We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Thai Place”

Royal Orchid Thai Cuisine
Ranked #155 of 303 Restaurants in Destin
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
113 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Good Thai Place”
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Nice location, very quiet. Food is about average but very pricey for me. We went here for dinner and not a lot of people for Saturday night. One visit is enough for me.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank KayeRon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    135
    36
    16
    13
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
297 reviews
209 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Great Food….Shoes Optional”
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Went to Royal Thai with a group of seven. Sat in a floor level table where you removed shoes and sat with your legs/feet in a ground well. Very comfortable and unique seating. Important to note they also have traditional tables if you prefer. Nice compact menu (for a Thai restaurant) that included Thai dishes in Beef, Pork, Chicken, and Seafood. Full selection of curries. Multiple options for vegetarians. Service and food were great. Our best experience on the Emerald Coast.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Russell P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Destin, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Some of the best Thai food I've ever had!”
Reviewed 14 December 2013 via mobile

Me and my wife love royal orchid, we go once a month or so. We would go more, but it is a little expensive knee everything adds up. It is worth the money though. She gets the cashew chicken every time, and she loves it. It is very delicious. I tend to get something different every time because i hadn't found that one dish to amaze me yet, but i found it the last time we went: the yellow curry chicken over rice. It was so delicious, i was scraping my bowl and i wanted more! I can't wait to go again to get it. Also we would recommend the chicken wanton appetizer. We get it every time. Very crunchy and fresh and it comes with a delicious dipping sauce.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Morgan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenner, Louisiana
Level Contributor
433 reviews
293 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“These New Orleanians loved the spicy food.”
Reviewed 7 December 2013

Our New Orleans family is very picky about food, but we loved the Royal Orchid. There were 4 adults and one child and the dinner cost was under $50. even with a tip!
We enjoyed 5 different dishes, all very good, and some were spicier than others.
They are moving a few block away in mid-December to a newer and more spacious facility, so I am anxious to try them out again in a nicer setting.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JBernard20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gulf Shores, Alabama
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Definitely Spicy”
Reviewed 27 October 2013

My group came here for lunch and the place was very quiet. We ordered the platter to split and I was not impressed with the spring rolls. I ordered the seafood salad and the flavors were lovely. The mixture of cilantro and lemon really brought the dish to life. I could not handle the spicy aftermath though, I'm glad I got the mild because they definitely could spice the dishes. The others in my group love spicy food so they were fine but one complained that their dish tasted tasted salty. Also one person in our group had to wait 10 minutes after everyone else food arrived. Based on the poor service I would say we are not doing a repeat visit.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bbybl3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Royal Orchid Thai Cuisine also viewed

Destin, Florida Panhandle
Destin, Florida Panhandle
 
Destin, Florida Panhandle
Destin, Florida Panhandle
 
Miramar Beach, Florida Panhandle
Miramar Beach, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Royal Orchid Thai Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing