We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Message from TripAdvisor:

Condominiums at this property are owned and operated by several different management companies, so quality and service standards may vary. If you wish to book a specific unit or a unit owned or managed by a specific company, please ask about that unit before booking your trip.

“Fun In the Sun”
Review of The Islander

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Islander
Ranked #12 of 56 Speciality Lodging in Destin
Certificate of Excellence
Decatur, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fun In the Sun”
Reviewed 11 April 2013

I was a guest of The Islander resort on 4-2013. Let me tell you this is agreat resort to stay. The resort offers a private beach, chairs and umberella at no extra cost. The condos were well maintained and the out door grills were always clean. The condo was fully furnised with all the utensils you will need to cook and clean. The stores on highway 98 was easily accessable and the resort offered 2 swimming pools and 2 hot tubs. I must say that the next time I visit Destin Florida I will be staying at the Islander.

Room Tip: If you are going to the Islander try to get a room on the first or second floor. Otherwise you will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank awelch10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    99
    40
    5
    7
    3
See reviews for
91
23
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2013 via mobile

I chose this place for a spring vacation away from the the Panama City crazy party. It was beyond what we expected! We stayed in room 601 and it was upgraded from the pictures on the website and MUCH nicer than we expected. The view was amazing, absolutely amazing and upgraded kitchen, upgraded master bath and brand new couches. Everything was exceptionally clean and the staff was great, although we didn't talk to them much. Everything we needed was provided and we couldn't have asked for anything more. The pools were very nice and heated and the grill gazebo was very nice. On a side note, this is a snow bird community! We joked we were staying the the retirement community. Maybe it was because we went in March, but we were by far the youngest group within two miles on the beach. Speaking of the beach....beautiful and so close. It was nothing to walk across the yard and be greeted by beautiful waters and white sand. We actually slept with our windows open because the waves were so loud in our room. Great vacation and we will be back!

Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank N R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2013 via mobile

This was our second visit to The Islander...room 503..CLEAN CLEAN CLEAN! This is how you run a resort RIGHT HERE! The staff are SO friendly and accommodating...opened the linen room just for me!! I tried to tip a girl that helped me twice and she REFUSED!! (Linen room and front gate) We will never stay anywhere else!!! So clean, beautiful and reasonable pricing!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank llcooljunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arcanum, Ohio
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2013

We have stayed here so many times, unit 718 is really beautiful totally updated with a lovely new master bath. For us this unit has the best view and is very quiet. We have been here through all seasons and each one offers something unique. The staff is amazing, Susan the GM is always friendly and cordial and very professional. The staff is efficient and friendly, Steve is so hospitable and makes the trip very special and accommodating for us. Megan and Helena are pleasant and there dedication to service can't be beat.

The cleaning staff does an outstanding job. The place is spotlessly clean, linens are fresh and plentiful. The common areas are very clean and the landscaping well cared for. The beach staff are wonderful and so accommodating they earn their pay but a little extra for the boys is always welcome. Pools are clean and hot tubs hot.

The Islander is convenient to everything restaurants, shopping, fishing, boating, golf the list goes on! So plan your next visit to the Islander and take advantage of their wonderful hospitality.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jeanette T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watkinsville, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2012

We chose the Islander off the internet and we have been very pleased. We stayed in Unit 102 because we wanted walk out access to the beach. It was quite a bit further than "steps from the beach" but it was absolutely beautiful. Very well furnished and maintained. We had a couple of issues and Todd was extremely prompt and very knowledgeable in taking care of the very minor maintenance issues we encountered. Staff was extremely nice and helpful. The two chairs and umbrella that were included were very nice to have. We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: If you want an ocean view you need to be on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lynn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2012 via mobile

I found the listing for this condo online on a website for individuals to rent there personal condos. I instantly noticed how well this unit was priced in comparison with the other units (about $100 cheaper for the five days.) we booked without giving it a second thought. After the conversations with the individual renting the unit we were worried we would even have anywhere to stay when we arrived 13 hours from home. We were relieved we had a room but that's when everything began we spent two of our five day vacation taking care of letting in people to do routine air conditioning work and in turn dealing with a water leak! Only to leave our vacation half a day early to go home to rest from the mess we had taken care of for the owner who was no where to be found. We left the unit in perfect condition ( aside from the water leak their air conditioning people created) and was told the unit had been sold in the mean time and we would not get back our damage deposit of $250!!!!! I was very displeased by how I was treated and learned a great lesson never rent from a individual you do not know!!! You will get what you pay for!!!
The resort was nice, destin is beautiful but this experience ruined our entire vacation!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Cathlabtech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lafayette, Louisiana
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2012

This is my family's first time to Destin so we were really unsure where to stay. After finding such an awesome deal on this condo, I came to teip advisor to read the reviews on this property and was ecstatic! Awesome location, great condo with lots of room for the kids, great view, friendly staff and not to mention Great deal!! I will definitely be staying here next year!! We stayed in Condo 411 which has recently been upgraded! And to think we almost cancelled due to Hurricane Issac! Im so glad we didnt. The water wasnt blue due to the hurricane but we still had a blast!!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank crystalmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Destin hotels
2.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Destin
8.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Destin - Miramar Beach
1.6 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Destin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Inn on Destin Harbor
Inn on Destin Harbor
#26 of 39 in Destin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
1.9 mi away
Sundestin Beach Resort
Sundestin Beach Resort
#8 of 56 in Destin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Surf & Racquet Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Islander? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Islander

Property: The Islander
Address: 502 Gulf Shore Dr, Destin, FL 32541-5076
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Destin
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 56 Speciality Lodging in Destin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Islander 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Islander condos are 2 bdrm/2 bath and feature a private balcony and a fully equipped kitchen. Amenities include 2 pools, whirlpools, tennis courts, shuffleboard courts, and a gym. Please note you must book through the Islander Rental Company to get the VIP program including FREE beach service. The off site rental companies do not offer our VIP program. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your The Islander reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Islander Hotel Destin
The Islander Destin, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing