We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WV travelers”
Review of The Back Porch

The Back Porch
Ranked #21 of 304 Restaurants in Destin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$30
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations, Takeout
Description: The Back Porch Seafood & Oyster House has been a local favorite in Destin since 1974 serving the finest smoked tuna dip, ice-cold oysters and our famous char-grilled Amberjack. Happy Hour 3-5PM daily.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“WV travelers”
Reviewed 27 August 2014

The restaurant is right on the beach with a great view the of ocean and a nice breeze. The food was good and we enjoyed the different dishes we ordered. We will go back on our next trip

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Blueflower2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,472
    1,025
    415
    142
    65
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shepherstown
Level Contributor
34 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice view but basic fried type food”
Reviewed 26 August 2014

The place is very casual and sits right on the beach. Most food is fried and not much in the way of health options. Not a single steamed veggie. View was great! We will go back but for drinks and the view.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Uaflygirl2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auburn, Alabama
Level Contributor
50 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Everything we had was great. We had a coupon for a free tuna dip appetizer, and it was very fresh and mild. The gumbo was perfect. The blackened amberjack sandwich was delicious, too.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank SouthernLady13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jefferson City, Missouri
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Where do I begin?!”
Reviewed 25 August 2014

From start to finish this place knocked my socks off! We walked right in, sat right down (although the place was busy). We had a GREAT view of the ocean/beach even though we weren't right by the windows. Our server got us our menu's, we ordered, ate and got the check within 20ish minutes. We couldn't believe it! Our food literally took like 5 minutes to get. Mahi Mahi was some of the best I've ever had. Our server was on the ball as well and was very friendly. DEFINITELY SUGGEST!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GM_26164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Young Harris, Georgia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic location!!”
Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

Called our consierge and they recommended the back porch. A little pricey, but great portions and drinks with great location !

Helpful?
Thank Tiffany B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Back Porch also viewed

Destin, Florida Panhandle
Destin, Florida Panhandle
 
Destin, Florida Panhandle
Destin, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to The Back Porch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing