We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, excellent service.”
Review of The Wine Bar

The Wine Bar
Ranked #84 of 306 Restaurants in Destin
Price range: US$15 - US$30
Cuisines: American, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Nestled in the heart of Destin, in Paradise Key at Kelley Plaza, Wine World and The Wine Bar offer the same great shopping and dining experience patrons have come to expect. Shop from a great selection of wines, craft beers, and spirits and then enjoy a dining experience of delicious gourmet dishes and cheeses.
Shalimar, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Great food, excellent service.”
Reviewed 28 September 2013

This restaurant/wine bar is located in an amazing wine and liquor store that includes a cheese shop and a cigar store. A real foodies paradise. You can eat inside in the wine bar, or on he patio.

Service is excellent. The menu is not huge, although the wine selection is. There were two dinner specials a fillet and grouper dish. Both were very good, as was the baked Brie apetizer.

A really excellent restaurant.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Martino52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    24
    3
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, NC
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic Meal!”
Reviewed 18 September 2013

I was very excited about eating here after discovering it on Trip Advisor. I chose this as our anniversary dinner while we were on vacation. I am glad I did. We had a great time and wonderful dinner. We split the tuna tartar, crab cakes, and mussels and all were wonderful. The only complaints were that there were shell bits in the mussel dish where they had been stirred maybe a bit to hard (but since that can be a bit of risk you take, we didn't mention to the server) and our other complaint was that being a wine & gourmet cheese shop, there was no cheese tasting on the menu. We did mention that to the server who said it was in the works to bring to the Destin location. I think this is a restaurant to watch - I can definitely see it continuing to improve over its already great quality.

There is outside seating which is what we did - it is not scenic (parking lot of shopping center view), but was very enjoyable. We have a one-year old so outside seating typically works best. They did have high chairs, but we did not order off a children's menu so I can't attest to the 'child friendliness' of the menu.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ADS98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Amazing meal!!!”
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Tuna tartare was amazing!!! The pastry-wrapped Brie was some of the best I have ever had!! This is not what I expected in a strip center! We enjoyed our meal on the patio!!! Perfect evening!!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pamscoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roswell, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
342 reviews
296 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Great local establishment”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

A great place for locals and tourists alike. The menu is diverse and the food is always very good. I wasn't fond of their corn and crab bisque though. They must have changed the recipe and it tasted like a can of creamed corn, sans the crab. Everything else has proved to be very good. We really enjoyed the short rib sandwich on the last visit. As a local wine shop, they are able to offer several wines by the glass in different flights to please most everyone. They also acquired a liquor license so you can now have a cocktail if you prefer. The outdoor seating faces a parking lot but that doesn't seem to deter the crowds that frequent this establishment.
Browse through the wine and cheese shop when you are done.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AnnaB1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kentucky
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Diverse menu, best Tuna Tartare ever!”
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We had dinner at Chan's on our most recent visit to Destin. Don't let its location in a strip shopping center fool you. The food is superb, as is the service, and the gift shop offers some great items, especially for BAMA fans (which I'm not, but someone in our party was). The tuna tartare was the best I've ever had, and that is saying something. Don't miss Chan's!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GolfMominKY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Wine Bar also viewed

 
Destin, Florida Panhandle
Destin, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to The Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing