We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Message from TripAdvisor:

Condominiums at this property are owned and operated by several different management companies, so quality and service standards may vary. If you wish to book a specific unit or a unit owned or managed by a specific company, please ask about that unit before booking your trip.

“Great Place to Stay . . .”
Review of The Islander

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Islander
Ranked #12 of 55 Speciality Lodging in Destin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 October 2012

We chose the Islander off the internet and we have been very pleased. We stayed in Unit 102 because we wanted walk out access to the beach. It was quite a bit further than "steps from the beach" but it was absolutely beautiful. Very well furnished and maintained. We had a couple of issues and Todd was extremely prompt and very knowledgeable in taking care of the very minor maintenance issues we encountered. Staff was extremely nice and helpful. The two chairs and umbrella that were included were very nice to have. We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: If you want an ocean view you need to be on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Lynn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (170)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

100 - 106 of 170 reviews

Reviewed 10 October 2012 via mobile

I found the listing for this condo online on a website for individuals to rent there personal condos. I instantly noticed how well this unit was priced in comparison with the other units (about $100 cheaper for the five days.) we booked without giving it a second thought. After the conversations with the individual renting the unit we were worried we would even have anywhere to stay when we arrived 13 hours from home. We were relieved we had a room but that's when everything began we spent two of our five day vacation taking care of letting in people to do routine air conditioning work and in turn dealing with a water leak! Only to leave our vacation half a day early to go home to rest from the mess we had taken care of for the owner who was no where to be found. We left the unit in perfect condition ( aside from the water leak their air conditioning people created) and was told the unit had been sold in the mean time and we would not get back our damage deposit of $250!!!!! I was very displeased by how I was treated and learned a great lesson never rent from a individual you do not know!!! You will get what you pay for!!!
The resort was nice, destin is beautiful but this experience ruined our entire vacation!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Cathlabtech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2012

This is my family's first time to Destin so we were really unsure where to stay. After finding such an awesome deal on this condo, I came to teip advisor to read the reviews on this property and was ecstatic! Awesome location, great condo with lots of room for the kids, great view, friendly staff and not to mention Great deal!! I will definitely be staying here next year!! We stayed in Condo 411 which has recently been upgraded! And to think we almost cancelled due to Hurricane Issac! Im so glad we didnt. The water wasnt blue due to the hurricane but we still had a blast!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank crystalmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2012

I selected The Islander for our summer vacation by the great reviews here on trip advisor. When I saw the pictures of unit 514, I knew this was the place for us. The unit is tastefully decorated with stainless steel appliances, granite countertops, and stained concrete floors. We loved sitting on the balcony watching the boats go by. The water was clear and beautiful. The beach attendant was very nice in setting up our chairs every morning. The islander has 2 pools and hot tubs, which we used a lot. Everything was in tip top shape. We loved the convenience to all the restaurants and stores. Walmart and Target is just minutes from the condo. Even though there was a lot of people vacationing here, you really couldn't tell. It was quiet and you never heard the people next to you. Its very family friendly and we will definitely be back next year!!

Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
5  Thank frenchinar479
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2012

We are staying in unit 702. Faces the water and the view is awesome. You can sit in the livingroom, dining room or stand in the kitchen and have a beautiful view of the water. It is a little hike to the beach but not bad at all. The beach is very nice. The beach guys do an amazing job keeping the chairs in order. They really work hard. The staff here are all very nice, The condo we are staying in is nicely decorated with a tropical theme. It has the most comfortable chair in the living room, I would love to take it home with me! The only downfall is the condo is at the oppostite end from the elevators. Although you can take the stairs down, 7 floors is easy to go down, sucks coming up.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank freezincold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2012

We stayed in unit 604 at the Islander. It's one of the nicest decorated units in the complex. We stayed there because it's on an upper floor with a great view of the gulf. The islander staff is so helpful. We loved it there and will be returning.

Room Tip: The units are rated gold, silver and bronze. Get a gold unit if possible and stay in the building...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Loaferbella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2012

We love Destin!! My husband and I were traveling on business and decided to shoot down to Destin for a few days....we had no reservation anywhere. We were calling different places and driving around looking...my husband spoke to Tim at The Islander and he said he would show us a room first before we committed. We ended up staying in room 618. I cannot say enough about this property! CLEAN CLEAN CLEAN!! Inside and out! The stairs, pools, lobby, all were very clean, the entire time!! Our room was spotless! Very spacious, nicely decorated, just perfect!! And we slept so well, because it was QUIET!!! The staff was very friendly, but Tim was awesome! Every business needs a guy like Tim! He was very helpful, kind, knowledgable, and friendly! If you get a chance, eat at Mcguires! We will definitely be staying at The Islander again, mark my word!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank llcooljunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Destin hotels
1.6 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Destin
2.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Destin
3.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Destin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Inn on Destin Harbor
Inn on Destin Harbor
#33 of 39 in Destin
449 reviews
1.9 mi away
Sundestin Beach Resort
Sundestin Beach Resort
#13 of 55 in Destin
388 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Surf & Racquet Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Islander? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Islander

Address: 502 Gulf Shore Dr, Destin, FL 32541-5076
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Destin
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 55 Speciality Lodging in Destin
Price Range: £138 - £193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Islander 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Islander condos are 2 bdrm/2 bath and feature a private balcony and a fully equipped kitchen. Amenities include 2 pools, whirlpools, tennis courts, shuffleboard courts, and a gym. Please note you must book through the Islander Rental Company to get the VIP program including FREE beach service. The off site rental companies do not offer our VIP program. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your The Islander reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Islander Hotel Destin
The Islander Destin, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing