We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Close To Action”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Wingate by Wyndham Destin
Ranked #11 of 38 Hotels in Destin
Reviewed 10 December 2011

Nice clean Motel. A long block to 4 lane (Hwy 98), must drive to all restaurants and beach. Newish with typical Wyndam posh.Room was normal, desk was useful, free Wifi in room, had a problem with door locking, it was fixed rather quickly. Night desk guy (Joe) was so overly pleasant and proffessional I asked if he was a trainee (nope been there a long time) they laughed out loud. Business center was nice to print out boarding passes. Breakfast had a few hot items and as usual saves a trip out and a few bucks. Overall a nice place at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Swaneey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,243)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,155 - 1,161 of 1,243 reviews

Reviewed 26 November 2011

Great place to stay in Destin. Very clean. Most of the staff is very friendly and professional with the exception of the man working night audit. He was very rude on multiple occasions and gave the impression that he did not care at all about the guests. Other than him the place is excellent!!!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bryonrankin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2011

This was one of my husband and I many trips to the Destin area but our first stay at the Wingate. I must say that I thought it wasn't going to be much considering the rate we received with our AAA membership. We were both shocked upon entering the hotel and very impressed upon entering our assigned room (and might I add, we did get the exact room requested at booking). It is located off the main highway but not far enough to where you wouldn't be able to access the beaches or any other activities. The complimentary breakfast was awesome. I don't know who the employees that were responsible for the upkeep of the area but they did an EXCELLENT JOB! Also the front desk clerks from the time we checked in until check out were nothing less than PROFESSIONAL and FRIENDLY. Housekeeping definitely did their job too. The bed was all so COMFORTABLE! The only suggestion I would make is that Wyndham would consider changing the pillows on the beds. They weren't comfy at all. And last but not least, is to place some non-stick spray by the waffle irons in the breakfast area so they want stick as much. I would definitely stay again. I would recommend.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helluva31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2011

I have stayed here the last two times that i have been to destin. Excellent motel. off the beaten path but brand new, great rooms, good breakfast. Very good value for the money. would highly reccomend this motel. the mattress in the motel was incredibly comfortable.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dcmontgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WingateDestin, Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Destin, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2011

I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us for the 2nd time. My staff and I work hard to provide the best service possible for you while traveling with us. We enjoy friendly faces so we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2011

The price was nice for this hotel and the breakfast was included. The room did have a lockable safe, mini fridge, coffee pot, and, I think, a microwave. The bed was not very comfortable and the TV reception was very snowy. The front desk staff was helpful and friendly. The main complaint that I have was that we checked in on Friday. No one cleaned our room on Saturday. We had to ask for clean towels and extra coffee packs that evening. On Sunday someone knocked on the door, immediately entered without us answering the door, and asked if we wanted the room cleaned. We said yes since it wasn't serviced the previous day. He sent someone in to "clean", which consisted of making the bed, wiping down the bathroom, changing the towels and emptying the trash. There was no cart in the hall and the room wasn't vacuumed any time during our stay. We checked out on Monday. There were also crumbs and chip pieces left in the hallway of our floor from a large group that checked out Sunday morning. There was no vacuuming of this mess either on Sunday.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Connie32541
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WingateDestin, Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Destin, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2011

Thank you for your response. I have spoke with my Exectutive Housekeeper about this issue to pervent it happening again. We did have a large group in that weekend and my staff worked hard to keep everything clean. I am very sorry again for the problems you had. I promise you this has been addressed. We work hard here at the Wingate to make each stay even better than before.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2011

The Wingate is well worth the money! It's not On the beach! But it's close.. And the rates were comparable to that! The only flaws were.. The TV was dated.. And the toilets were loud. If that's all I have to complain about... Then I say 3.5 stars.. It's very Clean. The staff helpful and friendly. Looking forward to next visit!

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NorthgaVolFans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WingateDestin, Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Destin, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2011

I'm very glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. My staff and I work very hard to make everyones vacation the best it can be. We look forward to having you back again with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2011

We got in late at night and they didn't have any regular rooms available and so gave us a larger room at no extra cost. Staff was very pleasant and the breakfast was wonderful...very nice breakfast room. Quiet and off the main drag of Destin....loved not staying on the main road. A big water park was within walking distance. Pool area wasn't very big, but we didn't go for the pool...we were there to enjoy the beach. Had to drive to the beach but no problem for us since it was just my husband and me. Got a great price for a 3 night weekend stay by signing up on the internet with Windham. Bed was very comfortable. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank GrandmaNancyGA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WingateDestin, Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Destin, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2011

Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and my staff could accommodate you with the suite. When staying for a longer weekend, an upgraded room is always nice. Thanks for staying with us and we look forward to having you and your family again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Destin hotels
9.2 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Sandestin at Grand Boulevard
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Destin
1.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Destin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
SummerPlace Inn Destin FL Hotel
7.2 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#21 of 38 in Destin
183 reviews
7.0 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Destin - Miramar Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wingate by Wyndham Destin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wingate by Wyndham Destin

Address: 117 Palm Street, Destin, FL 32541-2599
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Destin
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Destin
#12 Family Hotel in Destin
Price Range: £49 - £233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wingate by Wyndham Destin 2.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy all-inclusive amenities and homestyle comfort when you book a room at our Wingate by Wyndham Destin hotel. Located minutes from the scenic shores of the Gulf of Mexico, our Destin hotel near Henderson Beach State Park is perfect for a beach getaway in Florida’s beautiful Emerald Coast region. Each morning, get going with free hot breakfast and use free Wi-Fi Internet access to plan your day. During your downtime, get in a workout in our fitness center and unwind in our whirlpool, or go for a relaxing swim and catch some rays in our outdoor pool. Non-smoking hotel rooms are available, and kids 17 and under stay free with an adult. Spend some time in the Florida sunshine on the beautiful Emerald Coast beaches and relax on the soft sands of Henderson Beach State Park, just a short drive from our Destin hotel. For a relaxing round of golf, play 18 holes on the wide-open fairways and inviting greens at Indian Bayou Golf Club, less than five minutes away. If you love to shop, browse dozens of stores, grab a bite to eat and watch a movie at Destin Commons, less than 10 minutes away. For an outdoor adventure, head out on the water and go deep-sea fishing or speed around Choctawhatchee Bay on a jet-ski. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wingate by Wyndham Destin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wingate By Wyndham Destin Fl Hotel Destin
Wingate Hotel Destin
Wingate Destin
Wingate By Wyndham Destin Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing