We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holiday Dinner”

Ruth's Chris Steak House
Reserve with OpenTable
Ruth's Chris Steak House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #48 of 303 Restaurants in Destin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$50 - US$75
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Romantic, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Drinks, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Restaurant Row
Description: Ruth's Chris Steak House in Destin, FL is located at 15000 Emerald Coast Pkwy. in the Silver Shells Resort & Spa. Silver Shells property is west of Henderson Beach State Park across from the Palms of Destin Resort on the south side of Hwy. 98.
Destin, Fl
Level Contributor
158 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Holiday Dinner”
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We have been to this Ruth's Steak House many times, 2 Filets, 1 Ribeye and 1 Barbecue Shrimp main courses all were all good but not exceptional, salads were good and the sides were good but the creamed spinach was not very hot, service was very good and overall a nice meal and worth a special occasion Dinner.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ben1013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    164
    42
    35
    14
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
284 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Rather surprising spinach dish most awful”
Reviewed 29 December 2013

We have eaten at many Ruth Chris and other fine steak houses so it's not really about the meat as you expect the best prime cuts. So it comes down to service, pricing and the details.

Service first class, attentive, polite and there to please the customer.

Wine reasonably priced, we chose a Silver Oak.

The Bad

Steaks come in sizzling butter, you are given the option to have without butter, which we chose to do. Message did not get to the kitchen so arrived in sizzling butter which they quickly change by putting on other hot plates, unfortunately still had too much butter taste but no problem as steaks where ok.

Salads very small.

The real bad. And I mean bad....

My wife wanted to try the spinach gratin, just for a change. This is the most awful thing we have ever been presented at a "fine" restaurant. The cheese topping was something like the orange manufactured cheese that come in a squeeze tube or can, think they call it velveta or something like that. It was disgusting.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Adrian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
panama city
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
“Saturday night out”
Reviewed 28 December 2013 via mobile

One of my already countless visits to Ruth Chris. From Louisiana to Florida the most exclusive and rich steaks. Nothing else said.

Helpful?
Thank diana m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winder, Georgia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Long Wait for Food”
Reviewed 26 December 2013

We had reservations for Thanksgiving Day. We were seated right away and appetizer came our promptly. After that, it was 45 minutes before our meal came. Our server came over "twice" and said a few more minutes since it takes longer to cook stuffed chicken breast. We have ordered this at other Ruth Chris' & it did not take near as long. After finally receiving our meal, the chicken was correct but the steak was a petite filet when it should have been a regular filet. We did not bother to tell the server since he was very inattentive plus we did not know how much longer we would have to wait. From appetizer to desert, we were there over 2 hours. So much for our day.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wonderfultimes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
145 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“The BEST Ruth's Chris Ever”
Reviewed 24 November 2013

I have eaten at a lot of steak houses and a lot of Ruth's Chris, this is the BEST that I have had. The drinks were amazing. The salads were great! The steak was perfect. Despite the steak being perfect..the waitress wanted to make sure that it was perfect for me. How much could you ask for. This is the BEST Ruth's Chris that I have been to.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Adam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ruth's Chris Steak House also viewed

Destin, Florida Panhandle
 
Destin, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Ruth's Chris Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing