We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what I expected”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Wingate by Wyndham Destin
Ranked #10 of 39 Hotels in Destin
Orlando, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not what I expected”
Reviewed 12 October 2009

Stayed at a Wingate in SC - absolutely LOVED it!

In Desin, it was only okay. Price was very fair, had an excellent breakfast (though, if you get there at about 8 AM, you've missed out on the best - the hot breakfast), staff was extremely polite and professional. Parking was close and we always found an available spot.

The bad: room looked old overall. Bathroom looked clean, but upon closer inspection, it was not. Inside toilet, underneath rim, was FILTHY - black and just plain gross. Had to call twice (two separate days) to get someone to clean it. Shower felt dirty and had mold on caulked edge. Carpeting seemed as though it had not been changed in 20 years - it was disgusting - I wore house shoes while walking on the carpet.

I guess it was okay for the money. If I'd paid more, I would have been very angry for what I got.

Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank DaisyL20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,173 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    490
    387
    177
    66
    53
See reviews for
475
426
49
97
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
monica4851
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2009

We had a great stay at this hotel. The room was large and clean and included a fridge and microwave. The complex had a nice pool and workout room. Also there was a hot continental breakfast that included eggs, sausage, waffles, cereal, juices, etc. The hotel is in the middle of everything. A mile from public beach access, shopping, and dining. We booked through the website and had a rate of $58 a night. A gray value!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank monica4851
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2009

We stayed at the Windham for seven nights to celebrate our five-year anniversary. The hotel is right off the main drag, but is very quiet and feels secluded. There is a Target and a Winn Dixie right down the street so you have everything you need. Everything was very clean, the staff was nice, and the breakfast was good. My only complaint (and it is a pretty big one) is that the bed was very uncomfortable. I could feel the springs pressing into my back, and the pillows were flat. You might want to bring your own pillows if you stay here. Otherwise, it was a nice stay and the price was great.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hamdinger125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central Florida
1 review
Reviewed 9 September 2009

We have stayed here twice, and will be back. We even put up a small Christmas tree in our room and opened Christmas presents there before joining our other family in Crestview. It's nice having a hot breakfast, the rooms were very quiet, and the proximity to everything one needs is very convenient.

  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FLgirl56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boca Raton, Florida
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 September 2009

My colleague and I stayed here for three nights and we will be back for our next trip. The staff were beyond accomadating, from the friendly check in, to the extra pillows, the toothpaste we forgot, bottled water, etc. all at no cost. The free breakfast each morning saved us both time and money. They even allowed us to use the conference room all three days at no extra cost to hold our meetings and trainings. One day, we didn't even have to leave the hotel and were able to accomplish all of our tasks. The internet was free, the parking was free and we were right across the street from Mellow Mushroom, one of my favorite restaurants, as well as just a short drive to the beach as well as other bars, restaurants and shopping. Getting all this for under 100 dollars a night, while saving money on not having to pay for internet, parking or breakfast, made this an even better trip. We will be back again and again I'm sure.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jillBCaBA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
baton rouge
1 review
Reviewed 16 August 2009

My family and I visited the Wingate Hotel in May of 2009 and we really enjoyed the entire stay. The staff was very friendly and the rooms were very desirable if you wanted somewhere comfortable and relaxing. The hotel also offer complimentary breakfast which could be good for familier who have little kids who just wants a bite to eat. I must say that the wingate was very affordable and I would definitely recommend this place for future travelers. This hotel was great!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsJackson225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Metairie, LA
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2009

We planned a weekend stay in Destin and decided to try the Wingate Hotel. My husband remembered how nice it was about 3 years ago while on business. We really enjoyed our stay since the room was very clean and big. The location is perfect to go to the beach and other area attractions like Big Kahuna water park and Test Track. It was only about 10 - 15 minutes from the Silver Sands Outlet Mall and minutes away from various restaraunts. The staff was friendly and Wingate offers a free breakfast. We will definitely stay here again!!!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jen1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Destin hotels
9.2 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Sandestin at Grand Boulevard
0.9 mi away
SummerPlace Inn Destin FL Hotel
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Destin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Destin
7.2 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#21 of 39 in Destin
173 reviews
7.0 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Destin - Miramar Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wingate by Wyndham Destin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wingate by Wyndham Destin

Property: Wingate by Wyndham Destin
Address: 117 Palm Street, Destin, FL 32541-2599
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Destin
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Destin
#12 Family Hotel in Destin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wingate by Wyndham Destin 2.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy all-inclusive amenities and homestyle comfort when you book a room at our Wingate by Wyndham Destin hotel. Located minutes from the scenic shores of the Gulf of Mexico, our Destin hotel near Henderson Beach State Park is perfect for a beach getaway in Florida’s beautiful Emerald Coast region. Each morning, get going with free hot breakfast and use free Wi-Fi Internet access to plan your day. During your downtime, get in a workout in our fitness center and unwind in our whirlpool, or go for a relaxing swim and catch some rays in our outdoor pool. Non-smoking hotel rooms are available, and kids 17 and under stay free with an adult. Spend some time in the Florida sunshine on the beautiful Emerald Coast beaches and relax on the soft sands of Henderson Beach State Park, just a short drive from our Destin hotel. For a relaxing round of golf, play 18 holes on the wide-open fairways and inviting greens at Indian Bayou Golf Club, less than five minutes away. If you love to shop, browse dozens of stores, grab a bite to eat and watch a movie at Destin Commons, less than 10 minutes away. For an outdoor adventure, head out on the water and go deep-sea fishing or speed around Choctawhatchee Bay on a jet-ski. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Wingate by Wyndham Destin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wingate By Wyndham Destin Fl Hotel Destin
Wingate Hotel Destin
Wingate Destin
Wingate By Wyndham Destin Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing