or 7th time at the Edgewater. Beach...with 2 complimentary chairs and umbrella is great. Can walk right off the beach and jump in one of the 2 pools. Workout room is adequate for a vacation. Beach is clean and the water was very clear this year...did not see any jellyfish and algae was very light. Could go out farther than we wanted and still see the bottom. Nice location with grocery store and outlet mall across the street. If you want to go out for dinner...go east rather than toward Destin. Many, many very nice smaller restaurants in Santa Rosa and other locations that way.

We were in unit 900...rented through Southern Resorts rather than directly from the Edgewater. Doable...but would certainly rank last of the units we have stayed in before. First it is smaller. They say there are 3 flat screen TVs...but the two in the bedrooms are more the size of ipads. Luckily I had some binoculars in the car to watch the one that worked from across the room. The other one would not work the entire time we were there. Me, my wife and 3 teens did all we could to figure it out...but apparently the cable is not turned on in that room. Both bathrooms are very small...much smaller than what we have had in the past.

Check-in was at 4:00. We got there early...figured we would get our stuff and go to the beach/pool until the room was ready. First told by Southern Resorts that we would have to pick up our stuff from their office dropbox (it was Sunday) before we could do so and that they would text us when ready. This was about 11:00...so we messed around and ate lunch...and then called to check the progress about 1:00. Then we were told we could go to the beach/pool and that they would text us when ready and we could just go to the Edgewater Office to get what we needed to get into the room. We went to the beach/pool...but the text never came. We finally called after 4:00 and they claimed to have sent the text (don't think so)..and the switched up again by telling us that we had to go back to their office to get our stuff from the dropbox. Checkout was easy.

Long story short...good place to stay...don't rent unit 900,

Room Tip: Not unit 900.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JeffIndiana33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013

The rooms need updated... They treat you as if your children nothing the so called manager said to us was friendly in anyway... You can stay in a bigger, cleaner and friendlier place for cheaper! The Manager just walks around with her nose in the air with her fu fu dog... I know we won't ever stay there again... We had 6 rooms rented for 25 of us and we all felt the same.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Boatinggirl0311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edgewater Beach C, Manager at Edgewater Beach Condominium, responded to this review, 6 August 2013
As with any vacation rental property, we have rules that must be followed. Guests must review these rules and sign stating that they understand. If the rules are not followed, we reserve the right to evict. Instead of evicting this guest, they were given a second chance and were great for the remainder of their visit. We thank you for taking the time to share your experience, good or bad, with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

Look no futher! Unit 204 is a 3 bed 3 bath unit and is ground level. No elevators and the sliding doors open to a nice patio and then onto GRASS!!!! With 6 adults and 3 grandkids ranging from 6 to 2, it was a heaven send....We have stayed in several different Destin properties over the past 20 years and this is by far the best for a family. A playground for the kids(which had the evening shade after 4pm), plenty of grass lawn to play on and the pools are right out your door and the beach is right there also. You have a view of the ocean for the patio. Three wonderful pools, one being a kiddy pool. The place was full, but never had any problems with crowding. We leased through Ocean Reef and they were equally impressive. So, if you are headed to Destin, be sure to look at this place before you lease.

Room Tip: Any unit would be good, but lower rooms open on grassy area
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hawkihTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TN
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Now a family of 5, we just stayed a week here with 3 kiddos age 6, 3.5 and 2. We enjoyed our stay. I booked a unit via VRBO on the 13th floor that I suppose the owners managed through Edgewater. While I have stayed in nicer units as far as cabinetry and decor at other resorts, we still thought our unit was great. The resort itself has a baby pool that all of my kids enjoyed and my oldest enjoyed the bigger pools. The tiki bar was nice for drinks/snacks/slushies by the pool and we even got a $20 gift certificate for it by booking through the resort. Beach service was also included. I was surprised that the resort and the area in general weren't as crowded as I expected. This was our first year to work around a child's school break so I anticipated higher crowds. Location was great to the Winn Dixie, the outlets, Pompano Joe's beachfront dining and we even drove 5 minutes or so to the Sandestin area a few nights to eat and let the kids walk around and play there. We rented a VRBO home nearby last fall and I really love this end of the beach. We also met lots of families with kids and everyone, guest wise, that we came in contact with was pleasant. Had limited interaction with Edgewater staff...which is good to me bc it means all went well. We will definitely be back. I thought the price was good compared to other resorts.

Room Tip: The pool is tucked away from the ground units here which makes these units more desirable than groun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Momof2lilboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Destin
0.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Destin - Miramar Beach
0.3 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#21 of 39 in Destin
173 reviews
1.9 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Sandestin at Grand Boulevard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Destin-Sandestin
6.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Destin
1.3 mi away
Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edgewater Beach Condominium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edgewater Beach Condominium

Property: Edgewater Beach Condominium
Address: 291 Scenic Gulf Dr, Destin, FL 32550-4942
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Destin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 55 Speciality Lodging in Destin
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Edgewater Beach Condominium 3.5*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Edgewater Beach Condominium is the ultimate Destin beach front vacation rentals playground and best beachfront luxury condo. A magnificent, French Riviera-inspired resort rising majestically beside the sparkling emerald waters, pristine white sands and fiery sunsets of northwest Florida’s extraordinary Emerald Coast. Specialties: Luxurious gated condo living featuring- 1, 2 and 3 bedroom and Terrace condo units each with spectacular Gulf views- Full kitchen, washer and dryer, cable TV with complimentary HBO, and FREE wireless internet - Children's playground, shuffleboard court, basketball court gas grills, picnic area - State of the art fitness center, 2 large pools, hot tub and kiddy pool. One pool is heated, one pool has a waterfall - Free beach set up for each paid day of your stay from March 1 to October 31st - Tiki Bar Coupon weekly - Large private balconies opening from both the living area and master bedroom. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Edgewater Beach Condominium Hotel Destin
Edgewater Beach Condominium Destin, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing