We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exceeded expectations” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Louisiana Lagniappe

Louisiana Lagniappe
Ranked #4 of 301 Restaurants in Destin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$25 - US$40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Business meetings, Child-friendly, View, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: In 1984, Louisiana Lagniappe was opened and established inside Sandpiper Cove condominiums in what was at one time the Sandpiper Cove Yacht Club. A loyal following was quickly established due, in no small part, to the quality of the food and the attention to detail of the service. In 1998 The Southern Restaurant Group took ownership of the restaurant with a commitment to maintain the same level of food quality and service. Since then, Louisiana Lagniappe has consistently served only the freshest seafood and steaks. Now open year round, Louisiana Lagniappe is the spot for a memorable dining experience on all levels. In 1999, a second Louisiana Lagniappe was opened in the San Roc Cay Shopping and Marina Complex in Orange Beach, Alabama. Offering the same fine Louisiana seafood with a Creole flair, the attire is casual, yet an upscale waterfront dining experience is provided for the entire family.
Maryland
Level Contributor
52 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Exceeded expectations”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

I wasn't expecting a lot given that this restaurant is buried in a not terribly luxurious resort. But the restaurant was more upscale than I expected. Food was good. The restaurant was a little noisy (lots of people waiting for tables, lots of kids.) I ate at the bar. The 2 bartenders were slammed, but trying to do the best they could.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank GillH_MD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    785
    203
    89
    24
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Superb”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

We showed up on a whim, Friday night about 7pm and we're seated immediately on the patio overlooking a harbor at sunset. Hushpuppies were brought out before our waitress even shown up! We ordered the special (grouper specially prepared), blackened redfish, soft shell crab and oysters lagniappe. Each dish was prepared exquisitely and left us completely satisfied. Service was phenomenal (especially when it started to rain). Slices of key lime pie and chocolate-peanut butter pie finished our meal with perfection. I highly recommend this restaurant to anyone looking for a phenomenal seafood meal when visiting Destin.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Ekojojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shalimar, Florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Make that a 3.25”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

If three green discs is "average," but four green discs is "very good," I'd have to go with 3 1/4 discs as "above average," but I'd have to stop short of "very good."

Overall, the food was well prepared, and the service was just right (thank you Sheri!). But the dishes lacked finesse, the wine list is benign, and, sadly, my cheese grits were soupy. The green salad that came with my grouper amandine was lifeless, the Romano(?)/Parmesan cheese topping was bland, the whole salad just straightforward. It was as if the kitchen says,"People expect a salad, so here's a salad."

The start-up hushpuppies are light, relatively greaseless, very good.

My grouper was quite fresh, lightly floured and sautéed near perfectly. My only complaint:
I see fish amandine in the classic way. Dusted with lightly seasoned flour, sautéed, topped with toasted almonds in brown butter, maybe some capers or parsley. That way, one can taste the fresh grouper. LL's is too heavily seasoned with cajun-type pepper, etc. to let the grouper shine.

My wife's grouper meunière was requested with the sauce on the side. Good enough. However, the sauce was like "some kind of powder mix. Thick and gooey." Meunière is not supposed to be thick and gooey. But, the fish was good. She just decided to squeeze some lemon on it, and enjoyed it that way much better.

Some reviews say that LL is overpriced. I dunno. Fresh Gulf fish is about the same price at Harbor Docks, Dewey Destin's and other area restaurants.

It was Saturday night, the place was packed, lots of happy people there. In our case, the most important ingredient was the company, which made for a very fun evening.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank drbobal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montgomery, Alabama
Level Contributor
79 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great Date Night and Special Occasion Restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

Louisiana Lagniappe was the perfect spot for a Friday night date with my husband. We got there before 7pm and were seated on the patio with no wait, but the restaurant did become very packed shortly after. This is the first place in Florida we have been where people dressed up.

We both got mixed drinks and they were the best cocktails we had had in quite some time. Our shrimp appetizer was cooked perfectly and our seafood entrees were delicious as well.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CarolineMcGuire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Delicious and Excellent Service!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

Wow!!! First of all the service is excellent! There are 2 servers per table, one of which makes sure drinks are always full. Second, that was one of the best meals I have had in a long time!! Everyone at our table could not stop talking about how delicious everything was! We will absolutely be visiting again on our next trip to Destin!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kristina J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Louisiana Lagniappe also viewed

 
Destin, Florida Panhandle
 
Destin, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Louisiana Lagniappe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing