We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great getaway trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Wingate by Wyndham Destin
Ranked #10 of 39 Hotels in Destin
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

1,088 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    469
    364
    157
    55
    43
See reviews for
434
401
44
93
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Smith, Arkansas, Usa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

I was very please with my stay for the weekend at the Wingate, mainly because of the staff. The staff was very informed, and to say they were polite would be an understatement, and I also thought the location was perfect for the things we wanted to do, it wasn't far from the beach, or any other activity in Destin.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham

Helpful?
Thank Terry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pewaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
158 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

On our way to Destin for spring break, I decided to drive straight through instead of stopping somewhere in Alabama. The problem was we didn't have our condo until Friday, so we needed a place for Thursday night. Enter Hotwire, my best travel friend.

While driving, my wife pulled up one night hotel options in the Destin, FL area. This hotel came up as a three star property that had a rack rate of $139 and a Hotwire rate of $81. Further research on the web and we were pretty sure it would be the Wingate by Wyndham or the Hilton Sandestin. Both were acceptable at that rate.

Check in at 10:00pm went smooth. The front desk was very helpful in getting us two beds vs the king that the Hotwire reservation gave us. Bonus for also moving us from a smoking room to a non-smoking room.

We put our bags down and went out to find a restaurant to eat, returning around 11:30pm to go to sleep. So, I can't rate their pool (though I see it was small) or any other service. The hotel was quiet (good) and our room was clean as expected. What is bad? The breakfast was a disappointment in the morning. Weak actually. If you cannot provide a full breakfast, why do any at all and just cut your costs? We just checked out and ate down Hwy 98 on the way to Sandestin resort.

To summarize, using this hotel as we did was fine. If you're planning on going to the Destin area and this hotel is your week-long option...............choose otherwise. Yet, for a "shoulder stay" before or after your trip, this is perfectly fine as long as you opt to use a booking service and do not pay rack rate.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shreveport, Louisiana
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

We had a double queen room. It was very nice and spacious. Very clean. The staff was extremely nice and helpful. I spilt my coffee in the floor and when I tried to clean it, an employee stopped me and told me she would be more than happy to do it. The beds were very comfy and we ha a great night sleep. The breakfast was very nice. There was a lot to choose from! We had cereal, muffins, and yogurt but there were also waffles, eggs, sausage, biscuits and gravy and much more! We would definitely stay here again!

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Amyandshaun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tennessee
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

Trusted the reviews and they were spot on! Only stayed one night but everything was as advertised. Would like to stay there again in the high season. The price was good, and there are numerous restaurants along the entire strip. Check with the desk attendant for eateries that suit your taste. Would highly recommend McGuire's Irish Pub, quite the experience and good food!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NsChamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Destin hotels
9.2 mi away
Courtyard Sandestin at Grand Boulevard
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Destin
0.9 mi away
SummerPlace Inn
SummerPlace Inn
#14 of 39 in Destin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Destin - Miramar Beach
9.4 mi away
Residence Inn Sandestin at Grand Boulevard
1.6 mi away
Inn on Destin Harbor
Inn on Destin Harbor
#26 of 39 in Destin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wingate by Wyndham Destin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wingate by Wyndham Destin

Property: Wingate by Wyndham Destin
Address: 117 Palm St, Destin, FL 32541-2599
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Destin
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Destin
#12 Family Hotel in Destin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wingate by Wyndham Destin 2.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wingate by Wyndham Destin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wingate By Wyndham Destin Fl Hotel Destin
Wingate Hotel Destin
Wingate Destin
Wingate By Wyndham Destin Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing