We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel, not the best beds” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wingate by Wyndham Destin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Wingate by Wyndham Destin
Ranked #9 of 39 Hotels in Destin
Certificate of Excellence
Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, not the best beds”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2009

We stayed at the Windham for seven nights to celebrate our five-year anniversary. The hotel is right off the main drag, but is very quiet and feels secluded. There is a Target and a Winn Dixie right down the street so you have everything you need. Everything was very clean, the staff was nice, and the breakfast was good. My only complaint (and it is a pretty big one) is that the bed was very uncomfortable. I could feel the springs pressing into my back, and the pillows were flat. You might want to bring your own pillows if you stay here. Otherwise, it was a nice stay and the price was great.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hamdinger125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,064 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    465
    351
    153
    53
    42
See reviews for
422
393
44
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Central Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2009

We have stayed here twice, and will be back. We even put up a small Christmas tree in our room and opened Christmas presents there before joining our other family in Crestview. It's nice having a hot breakfast, the rooms were very quiet, and the proximity to everything one needs is very convenient.

  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FLgirl56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boca Raton, Florida
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2009

My colleague and I stayed here for three nights and we will be back for our next trip. The staff were beyond accomadating, from the friendly check in, to the extra pillows, the toothpaste we forgot, bottled water, etc. all at no cost. The free breakfast each morning saved us both time and money. They even allowed us to use the conference room all three days at no extra cost to hold our meetings and trainings. One day, we didn't even have to leave the hotel and were able to accomplish all of our tasks. The internet was free, the parking was free and we were right across the street from Mellow Mushroom, one of my favorite restaurants, as well as just a short drive to the beach as well as other bars, restaurants and shopping. Getting all this for under 100 dollars a night, while saving money on not having to pay for internet, parking or breakfast, made this an even better trip. We will be back again and again I'm sure.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jillBCaBA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
baton rouge
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2009

My family and I visited the Wingate Hotel in May of 2009 and we really enjoyed the entire stay. The staff was very friendly and the rooms were very desirable if you wanted somewhere comfortable and relaxing. The hotel also offer complimentary breakfast which could be good for familier who have little kids who just wants a bite to eat. I must say that the wingate was very affordable and I would definitely recommend this place for future travelers. This hotel was great!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsJackson225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Metairie, LA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2009

We planned a weekend stay in Destin and decided to try the Wingate Hotel. My husband remembered how nice it was about 3 years ago while on business. We really enjoyed our stay since the room was very clean and big. The location is perfect to go to the beach and other area attractions like Big Kahuna water park and Test Track. It was only about 10 - 15 minutes from the Silver Sands Outlet Mall and minutes away from various restaraunts. The staff was friendly and Wingate offers a free breakfast. We will definitely stay here again!!!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jen1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, TX
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2009

We stayed for 5 nights and everything was great. I don't usually sleep well at hotels but these beds were comfortable and I had a great nights sleep every night. The rooms were very spacious and everything was very clean. The staff was very helpful. I had questioned them on places to eat or directions to certain things and they were always able to help. It's conveniently located without all the noise of the main road. And of course, the breakfast was awesome. It included just about anything you could want. Awesome! This was our first trip to Destin and we absolutely loved it! I know that we will be going back and I have no doubt that we will stay at the Wingate again. I priced a lot of hotels when making our plans and this one was the most affordable without sacrificing any of the luxuries.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katsino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicagoland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2009

We chose this hotel due to price & Tripadvisor comments. It's not on the beach, but that's ok. It's a very short drive to any of the public beaches or Henderson State Park.
Clean rooms, Good service, friendly people, nice breakfast, hot & cold items. Business center, workout room. The pool is small, but ok. Well worth the price. Also, nice location, close to restaurants, pier, boats, etc. I would stay here again, and hope to soon!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lizzymizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Destin hotels
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Destin
9.2 mi away
Courtyard Sandestin at Grand Boulevard
0.9 mi away
SummerPlace Inn
SummerPlace Inn
#14 of 39 in Destin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Residence Inn Sandestin at Grand Boulevard
7.0 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Destin - Miramar Beach
1.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Destin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wingate by Wyndham Destin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wingate by Wyndham Destin

Property: Wingate by Wyndham Destin
Address: 117 Palm St, Destin, FL 32541-2599
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Destin
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Destin
#12 Family Hotel in Destin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wingate by Wyndham Destin 2.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Wingate by Wyndham Destin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wingate By Wyndham Destin Fl Hotel Destin
Wingate Hotel Destin
Wingate Destin
Wingate By Wyndham Destin Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing