We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nothing special” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hog's Breath Saloon

Hog's Breath Saloon
Ranked #61 of 301 Restaurants in Destin
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Barbecue, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Kids, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Drinks, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Minnesota, USA
Level Contributor
274 reviews
201 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Nothing special”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

Went for drinks and live music. The musician was average, it's hard to screw up a beer, and the wine was bad. It was a nice enough looking place, with friendly service. But nothing special that would make me hurry back.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MinnTraveler3693
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    157
    137
    69
    25
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
60 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“UNIMPRESSED”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

This restaurant looks interesting from the street Decided to try for lunch and found that the food is just average and beers expensive. Will not be back!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank FYITEXAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greensburg, Louisiana
1 review
“We will come back!! ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014 via mobile

This is by far one of our favorite places to eat. Atmosphere was excellent and staff was spectacular with entertaining our kids. We can't wait to eat here again on our vacation!

Helpful?
Thank Felicialee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
64 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Blah. Go elsewhere, especially off-season.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2014

Just had a bad experience here. BBQ combo platter of ribs, chicken and pulled pork. Chicken and pork were pretty dry, and they wouldn't accommodate a substitution of turkey for chicken. Their "sweet" sauce (which is my preference) wasn't sweet and I didn't care for it. The ribs were dry-rub and fair, but definitely needed some sauce. Fried mushrooms were pretty good, although standard-issue.

The giant palmetto bug on the floor (but I do understand that it's Florida and there were palm trees around the building) was just icing on the cake.

There was live outdoor music, even on a Thursday, off-season, in 40 degree weather.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alton, Illinois
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great BBQ & relaxing atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2014

We have been to Hogs Breath twice during our trips to Destin. The BBQ is great, really good pulled pork & ribs!! Must check out the gift shop next store, neat t shirts & bottle coozeys. Fun tie die shirts! We are headed to Destin in Sept again this year and Im sure we will stop in, if not for dinner maybe for the night atmosphere, have not had a chance to sit at the bar and hang out-- would like to try it.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jennmattnphanty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hog's Breath Saloon also viewed

Destin, Florida Panhandle
Destin, Florida Panhandle
 
Destin, Florida Panhandle
Destin, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Hog's Breath Saloon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing