We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”
Review of TGI Friday's - CLOSED

TGI Friday's
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Auburn, Alabama, Usa
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Location”
Reviewed 17 March 2014

TGI Friday's was a great place to grab a quick bite to eat. The restaurant was right in front of the hotel, our waiter went above and beyond to make sure that our needs where met!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    23
    26
    17
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
DEstin Fl
Level 6 Contributor
256 reviews
197 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“By far the worst meal we have ever had in Destin, or maybe anywhere!”
Reviewed 20 January 2014

What a horrible experience. We gave the waitress our entire order. We did not even get water for the first 15 minutes! The bottle of wine we ordered was nowhere to be seen after 30 minutes!!!
We flagged down the hostess and asked for the mgr. He was in the back cooking (!!!) and finally showed up some time later and did apologize profusely.The wine bottle then showed up promptly, even tho the waitress forgot to bring glasses (!!)The salad wedge finally arrived and was quite good. The main course was awful!!! The Jack Daniels ribeye was 80% fat and gristle--totally inedible. Always a bad sign when you try to cut into it with a steak knife but are unable to slice through it in 3 different locations!.The french fries were cold. I had grilled shrimp with the steak which tasted fine , but no one bothered to remove the shells!!! Acc to the mgr. this is a "corporate decision"--whatever that means---the corporate folks like to eat shrimp shells??? Totally inane.
In any case we shall never return--we have eaten here before and the meals were at least passable. The $10 gift card will not entice us. BTW the cheesecake they gave us as a "we are sorry" gift was also lousy--very synthetic and certainly not something one would crave.
This place suffers from serious lack of management. How long does it take to pull a cork out of a bottle?? Their wine list is very limited--not like they had to hunt it down.
At least the Malbec wine was delicious!
There are lots of great restaurants in Destin. No reason to ever set foot in here again considering the awful food and complete lack of service.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank DRPETE24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KS
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great service, good food”
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We arrived in Destin late on a Friday Dec 27, the hotel clerk suggested TGI Friday's as a nearby restaurant that would be open late. We were not disappointed. We had a friendly outgoing server that provided great service. We had a few cold ones and appetizers that were very tasty. No complaints from us-would recommend eating here.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kdwait
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Destin, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Will not go back”
Reviewed 15 December 2013 via mobile

Awful wait staff...horribly long wait for the food...waited over one hour for food to be delivered..then she didnt bring one of the orders -she offered a house salad in lieu of that particular meal...there was never an offer to refill drinks...had to wait 15 minutes after ordering for just soft drinks! and then one of the drink orders was incorrect not once but 3 times...(for the same person who didnt get her meal)...ladies room had no soap or paper towels)....and 2 of us also ordered coffee while waiting for food..was told they had no clean cups!..the food was good but pricey

Helpful?
1 Thank Trish H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“I remember when Fridays in Destin was the place to go. Not so much these days.”
Reviewed 23 August 2013 via mobile

I have been a longtime customer of Fridays in Destin for 15 years. They have always delivered over the years. My last couple of visits made me so sad. The wonderful original staff had been fired( clean house). For the past two years every time I go its always someone new and they are never there very long. Complete lack of management... During my visit last night I ordered dessert to go and had a Irish coffee while my friends had Irish car bombs. These are standard drinks for this area and the bartender didn't make them properly and we had to practically train him. The manager was oblivious and the female bartender was being very rude to the other bartender. The bar was dirty and they were not very busy. We were there a total of thirty minutes and we watched the water run down the drain full blast the entire time. I wish they could get it back together!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Stargirl4511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed TGI Friday's also viewed

Destin, Florida Panhandle
Destin, Florida Panhandle
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing