We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful, Sunday night fine dining”

Ocean Club Restaurant
Ranked #58 of 306 Restaurants in Destin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$21 - US$59
Cuisines: Sushi, Seafood, Steakhouse, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Ocean Club is one of the premier, fine dining restaurants with a variety of appetizers & entrees to please everyone. We have a Sushi bar & live entertainment Wednesdays - Saturday. Wednesday nights caters to our Locals offering them an incredible discount while enjoying one of our favorite house bands - Emerald Gold. Our food and service is top notch and we offer private rooms and outside deck for special events upon booking. We do take walk-ins but prefer that you call ahead for reservation.
New Orleans
Level 6 Contributor
238 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Peaceful, Sunday night fine dining”
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

We were delighted to dine here last night. All of our food was delicious and 'typically' priced for white table cloth fine dining. Our server JD was knowledgeable, energetic and very attentive. Sushi was fresh and delicious; steaks and fish succulent. Specialty cocktails were special! Maybe because it's a little late in season; or maybe because it was a Sunday night but it was truly delightful to dine somewhere with no small, unruly children or loud, boisterous diners. It was a pleasant, well mannered clientele.

Helpful?
1 Thank Raerone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    169
    77
    29
    12
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Santa Rosa Beach, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Deceptive practices.”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Ate there tonight with my wife. Called ahead to see if they would honor a coupon. Was told yes no problem. When we went to pay the bill they said they weren't honoring the coupons tonight. Asked the manager about honoring it since we had called ahead about it. Wouldn't even consider it. First time there and not a great experience. Food was ok but overpriced for the proportions. Salads were very plain and bland. Vegetables were undercooked and not much taste. Would not return. Too bad because the atmosphere was good. Oh well, their loss.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank Beachbum212014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Really?”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We went here based on the recommendation of a local. It is very swanky, but we thought it was overpriced for what we received. Drinks highly overpriced. Don't think we will return.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank dmosley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Dinner for 2”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

I love this place and the food. Located right by the San Destin Resort area you can not find a better pleace location or desired eatery. Fabulous

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank mike k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Recommend early dining”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

My family and I ate dinner at Ocean Club on July 10th for the early dining. We were seated in the very back which has lots of windows and a peaceful view of a pond or stream with lots of trees and foliage.
Several of their entrees were offered at 2 for one. My shrimp scampi was good but the accompanying angel hair pasta was overcooked for my taste.
All four of our entrees came with a small dish of mixed vegetables which were a bit overcooked as well, but tasty.
Other entrees ordered at our table were fried shrimp with mashed potatoes, and catch of the day. The size of the main dishes and sides was satisfying.
Salads were extra. We all ordered the wedge salad which was average.
Our waitress was nice but didn't check in on us very often and dishes were not cleared in a timely manner.
There was a musician performing in a room near the main dining area. It was loud but not intrusive in the section where we were seated. Overall we were happy with our meals.
Our visit on July 16th was not enjoyable.
It was quite busy but we were seated without a reservation with a 15 to 20 minute wait which we didn't mind. We were uncomfortable when a patron, who had a reservation, complained after watching 2 parties without reservations get seated while he and his companion stood by, apparently forgotten. The hostess's reaction was not very professional especially considering that she stated she had worked there for 15 years. Rather than making lame excuses I think profuse apologies with a quick seating would have avoided the ill- feeling that surrounded everyone who was subjected to the exchange between her and the patron.
We were seated in the main dining area and there was a different band playing and it was loud. We had difficulty carrying on a conversation. We didn't arrive in time for the early dining prices and were surprised to find that the mashed potatoes that accompanied the entrees were a fraction of the size than were served with the less expensive meal the week before and there were no extra vegetables served like before. I had a shrimp cocktail and a caesar salad. They were ok. Nothing special.
We had the same server. Again, she was nice but at one point she seemed to completely disappear. I don't like a server to hover, but I like to feel that they are nearby and will be available when needed.
All in all this was not a great experience for us. However I would still recommend Ocean Club because I know they can do better and it is a pleasant place. The music and dancing is great but it was not enjoyable to us while we were eating. The only solution to not be overwhelmed by the noisy entertainment is to come early and ask to be seated in the back area.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank Jamie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ocean Club Restaurant also viewed

Miramar Beach, Florida Panhandle
 
Destin, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Ocean Club Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing