We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful hotel next door to Big Kahunas” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wingate by Wyndham Destin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Wingate by Wyndham Destin
Ranked #8 of 39 Hotels in Destin
Certificate of Excellence
Alabama
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel next door to Big Kahunas”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2010

This is a very nice hotel! My only complaint is that it is NOT accessible to the beach. My husband & I had hoped to just cross the highway & be able to access the beach, but we found ourselves in a community of condos and beach homes with only gated beach access. However, public beach access is a short 5-10 minute drive away.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1inamillion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,062 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    463
    351
    153
    53
    42
See reviews for
422
392
44
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cantonment, Florida
Level Contributor
185 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2010

This is a great Hotel to stay and enjoy the beautiful Destin beaches. I have stayed here more than 300 nights on business and everyone is very friendly from the manager Karen to the front desk staff Andy and Jessica . The rooms are always very, very clean thanks to Taffy and staff. Would highly recommend staying at the Windgate in Destin.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Russell34550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2010

We stayed here because we stayed at other Wingates in other states. The hotel is out away from highway, which was ok. Except it was a little far to go to the beach. The staff were not very friendly; quite indifferent when we checked in. You think they would be happy to see customers considering the oil was threatening the coast any day. The facilities were clean, pool was adequate. The so called "Expanded breakfast" consisted of waffle irons, and all the other continental breakfast items. The mattresses are horrible, absolutely positively terrible. If you want to sleep comfortably, I wouldn't stay here. The springs on our bed were poking out in my side when I laid on my side, and they were so low to the ground and bouncy, I felt like I was a WCW wrestler. I was embarrassed to bring my wife, because I bragged about the beds in Wingate. Nothing but a cheap bed spread on the bed, with 3 cheap flat pillows for our King-size bed. Horrible five nights of trying to sleep. I made a comment on the Wingate corporate site, I doubt I will get any response or rectification.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank clarkie641
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chilhowie
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2010

This was our second stay at this location and we were well pleased just as before. Quiet, which is important to us as well as breakfast included in price. We booked our stay thru hotels.com at $75 per night and we love it here.

Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank RRH52899
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2010

I took advantage of a promotion for booking 3 nights and revived a 30% discount. On the second night my daughter got sick and we had to leave the staff allowed me to keep that excellent rate instead of paying the normal rate thank wingate destination my advice for the room is get memory foam bed Toppers

  • Stayed May 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank babybry311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2010

My husband and I were in Destin looking for a snowbird condo for next winter and stayed 3 nights at the Wingate based on the reviews that I had read. I requested and received a room away from the elevator. On the first night we reported that the light in the entry foyer needed a new bulb. It was never replaced though we reported it two more times. The room seemed as if it had been half remodeled. The floor lamp was broken. The mattress was thin, badly stained, and quite uncomfortable. I ended up using a foam mattress pad that we carry with us and sprayed the bed with bed bug spray as a precaution. The coffee condiments were not refilled the first night, and the dirty coffee cups and glasses were not replaced. Breakfast was quite mediocre. We stayed at a Wingate in Valdosta, GA, in early February that was exceptional for its class and expected the same in Destin. I would not recommend this hotel to travelers.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KarenMaze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shawnee, Kansas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2010

This hidden gem deserves its high rating! We stayed here for three nights during Spring Break. It is conveinently located to everything in Destin.

It was clean, comfortable and a good value at $129 per night. Our only issue was that the first night my two small kids and I were put in a room next to partying Spring Breakers. After a sleepless night, I asked the staff to move us to a quieter room on the third floor. They happily obliged, even offering to keep our luggage for us until the new room was ready. Great service.

Free breakfast was ehh. Fine enough for the kids though.

  • Stayed March 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TrollyTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Destin hotels
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Destin
9.2 mi away
Courtyard Sandestin at Grand Boulevard
0.9 mi away
SummerPlace Inn
SummerPlace Inn
#14 of 39 in Destin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Residence Inn Sandestin at Grand Boulevard
7.0 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Destin - Miramar Beach
1.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Destin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wingate by Wyndham Destin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wingate by Wyndham Destin

Property: Wingate by Wyndham Destin
Address: 117 Palm St, Destin, FL 32541-2599
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Destin
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Destin
#12 Family Hotel in Destin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wingate by Wyndham Destin 2.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Wingate by Wyndham Destin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wingate By Wyndham Destin Fl Hotel Destin
Wingate Hotel Destin
Wingate Destin
Wingate By Wyndham Destin Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing